User Score
8.6

Universal acclaim- based on 72 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 63 out of 72
  2. Negative: 3 out of 72

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 31, 2011
    9
    great debut album from this group. every song was good. it was original and creative. their sound is new and refreshing. looking forward to downloading their new release.
  2. Dantheman
    Oct 2, 2005
    6
    It's OK. Approach with caution.
  3. guido
    Oct 7, 2005
    9
    amazingly cool, coherently a mess, lots of fun.
  4. SterlM
    Oct 9, 2005
    10
    This is a much needed, very cute, and happy collection of songs; which just fits in perfectly, in balancing out every other Radiohead depression I have in my collection. It really is nice to have a breather every once in awhile. 10/10
  5. samp
    Jan 9, 2005
    9
    Has totally inspired me to listen to wider ranges of music its so good. Uplifts me right away.
  6. JoeD
    Mar 12, 2006
    3
    Its sounds like a bunch of 70's tv tunes all mixed into one. I've saw them live as well, that was even more disappointing
  7. joris
    Aug 25, 2006
    10
    Sorry but this is way better than the Avalanches... Just lisen to Ladyflash or Pantherdash! Recalls the sixties in glorous stereo, a magnificent colelction of songs and one of the better debutes to come out this decennium. Word.
  8. NickB
    Aug 4, 2006
    10
    This albums full of catchy, less standard tunes where the vocals aren't as apparent as they usually are, and there is a heavy focus on the instrumentation. Also, Joe D is full of crap because I saw them live too and they were amazing and full of energy. It was also cool that they would switch instruments between songs.
  9. PeterB.
    Dec 10, 2005
    6
    Reasonably inventive with a refreshingly retro edge. Choatic and busy. Some great tunes but as an album this is ultimately a bit samey, and one gets a nagging sense of "style-over-substance". Still one of the more interesting bands around at the moment, and worth a listen.
  10. DrewF
    Oct 20, 2005
    10
    A must have album, the best of 2005
  11. slawekk
    Oct 30, 2005
    9
    the beautiful theory of chaos. like the music from the old police series...
  12. Matt
    Oct 3, 2005
    10
    without a doubt the best album of the year.
  13. Tim
    Feb 2, 2005
    10
    If great sex was music, this is what it would sound like.
  14. DamianR
    Aug 20, 2005
    10
    Totally raw soul and power.
  15. peeta
    Sep 30, 2005
    7
    ok at first but doesn't quite last over repeated listens.most of the songs lack a depth that they try to aspire to.
  16. FletcherB
    Jan 5, 2006
    10
    Their joy goes to eleven.
  17. romanm
    Jan 8, 2006
    7
    Pretty solid. Panther Dash is Sonic Youthish. Ladyflash is probably the best tune. Feelgood by Numbers is like Charlie Brown Christmas with a shitload of snare. We Just Can't Be Defeated is the cheerleader-overkill song. Junior Kickstart is really 70's cop showish. Friendship Update is a great song. This is a download-half-ditch-the-rest kind of album.
  18. Rickw
    Feb 3, 2006
    4
    I thought i was in for a treat when i bought this. All the rave reviews from the critics and people on this website. Very disappointing. One of those albumson first listen that you keep waiting for a good track to kick in....... This album needs some BASS. I thought there was something up with my stereo, but no, just lacks some bass. to be compared with The Avalanches was a cruel way of I thought i was in for a treat when i bought this. All the rave reviews from the critics and people on this website. Very disappointing. One of those albumson first listen that you keep waiting for a good track to kick in....... This album needs some BASS. I thought there was something up with my stereo, but no, just lacks some bass. to be compared with The Avalanches was a cruel way of getting me to part with my money. Not in the same league. They get 4 for being 'happy' unlike me. Expand
  19. kent
    Feb 6, 2006
    8
    the sonic equivalent of a box of crayons in a blender, without the blender noise. And the blender's going over a waterfall. And the crayons were stolen.
  20. mr.hankey
    Jun 3, 2006
    8
    A standout album of 2005 because of it's inventive ideas and catchy riffs. The album is not music but is an overall show in your bedroom. You listen and enjoy but still it has some pros and cons. The pros standout the most but the cons always come in there. For example sometimes the album will sound as if no one is trying at all as if it is a mess that doesn't work and is not A standout album of 2005 because of it's inventive ideas and catchy riffs. The album is not music but is an overall show in your bedroom. You listen and enjoy but still it has some pros and cons. The pros standout the most but the cons always come in there. For example sometimes the album will sound as if no one is trying at all as if it is a mess that doesn't work and is not beautiful but ugly. A pro would be the unusual cheerleading anthems that are placed in this hell of a good album. I hope their sophomore effort is as interesting as their first. Expand
  21. EirikJ
    Nov 12, 2004
    9
    Nice! almost as nice as the debut of The Avalanches or The Brothers Gonna work it out by Chemical Brothers.
  22. MervynR
    Nov 2, 2004
    10
    Makes me so happy i want to cry.
  23. matta
    Oct 10, 2005
    9
    Hands down the catchiest album of the year. Makes you wanna get up and shake that ass! "We Just Won't Be Defeated" is my theme song. ONe of the year's ten best.
  24. madsl
    Nov 29, 2005
    8
    This sounds like a strange, compelling mix of my bloody valentine and junior senior...I actually prefer the instrumental tracks like the fifth track which is awesome! Anyone into contemporary indie stuff will be delighted with this album!
  25. SteveM
    Nov 3, 2005
    10
    Innovative, remarkable. You can't sit without your feet tapping, leg bobbing, or head nodding to the music. One of the best expressions of noise I've heard in some time, and it makes you happy.
  26. RBland
    Dec 8, 2005
    6
    like cheerleaders with a back-up band, playing to a high school gymnasium filled with sugar-shivered teens. Which is fine, if you like that kind of thing. More overhyped than the Shins.
  27. [Anonymous]
    Oct 6, 2005
    10
    Catchy and fun is such a rare thing these days!
  28. SwagSurplus
    Mar 10, 2005
    9
    It's a summer friday night, I've just drunk 2 litres of Red Bull and I'm bounding down the streets in low gravity boots yelling meaningless silly things at random people, kissing strangers, leaping over cars and trees and occasionally bouncing into others doing the same thing. THIS IS OUR SOUNDTRACK!!!!
  29. robev
    Apr 16, 2005
    9
    spectacular spectacular. one of the best groups in 2004
  30. AdrianC
    Jul 15, 2005
    10
    Retro-Adrenaline-Cheerleader-SuperHappyFun-DancingTime-Punk-Powerpop! Listening to this is like mainlining an IV of pure happiness into your veins and setting all your muscles to boogie mode. What could be better?
Metascore
86

Universal acclaim - based on 25 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 25
  2. Negative: 0 out of 25
  1. Though they certainly do their fair share of sampling, they tend to use fragments as a means of fleshing out the battling, overdriven guitars, triumphant trumpet lines, and drum assaults that seem to break through walls with the barreling force of a thousand Kool-Aid men.
  2. Although by the record's second half the brassy, treble-kicked sound wears a little thin, there are enough gems to keep the release fresh through the end of its 35 minutes.
  3. "Thunder, Lightning, Strike" is an immensely derivative album, but one which cuts and pastes its influences in a strikingly original way. Chiefly, by piling them all on at once.