Metascore
64

Generally favorable reviews - based on 19 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 19
  2. Negative: 1 out of 19
  1. Billboard
    90
    Flecked at every turn with Kozelek's unique interpretive bent, "Tiny Cities" is a triumph.
  2. Tiny Cities... accomplishes the two key tasks that a covers album should always strive for: It stands on its own, and it makes it impossible to hear the originals in quite the same way.
  3. Blender
    80
    A folk-rock anti-Midas, he reduces everything he touches to a molten core of sadness. [Dec 2005, p.151]
  4. Alternative Press
    80
    The songs, though we've heard them many times before, take on a surprisingly fresh and delicate new identity. [Feb 2006, p.122]
  5. Under The Radar
    70
    A large part... of a Mark Kozelek song is the arrangement.... In that sense, Tiny Cities is a collection of perfect Mark Kozelek songs. [#11, p.108]
  6. In recasting these wilfully off-kilter tunes and investing them with his trademark warm and inviting melancholia, Mark Kozelek need not be modest: Tiny Cities is a big success.
  7. Urb
    70
    Kozelek can make even the most lively of songs one strum shy of a death rattle. [Jan/Feb 2006, p.103]
  8. This is a gorgeous recording, one that in a very intimate way opens up an entire universe of possibility for understanding, integration, and brokenness. A fitting tribute indeed.
  9. Many of the songs lose their indelible glow being snail baited and cleared up like this.
  10. Tiny Cities differs very little from how we might expect it to sound.
  11. Uncut
    60
    It seems something of a hollow exercise. [Feb 2006, p.72]
  12. Q Magazine
    60
    Bizarre, but not without appeal. [Feb 2006, p.104]
  13. Mojo
    60
    None of these tunes conveys a fraction of the emotional ardour of those on the first (self-penned) Sun Kil Moon album. [Feb 2006, p.103]
  14. New Musical Express (NME)
    60
    Sublime stuff. [11 Feb 2006, p.33]
  15. Even with Kozelek's laudable work on this outing I feel that something more robust could have emerged had the roots been original.
  16. It was a valiant try, but Tiny Cities just doesn't have a lot going for it unless you're a die-hard fan of Kozelek.
  17. Perhaps those who regard the Northwesterners' compositional skills with awe will find this a fascinating prism of strong creative angles, but as a follow-up to an extraordinarily gorgeous web of noise and delicacy, it leaves a lot to be desired.
  18. Turns out Isaac Brock is just too damn weird to be imitable.
  19. These tracks are botched experiments that can't even function as interesting failures.
User Score
7.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 24 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 24
  2. Negative: 4 out of 24
  1. JayS.
    Apr 9, 2008
    10
    B-e-a-utiful. I can't believe some of the reviews I've read for this album. Having just listened to it again I can only think they B-e-a-utiful. I can't believe some of the reviews I've read for this album. Having just listened to it again I can only think they had socks in their ears. By the way I haven't heard the originals and will now check them out. Full Review »
  2. James
    Dec 30, 2007
    8
    I like Modest Mouse and I've liked a lot of what Kozelek has done, both with SKM and RHP, and I really like this album. The first few I like Modest Mouse and I've liked a lot of what Kozelek has done, both with SKM and RHP, and I really like this album. The first few spins were colored by the overwhelmingly negative reviews, but once I was able to hear the album for itself, it presented itself as a terrific set of songs. The Modest Mouse versions of these songs are useless as points of comparison...they have as little to do with these versions as The Dirty Projectors' most recent album has to do with Black Flag. Full Review »
  3. markm
    Jul 6, 2007
    0
    I'm a fan of sun kil moon and RHP as well as modest mouse. This album is terrible. MK's version of Tiny cities is completely I'm a fan of sun kil moon and RHP as well as modest mouse. This album is terrible. MK's version of Tiny cities is completely laughable. I can't believe the ratings, my jaw dropped when I heard these songs. I Full Review »