Time Capsules II

Time Capsules II Image

Generally favorable reviews - based on 16 Critics What's this?

User Score

Generally favorable reviews- based on 5 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The full-length debut for Brad Oberhofer was produced by Steve Lillywhite.
Buy On
  • Record Label: Glass Note
  • Genre(s): Pop/Rock, Alternative/Indie Rock, Alternative Pop/Rock, Indie Rock, Noise Pop, Neo-Psychedelia
  • More Details and Credits »
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 16
  2. Negative: 0 out of 16
  1. Uncut
    May 2, 2012
    Teaming up Oberhofer with veteran producer Steve Lillywhite seems to have drawn out an impressive sophistication. [Jun 2012, p.80]
  2. 80
    It gleams like a skate-park erected in the clouds, and this is your invitation to strap on shin-pads, get up there and carve up some cumulonimbus.
  3. There's no deeper level to be revealed in Oberhofer's brief pop-rock tracks and for that reason Time Capsules II remains a consistently easy and pleasant listen.
  4. 70
    A confident and promising debut that will leave you wondering where Brad Oberhofer and his cohorts go from here.
  5. Mojo
    Jun 25, 2012
    While there are moments that grate, this is an assured first outing that suggests that Brad and his band are worth keeping a keen eye on. [Jul 2012, p.83]
  6. He comes on like a Conor Oberst meets Brian Wilson in a ramshackle approach that sounds to these ears like a refreshing burst of honest emotion in an often pallid musical landscape.
  7. Apr 13, 2012
    At his best, Oberhofer packs emotional punches in the maniacal vocals of 'I Could Go', underscored by proggy synths, billowing flutes and a chorus that stomps around like a giant drunk toddler. Somehow, Oberhofer's melodrama makes getting dumped sound fun. If only he could keep it up over a whole album...

See all 16 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 2
  2. Negative: 0 out of 2
  1. Sep 9, 2012
    To be fair, this review is not aimed at Oberhofer. The songs are emotional and well-written. However, some of the songs that were given theTo be fair, this review is not aimed at Oberhofer. The songs are emotional and well-written. However, some of the songs that were given the production "shine" enjoyed by signed artists were ultimately butchered by the process. This is especially true for the first half of the album in the finished products of "o0O0o0O0o", "Away Frm U" and "I Could Go" - where the beautiful simplicity of these songs was left behind in a sea of garish, unnecessary gimmicks. In all of these songs there is a shadow of the former song visible that makes the listener want to like it... before a tacky trick (like the piano in "o0O0o0O0o") breaks the reverie. Perhaps the worst offender of this is the complete change in tone provided by the Xylophone solo in "I Could Go", which is quirky and fun in the middle of a quite moody song. Despite the music crimes committed in the first half of the album, the second half of the album keeps it from being a total wash for the band's debut. Beginning with "Cruisin' FDR" the songs become much more uniform in feel, with each song maintaining consistency throughout. The highlights of this half include the dream-like "Haus" and the twinkling idol-worship of "Gold". The lesson to be learned in this album is that if a song is an underground hit, it is usually because it is a good song. But instead of cleaning these songs up, the producers of this album made them almost unrecognizable. My advice to listeners: forgive the band for the first half, and look to the second half as a sign of hope for the good things to come (and maybe they will release the original versions of the first half of the album). My advice to Oberhofer: get a different producer. Expand

See all 2 User Reviews