Time On Earth

  • Record Label: ATO
  • Release Date: Jul 10, 2007
User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 41 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 40 out of 41
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 41
  3. Negative: 1 out of 41

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. ToddW
    Jul 30, 2007
    8
    Owing to my lack of faith in the musical acumen of most sheep, one can usually tell if an album sucks by the number of responses in Metacritic to its posting. It's often an inverse proportion. If something is truly worth a listen, chances are it's too complex for the nanosecond attention spans of today's mass media music mavens and it elicits few responses. Crowded Owing to my lack of faith in the musical acumen of most sheep, one can usually tell if an album sucks by the number of responses in Metacritic to its posting. It's often an inverse proportion. If something is truly worth a listen, chances are it's too complex for the nanosecond attention spans of today's mass media music mavens and it elicits few responses. Crowded House's latest is a perfect example of this theorem. Australian Neil Finn has decided to grace us again with the sublime music of his ubertalented band some 14 years after their last offering. We should all be thanking our deity of choice, but mine is only the 16th Metacritic response to its release. Perhaps if Finn changed his name to Paris Hilton, Britney Spears, or Lindsey Lohan his work would get more hits. I'm just thankful for living in this time on Earth with a band like Crowded House. Expand
  2. nikko
    Jul 30, 2007
    8
    excuse me - change that immediately. It is a NZ band - NZ lead singer, guitarist and songwriter. Or does bass and drums make a band!? give me a break, lol!! I thouhgt the aussies claimed NZ stuff, I did NOT thinkt he americans could be so dim as to do it on their behalf.... Oh, that's right. Pretty good album, personally a bit dreamy and whoever said "if you are expecting another excuse me - change that immediately. It is a NZ band - NZ lead singer, guitarist and songwriter. Or does bass and drums make a band!? give me a break, lol!! I thouhgt the aussies claimed NZ stuff, I did NOT thinkt he americans could be so dim as to do it on their behalf.... Oh, that's right. Pretty good album, personally a bit dreamy and whoever said "if you are expecting another don't dream it's over" - bugger that song. He has 20 songs better than that - when Americans finally get some taste, they will hopefully pick up on this. Expand
  3. KeithY.
    Sep 1, 2007
    9
    I've been a fan of Neil Finn's since I first heard "One Step Ahead" on MTV in the early 80s - and I was eagerly anticipating this album from the moment it was announced. I am not disappointed, it's my third favourite Crowdie album (Woodface and Together Alone still top it, IMHO). Don't Stop Now, She Called Up, Silent House, People Are Like Suns - all will be Crowded I've been a fan of Neil Finn's since I first heard "One Step Ahead" on MTV in the early 80s - and I was eagerly anticipating this album from the moment it was announced. I am not disappointed, it's my third favourite Crowdie album (Woodface and Together Alone still top it, IMHO). Don't Stop Now, She Called Up, Silent House, People Are Like Suns - all will be Crowded House favourites for years to come. There are some songs that aren't your typical Crowded House fare, but that's probably due to the origin of this album as a Neil Finn solo project. The band will be doing a full Crowded House album in the near future, and I, for one, applaud their return and highly recommend this album to anyone, whether they be fan or neophyte. Expand
  4. Mikeb
    Jul 11, 2007
    8
    australian band? WTF? these guys are kiwis! australia produces bands like jet.
  5. MarioC.
    Aug 20, 2007
    10
    This is a most beautifully album i have ever heard. It is lifefull, it is divine and much more than this. And certainly, this is is masterpiece which grows inside you on time.
  6. toniP.
    Aug 6, 2007
    10
    This band always do greats songs and their come back is a great news for the music.
  7. TonyG
    Aug 8, 2007
    10
    This is the finest piece of music I have heard in years It takes time to grow on you and the more you listen the better it gets, then you start to sing along (in the car!) it is just the finest piece of melodic, emotional, and haunting music out there right now. dedicated to Paul Hester as well, legend! Finn is a genius
  8. matta.
    Aug 8, 2007
    6
    Nikko, Hot Press is actually a British publication so you sound like a fucking retard with rants about America. Make sure you figure shit out before you out yourself as an American-hating little cunt next time. Oh, the album. It is decent.
