User Score
7.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 46 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 46
  2. Negative: 10 out of 46

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. AlexR.
    Jul 5, 2007
    10
    fuck anyone who dont feel this cd...u lame mother fuckers!!!
  2. JohnDoe
    Jul 5, 2007
    10
    This album rules!!!
  3. CesarB.
    Jul 6, 2007
    10
    Bad Ass Album!!!
  4. lewisy.
    Jul 10, 2007
    10
    ive heard what critics have been saying about how T.I had to bring heavywieghts such as jay-Z and eminem in to give the album a face lift but isnt T.I himself a heavywieght looking at his awards proves these critics rong his contrast between cool and calm is a magnificant idea and was pulled off to perfect
  5. davidw.
    Jul 5, 2007
    10
    No one is out here doing it like T.I.P., other rappers are just messing it up...TIP is tha ANTI-MIMS...or any other lame rapper with one good beat and one good song...so all i gotta say is R.E.S.P.E.C.T.M.Y.H.U.S.T.L.E. check out songs 7 and 16!!! keep it pimpin!!! Submitted by Arlisshsr in DALLAS TX
  6. Ms.M.
    Jul 6, 2007
    10
    He exploded in 06, left terroristic threats of a take over with his latest featured top single, and is exploding once again in 07. You can expect several chart-toppers off this album. He has proven once again that he is the King and that the South is still his throne. Now many blogs and music review sites have disappointed me by criticizing his brilliance and creativity with his alter-ego He exploded in 06, left terroristic threats of a take over with his latest featured top single, and is exploding once again in 07. You can expect several chart-toppers off this album. He has proven once again that he is the King and that the South is still his throne. Now many blogs and music review sites have disappointed me by criticizing his brilliance and creativity with his alter-ego debut, but please ignore that hatred and have no fear...this album is a mix of all his previous albums but real fans...I am talking the "I'm Serious" fans will definitely be impressed to hear TIP again. Hot tracks like "Raw", "Da Dopeman", "Hurt" and "Watch What U Say" alone credits this album as multi-platinum status, and of course the photo-finish would be tracks like "Help is Coming", "My Swag", "Tell'em I Said That", and "Respect This Hustle". I haven't declared a favorite track as of yet because he let these fake niggas know what time it is with "Raw" but the way he out-shined Eminem in "Touch Down" and got my pu$$y wet with "My Swag" and "Don't You Wanna Be High" was of course the King's lyrical combat ability and his unmatched swagger. His lyrical content was kinda repetitive but overall the album deserves 5 mics....classical to say the least. After King, I thought TIP was lost forever but I am happily mistaken. I'm Serious should've been re-released and re-mixed but I can settle for TIP's portion of the album for now. I feel sorry for 50 pennies, and I'm glad to hear that The Carter III was pushed back and Nelly's upcoming album don't stand a chance....the KING's back!!! Expand
  7. Newnew
    Aug 1, 2007
    10
    Well i can't say to much he came back and did his thing again every new cd he come out wit is hot as hell so it ain't no different he is #1 on best mc and rapper charts and stuff u no he beastin "aye aye aye u no what it is"so don't hate on em da whole cd is da shit and all his other cd's are to. Grand hustle "imma show u how ta do dis son"aye keep it pimpin homie
  8. KyleZ.
    Sep 3, 2007
    10
    Instant classic. Does not really have a 'true' concept album feel. (minus the three acts which are just about the only thing that makes this album a concept album) If you can get over that and just listen to the songs as just that -- songs, then you will love this album.
  9. EdwardH
    Aug 13, 2007
    10
    Yo T.I. had it poppin' straight wit "The King" and T.I. VS T.I.P. is no exception, great ass beats and some awesome ass lyrical content 2 match it. T.I. rivals the all time Great rappers of tha South like Bun and Pastor Troy wit diz dope ass number. And this album proves it without a doubt. nigga you are da shit man. keep poppin' tha dopeness. "Big Shit Poppin'" 4 Lyfe!
  10. T.Idashit
    Aug 28, 2007
    10
    Dis album wuz da best of diz year his lyrical ability is kwazy hee at da top and i dont see him fallin off until he retirez all u haterz juzt quit and recognize real rappin da KING is on his thrown wit da crown so hataz bow down
  11. StephG.
    Sep 9, 2007
    10
    Best album ever love it.
