Thumbtacks and Glue

Metascore
63

Generally favorable reviews - based on 11 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 11
  2. Negative: 0 out of 11
Buy On
  1. Feb 25, 2013
    80
    Highly personal, heavily detailed, and brimming with wounded optimism.
  2. Uncut
    Feb 22, 2013
    70
    It might skirt the edges of twee but the follow-up to 2010's Die Stadt Muzikanten darkens and deepens as it unfolds. [Mar 2013, p.79]
  3. Feb 22, 2013
    80
    Embracing a wide palette of sounds helps, but beyond the occasional crunchy guitar or unexpected synth, it’s the arrangements that make this album work.
  4. 80
    Thumbtacks and Glue is no less nuanced or nourishing, and every song is satisfying. Undulating orchestration, the lift and swell, matches Mark Andrew Hamilton’s eccentric lyrical slant and seraphic singing to produce immaculate and endearing music.
  5. Mar 1, 2013
    80
    Just because it is not music that shouts about itself, that dazzles with pyrotechnics or showboating guitar solos, its profundity and emotional heft is nevertheless, and perhaps even all the more, striking.
  6. Feb 26, 2013
    80
    Hamilton writes very nice folk rock songs, the way a 1,000 song writers do, but he, unlike most of his completion, he also wires them with dynamite and blows them sky high.
User Score
tbd

No user score yet- Awaiting 1 more rating

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 2
  2. Negative: 0 out of 2
  1. Feb 10, 2015
    10
    I didn't get this record at first. But somehow kept heading back to it, and even now keep finding new things I'm loving and learning everyI didn't get this record at first. But somehow kept heading back to it, and even now keep finding new things I'm loving and learning every listen. A stunner of an album. Full Review »
  2. Feb 26, 2013
    6
    I was pretty unpleased! Normally Woodpigeon kills it but all the fancy sounds became too abrasive for me. I understand that artists need toI was pretty unpleased! Normally Woodpigeon kills it but all the fancy sounds became too abrasive for me. I understand that artists need to branch out, tho. I'm sure there will be some higher reviews. I just didn't get into it personally! Full Review »