Time

  • Record Label: Capitol
  • Release Date: May 7, 2013
Metascore
63

Generally favorable reviews - based on 17 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 17
  2. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. May 13, 2013
    60
    The only annoyance is the production, which seems to believe that America will only buy rock by a Scotsman from London if it's laden with stadium-pop Waterboys/Mumfords/Titanic Celtic cack rock. [Jun 2013, p.101]
  2. May 13, 2013
    60
    His voice may be sounding a teeny bit thin these days (although he still has all the high notes) but if you like Rod Stewart, you will love this album; if not, there are high points which may win you over.
  3. In place of the suavité we associate with Songbook Rod, we get a whooping, sequenced modernisation of 1970s Guitar-Rock Rod.
  4. May 9, 2013
    60
    The album certainly has its flaws--some plodding AOR arrangements, and so-so songs--but he hasn't sounded this engaged with his music in a very long time.
  5. 60
    Over production is a constant issue with these tunes, as Stewart (who co-produced) layers guitars, horns, backing vocals and too much of everything on melodies that, by and large, are strong enough to stand on their own in more stripped down arrangements.
  6. May 7, 2013
    60
    The songwriting is sometimes clunky or kind of silly (see "Sexual Religion"), but there's a lighthearted warmth on nearly every song.
  7. May 6, 2013
    60
    Time winds up a bit muddled, swinging from moments of genuine sweetness toward sharp saccharine, but even with all its flaws it's nice to hear Stewart engaged again, both as a writer and a singer.
  8. May 6, 2013
    60
    The occasional glint of mandolin and fiddle fails to alchemise Time's glossy LA rock, or excuse some shocking lyrics. [Jun 2013, p.79]
  9. 50
    At best, for a former superstar, returning to the creative fray, the record is mediocre. [Jul 2013, p.88]
  10. May 10, 2013
    50
    Overall, Time is badly balanced and overproduced, but it does offer signs of life while falling short of a genuinely exciting resurgence.
  11. 40
    It all goes wrong later on, in a limp succession of ersatz disco ("Sexual Religion"), routine raunch-rock ("Finest Woman") and empty sentiments like "Pure Love", yet another gloss on Pachelbel's Canon.
User Score
8.8

Universal acclaim- based on 4 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 4
  2. Negative: 0 out of 4
  1. Jul 6, 2015
    10
    eXcelente álbum de volta de Rod Stewart, Beautiful Morning
    -Can't Stop Me Now-
    It's Over- She Makes Me
    eXcelente álbum de volta de Rod Stewart, Beautiful Morning
    -Can't Stop Me Now-
    It's Over-
    She Makes Me Happy São ótimas
    Clássico álbum;
    Full Review »
  2. Jan 15, 2015
    10
    Junto com a volta de inspiração na composição Rod também voltou com tudo em termos de música.
    Excelente Álbum
    Top 6 Time 2013 1-Beautiful
    Junto com a volta de inspiração na composição Rod também voltou com tudo em termos de música.
    Excelente Álbum
    Top 6 Time 2013
    1-Beautiful Morning
    2-Can't Stop Me Now
    3-It's Over
    4-She Makes Me Happy
    5-Pure Love
    6-Sexual Religion
    Full Review »
  3. Jun 9, 2013
    5
    This could have been a good album but I can't get past the glossy production and studio-sounding players.

    Had Rod made this with Ronnie
    This could have been a good album but I can't get past the glossy production and studio-sounding players.

    Had Rod made this with Ronnie Wood, Kenny Jones, Ian McLagan, etc, and minimal production... now you're talking.
    Full Review »