  12. KiaR.
    Mar 22, 2008
    10
    first of all let me say that t.i. is the total package. what makes a great rap artist is not only lyrics... but swag, and the ability to draw people in. if you dont like the album then you dont know great music. with all of the dance music and 2 minute songs out there, this is a def 10. "you aint gotta like him, he got millions of folk who luv him ". this album came out almost a year first of all let me say that t.i. is the total package. what makes a great rap artist is not only lyrics... but swag, and the ability to draw people in. if you dont like the album then you dont know great music. with all of the dance music and 2 minute songs out there, this is a def 10. "you aint gotta like him, he got millions of folk who luv him ". this album came out almost a year ago... and im still playin it like its hot off the press. start to finish. every single day!!! he's the king of the south... face it!!! Expand
  13. JoshW
    Jun 20, 2008
    10
    This album was great, definitly one of his best, and to Tyler, dude wtf u doin lookin up rap cd's to comment on if u hate rap, no one cares if u dont like this album or rap, your just a nobody, im sure T.I. got more talent in one finger than u do, get a life and learn to apperciate all music
  14. JamesM.
    Jul 5, 2007
    9
    Not as good as KING but still one great album
  15. JerrielJ.
    Jul 9, 2007
    9
    This record is a must buy, so far its the hottest of the summer. Only one or two tracks cause this album not to be a classic. On the Eminen joint #14 Em didnt sound like he was really into what he was doing..not sure if he love rap anymore and the Nelly track # 12 is just OK it could have been better but the song is really commercial. The Hov joint # 6 sounds like a tribute to 2 Pac butit This record is a must buy, so far its the hottest of the summer. Only one or two tracks cause this album not to be a classic. On the Eminen joint #14 Em didnt sound like he was really into what he was doing..not sure if he love rap anymore and the Nelly track # 12 is just OK it could have been better but the song is really commercial. The Hov joint # 6 sounds like a tribute to 2 Pac butit is still fiya you will bob your head fa sho. Both Wyclef tracks # 4 & 10 are banging, and the Busta Rhymes joint with Alfa Mega #7 is a gansta track that will have you in hood mode. All in all there are enough just enough camios to to strech the album out and let TI be who he has been from the start, his dual personalities make it listenable to the thugs, and the suburbians who only wana here radio singles. He'll get a good 3 or 4 singles 1 or 2 hood anthems and the rest is right inbetween, and thats the word off the street. Its safe to buy this album you'll bump it till his next one comes out. Signing out its ya boi Jay, Texas representa. Weeepa!!! Expand
  16. AaronM
    Jul 19, 2007
    9
    Upon first listening and having never bought a T.I. CD before, I didn't get into it. But second time through and ever since, I've been hooked. It's actually pure genius, creative, and shows dimensions and layers of T.I. which is crucial for the genre. One words: impressive.
  17. Jul 9, 2013
    9
    T.I. Vs T.I.P. is a very solid album. It's not T.I.'s best album by far, but it is solidified as a good album by his standards and that is saying a lot in itself. The sound and production in this one isn't his best nor the most exciting, but it still supersedes what the sound of hip hop has been in recent years. T.I. has brought a new type of flow and sound to each of his albums, and thisT.I. Vs T.I.P. is a very solid album. It's not T.I.'s best album by far, but it is solidified as a good album by his standards and that is saying a lot in itself. The sound and production in this one isn't his best nor the most exciting, but it still supersedes what the sound of hip hop has been in recent years. T.I. has brought a new type of flow and sound to each of his albums, and this one held up. The lyrics in this album are again, not his best by far, but that's just because of how great King was especially along with his previous efforts. The lyrics again, are acceptable by his standards and absolutely above the rest of the game. The features are actually a significant plus for this project. This album is not a classic like some of his previous efforts, but it should still be recognized as a very good album by one of the greats and one that doesn't conform to what some unknowing mainstream fans like. Expand
  18. PranMan
    Jul 3, 2007
    8
    Lets face it, its hard to come back with a classic album with how good King was. This albums does fall short of expectations, but only because those expectations were set extraordinary high. But overall this album is good with bangers in each section of this split personality.
