Thumbtacks and Glue Image
Metascore
63

Generally favorable reviews - based on 11 Critics What's this?

User Score
tbd

No user score yet- Awaiting 2 more ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The sixth full-length release from the Canadian folk-pop band led by Mark Andrew Hamilton was produced by Arran Fisher.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 11
  2. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. Feb 25, 2013
    80
    Highly personal, heavily detailed, and brimming with wounded optimism.
  2. Feb 26, 2013
    80
    Hamilton writes very nice folk rock songs, the way a 1,000 song writers do, but he, unlike most of his completion, he also wires them with dynamite and blows them sky high.
  3. Mar 1, 2013
    80
    Just because it is not music that shouts about itself, that dazzles with pyrotechnics or showboating guitar solos, its profundity and emotional heft is nevertheless, and perhaps even all the more, striking.
  4. Feb 22, 2013
    70
    It might skirt the edges of twee but the follow-up to 2010's Die Stadt Muzikanten darkens and deepens as it unfolds. [Mar 2013, p.79]
  5. Mar 12, 2013
    60
    It's the orchestral pop of Red Rover, Red Rover and the others that sweep the album along. [Apr 2013, p.113]
  6. Mar 7, 2013
    60
    Folky, fragile songs and others built on washes of guitar effects. [Apr 2013, p.98]
  7. Feb 25, 2013
    40
    Dragging 10 quite ordinary Woodpigeon songs over 45 minutes makes Thumbtacks + Glue a sadly laborious and pedestrian listen, bereft of the wonder in the best of Hamilton’s previous work.

See all 11 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 1
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 1
  3. Negative: 0 out of 1
  1. Feb 26, 2013
    6
    I was pretty unpleased! Normally Woodpigeon kills it but all the fancy sounds became too abrasive for me. I understand that artists need to branch out, tho. I'm sure there will be some higher reviews. I just didn't get into it personally! Collapse