Thursday - The Weeknd
Thursday Image
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 17 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.4

Universal acclaim- based on 57 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The second of a trilogy of mixtapes from Canadian artist The Weeknd was produced by Doc McKinney and Illangelo.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 17
  2. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. Aug 29, 2011
    90
    Listening to something like Thursday is the ultimate form of escapism that so many of us flock to music for. That's a quality that should be celebrated, not criticized for its lack of immediate pleasure.
  2. While less varied in the style department than its predecessor, Thursday is another intimate look at the Tesfaye and the life he lives as The Weeknd.
  3. Sep 21, 2011
    81
    Nothing on Thursday sounds like filler.
  4. 80
    Despite the ridiculously high highs of this album, it fails to maintain a great pace throughout. It struggles back and forth between "good" and "great," whereas its foregoer grabbed "great" by the balls on the first track and never let go.
  5. Aug 31, 2011
    80
    The Weeknd is in full command of his craft, and at this point it's almost impossible for me to imagine that he won't deliver on the finale. He's earned my trust, as would any other artist who had already released two of the year's best albums.
  6. Aug 29, 2011
    79
    Though there's less breathing space on Thursday, and fewer melodic hooks, it still feels of a piece with House of Balloons.
  7. Aug 30, 2011
    60
    While it's refreshing to hear an R&B singer emphasizing the psychic toll of libertinism, his angst sex grows tiresome. Once in a while, can't this dude just get laid, and have fun doing it?

See all 17 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 11
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 11
  3. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. Nov 9, 2011
    10
    AMAZING album, fantastic sounds very catchy and The Weeknd vocals add to the already amazing album, Also his producers are some of the best out there crystal clear sound quality. This is basically a gift hence the fact that you can download it legally for free in his official website www.the-weeknd.com Expand
  2. Nov 13, 2012
    10
    Though this currently has the lowest score out of his three albums, it is my personal favorite. The production is top notch, Abel shows more vocal range than ever before, and the songs are also more of a storytelling format. There is not a single bad song this outing, and whereas House of Balloons slowed too much at times, Thursday keeps a consistent tempo and ties its songs into a single theme/story. This is one of those rare albums where I can either pick out singles or listen to the album as a whole and be equally happy. It is amazing that any of the three albums are free, as they are the only R&B albums I enjoy. Highly recommended. Perfect 10 Expand
  3. Mar 19, 2013
    10
    The best of his three mixtapes. Consistent, flows brilliantly, tons of replay value for every song. House of Balloons, while brilliant throughout, was somehow inconsistent in mood and atmosphere, but as a whole Thursday dominates. Expand
  4. Jul 8, 2012
    9
    The Weeknd's sophomore album is memorable, but lacking in the uber-quality samples that made House of Balloons so great. Out of the 9 songs, I love 7 of them. Lonely Star is a perfect opener for the album; it will make you so hopeful that another perfect mix-tape is to come. Thursday also represents a step up in quality. The Weeknd, from what I hear, got some quality producers to help him out as well as created a completely new sound. I have to say House of Balloons doesn't sound like something that mainstream. Granted, that's why I love it so damn much, but it was too project-like almost. Bold albums like that are a rare find in today's industry. That's not to say that Thursday fits that bill, either. Thursday is still a daring addition but it's a bit more collected than HOB. Expand
  5. Jun 21, 2013
    9
    The Weeknd established himself as someone who has the capability to produce and spread real music out there, and yet he is still underrated, or overrated by someone who is not on the right mind. The very intriguing use of folk, acoustic and face-paced PBR&B clearly proves his creativity in bonding soul and electronic sounds. Highlight mixtape tracks are the romantically tranquil ''Rolling Stone'', the abstract and ninja-like tune ''Lonely Star'' and the Electronic folk combo ''The Birds Part 1''.
    Well done Abel!
    Collapse
  6. Oct 5, 2012
    9
    "Thursday" is my favorite album of 2011. Everyone seems to like House of Balloons more, but i think Thursday is better. Styles of music include R&B with a rock vibe, and the mix works perfectly. My favorite songs are "Life Of The Party", "Lonely Star", "Heaven Or Las Vegas" and "Rolling Stone" Expand
  7. Dec 3, 2011
    6
    Thursday is the second (and probably not the last one) mixtape by The Weeknd released in 2011. House of Balloons may have High for This but it is Thursday that shows Abel as unstoppable. The problem with House was its meditation mood and slow pace. Here, everything goes smoothly. Lonely Star is a fine song that sets the tone for the whole album while The Zone features Drake, The Weekndâ Expand

See all 11 User Reviews