Timez Are Weird These Days

  • Record Label:
  • Release Date:
Timez Are Weird These Days Image

Generally favorable reviews - based on 20 Critics What's this?

User Score

Universal acclaim- based on 7 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The Brooklyn-based rapper makes his major-label debut, with producers Dave Sitek and John Hill.
Buy On

Top Track

Why Even Try
Stole my heart like a thief in the night Stopped in the tracks in the middle of a fight To make it right let the brim-stones burn I'll let you live... See the rest of the song lyrics
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 20
  2. Negative: 1 out of 20
  1. Timez Are Weird These Days is the perfect example of what London is capable of, snatching elements of popular music from across the decades to create a sound that's both nostalgic and refreshing.
  2. Jul 21, 2011
    Unlike the legends of BK past, London doesn't riff on drugs and housing projects, which in and of itself earns him a fair shot. He may be redefining what it means to be a rapper in the 21st century, but it wouldn't hurt if he practiced more rules of the game before changing it.
  3. Sep 21, 2011
    On paper, everything about Timez Are Weird These Days lends itself to an ostentatious dose of elite, Hoxtonite posturing. But there's substance beneath the style, a welcome human quality to withstand the opulent demi-house compositions.
  4. Jul 28, 2011
    Deep, wobbly bass, twinkling synths, crisp programmed drums and esoteric guest spots by Holly Miranda and Tegan and Sara's Sara Quin seem crafted with blogs in mind, ensuring the album's freshness in the moment but leaving it vulnerable once the hype dies down.
  5. It may not be game-changing and it'll be slaughtered by those who have a hatred of hipsters/fun. But it's harmless entertainment, and London gets full marks for what he's best at--experimentation.
  6. Aug 9, 2011
    For those who can look past the shallowness of London's re-imagining of the rap fantasy for the American Apparel set, there are some real party-starters here, including two that make clever use of guest singers.
  7. Sep 12, 2011
    What stands out are shallow hooks ("I Stand Alone"), disjointed memoirs ("Love Is Real"), and the painful lyrical repetition of "Girls Girls $" littering a nightclub-ready canvas. "Stop It."

See all 20 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 1
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 1
  3. Negative: 0 out of 1
  1. Jul 21, 2011
    This is a great CD that inspirational and easy to listen to. London did a nice job on this project and I have to recognize him for it. NiceThis is a great CD that inspirational and easy to listen to. London did a nice job on this project and I have to recognize him for it. Nice Cd.