  19. johnnyc.
    Aug 16, 2007
    8
    this cd was on point. not better then king,but still good. and tyler u say anyone can make money off of rapping. i wanna see you try it. u go out and make millions doing what he does. true,majority of these new rappers are lame,but ti is on point.
  20. RIGHTONTOP
    Jul 31, 2007
    7
    This is the first T.I. album that I can listen to from start to finish. He has grown as a rapper, and yes, put himself on a different plateau comparing to all the other southern garbage(eg:walk it out crap!) that is polluting hip hop. For what is out there now, this is what the game needs. Grand Hustle boy! Keep it pimpin'!
  21. Mar 22, 2015
    7
    7.1/10................................................................................................................................................
  22. TyG
    Jul 5, 2007
    6
    Not as many slamming tracks on this one when compared to KING.
  23. T
    Sep 5, 2008
    6
    T.I. da shit said it all. Anyone who put a 10, just look at who you are associated with by listening to this. I will stay, far, far-far-far away from anything related to these sorts of neanderthals... "his lyrical ability is kwazy hee at da top" "Big Shit Poppin' 4 Lyfe!" "all u haterz juzt quit and recognize real rappin da KING is on his thrown" and last but not least..."keep it T.I. da shit said it all. Anyone who put a 10, just look at who you are associated with by listening to this. I will stay, far, far-far-far away from anything related to these sorts of neanderthals... "his lyrical ability is kwazy hee at da top" "Big Shit Poppin' 4 Lyfe!" "all u haterz juzt quit and recognize real rappin da KING is on his thrown" and last but not least..."keep it pimpin homie" That last one is the "wigger-est" line I've ever heard. Expand
  24. ChuckFraF.
    Jul 9, 2007
    4
    This shit is heat. It's the junks. The jumpoff, mayne. CRUNK JUICE!!! GANGSTA GRILLZ... What you know bout that You know what it is You don't know me Don't holla back "I'm something like a stalka / I'll be where the trap be" Uhhhhh, holla at ma
  25. DavidR.
    Jul 3, 2007
    2
    This album is not dissapointing..i say this because i did not expect much of it, This album represents a sector in the Hip Hop Community that does not stand out, it is the same sort of album like any other, its nothing new, talking about, cars, money, etc. Even the anticipated track with eminem is poor, its production is the highlight of this album, yet it is repetitive. Well as a This album is not dissapointing..i say this because i did not expect much of it, This album represents a sector in the Hip Hop Community that does not stand out, it is the same sort of album like any other, its nothing new, talking about, cars, money, etc. Even the anticipated track with eminem is poor, its production is the highlight of this album, yet it is repetitive. Well as a synopsis, id say this album is repetitive, boring and dull. However to end on a positive note, the track 'Hurt' is the best on the album. Just hope that T.I. can seek any talent in him and at least put effort into a stable album next time. Expand
  26. SimonG
    Jul 23, 2007
    1
    Has this what Rap music has becomes, just a guy shouting out random words over lame beats.
  27. mydogputthepooinpoochlemiwinks
    Sep 24, 2007
    0
    Wall street journal ran a story stating @80% of hip hop-type music was sold to caucasions. but u don havta be white to know ti's joint smells like da shizz & lissens worser.
  28. TylerG.
    Aug 6, 2007
    0
    None of this should ever be considered music, and if this is music, then I must not know anything about it. Rap is nothing but an average joe saying things that someone wrote to a beat on the background, a job that anyone could take and succeed with the right beats and rhymes
Metascore
61

Generally favorable reviews - based on 20 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 20
  2. Negative: 0 out of 20
  1. It ain't Shakespeare, but the dual protagonists make for an intriguing bout.
  2. The project just doesn't offer as many gems as "King," which pushed T.I. to new commercial heights.
  3. Skills most often attributed to premiere MC’s like deft wordplay, vivid storytelling, emotional resonance, salient talking points? These are few and far between on T.I. vs. T.I.P., even if the man remains an impressive technician who sounds at home on any beat you can give him.