  9. PhilH.
    Sep 7, 2007
    10
    Thank you Neil and the rest of Crowded House for filling my head once again with such great melodies. I was a bit worried that as a comeback album it might not be as good as their earlier work, but there was no cause for concern. This album just gets better and better with each listen and I would now have a hard time going to a CH gig and NOT hearing them play some of these tracks. Not Thank you Neil and the rest of Crowded House for filling my head once again with such great melodies. I was a bit worried that as a comeback album it might not be as good as their earlier work, but there was no cause for concern. This album just gets better and better with each listen and I would now have a hard time going to a CH gig and NOT hearing them play some of these tracks. Not many re-formed bands you could say that about...They seem to be getting better and if they continue like this the next album should be a stunner. Expand
  10. PaulJ.
    Jul 10, 2007
    9
    Welcome back, boys! Your table is ready. After a long, long time Crowded House is back and they have rewarded their fans with a solid effort. Great songs, catchy melodies, an extremely pleasant return and they're touring, too. Life is good!
  11. DavidA
    Jul 13, 2007
    10
    A great album that reveals more of it's charms with every listen. 'Pour Le Monde' is a classic ballad and 'Don't stop Now' a peppy treat. Thank God they are back, we needed them.
  12. ShelbyN
    Jul 13, 2007
    10
    This album really grows on you. Finn at his melancholy best.
  13. BryceJ
    Jul 17, 2007
    8
    The critics are really getting it right with this one, in my opinion. It's a great return to form, and I'm actually glad it showcases the darker side of Neil Finn's songwriting. "Something So Strong," "Weather With You," "Locked Out" etc. were so musically bouncy and enjoyable that it was easy to overlook what a poignant, melancholy way with words NF has. There's no The critics are really getting it right with this one, in my opinion. It's a great return to form, and I'm actually glad it showcases the darker side of Neil Finn's songwriting. "Something So Strong," "Weather With You," "Locked Out" etc. were so musically bouncy and enjoyable that it was easy to overlook what a poignant, melancholy way with words NF has. There's no mistaking it here, but it doesn't tire you either. Excellent album! Expand
  14. PeterB
    Jul 19, 2007
    9
    Well hang on, Neil is a Kiwi, but Nick is Australian, as was Paul. So, I think both countries can claim something of them.
  15. Shari
    Aug 16, 2007
    10
    Just saw them in concert in Ann Arbor. Awesome! Love the new CD too!
  16. Aussie1
    Aug 23, 2007
    8
    Great album. great band . Why is it that kiwis always get upset when this band is called australian...paul was and nick is an australian? Neil and others kiwis. the band formed in melbourne and wrote many of its songs about melbourne and new zealand. Up until more recent times they were considered an australian band for many reasons but they are in essence a mix. Get over it kiwis.
  17. DavidH.
    Sep 11, 2007
    8
    Initially I didn't care for this CD, as biased as I was because I really think that Neil Finn is a great singer-songwriter. But, as a few other people pointed out, this CD really grows on you, including Don't Stop Now, and, my favorite, Say That Again. I've seen him & CH in concert many times & I highly recommend seeing them. They're obviously not a band that will rock Initially I didn't care for this CD, as biased as I was because I really think that Neil Finn is a great singer-songwriter. But, as a few other people pointed out, this CD really grows on you, including Don't Stop Now, and, my favorite, Say That Again. I've seen him & CH in concert many times & I highly recommend seeing them. They're obviously not a band that will rock the house, but the banter between themselves on stage, as well as with the crowd is truly enjoyable. Expand
  18. evokoder
    Sep 17, 2007
    10
    There's not much out there to top this at the moment. Finn is a songwriting god!
  19. RossL
    Jul 12, 2007
    10
    Beautiful and Haunting. This album has many special moments. Neil finn continues to amaze me with his brilliant song writing. Songs like "english trees" and "people are like suns" will stay with you long after listening to them. Enjoy!
  20. JosephM
    Jul 12, 2007
    7
    fairly standard effort, good tunes but nothing exceptional. Also... they're a New Zealand band.
  21. Christina
    Aug 13, 2007
    9
    Nikko, No need to be insulting. I'm an American and have been a fan of Neil Finn (and Tim Finn) since I first saw Split Enz in 1981. There has never been, in my opinion, another singer/songwriter who could top their genius. Todd W said it all. I, too, am thankful for living in this Time on Earth to have been able to experience such melodic wonder.
  22. JohnL.
    Aug 29, 2007
    10
    The more you listen the more you realize Neil Finn is easily the equal of the greatest singer-songwriters of this age. Yes, that includes Paul McCartney. Every song so well crafted, so emotionally sung. Welcome back Crowded House!
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 20 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 20
  2. Negative: 0 out of 20
  1. Where Hester contributed rhythmic surprise and fleetness, Sherrod brings solidity and power that anchor the whole affair with a reassuring gravity.
  2. Time on Earth a haunting yet comforting affair that is quite unique in Neil Finn's body of work, yet functions as an oddly appropriate, utterly worthy, comeback as Crowded House.
  3. Expect to hear a smattering of gems from Time On Earth, more than holding their own with the band's much loved and more famous moments.