TKOL RMX 1234567

Metascore
67

Generally favorable reviews - based on 18 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 18
  2. Negative: 0 out of 18
Buy On
  1. Q Magazine
    Dec 15, 2011
    60
    As long as you're up for more mood and texture experiments there's plenty of interest. [Dec. 2011 p. 135]
  2. Uncut
    Oct 18, 2011
    60
    These 19 tracks feel designed to float in a space between clear genre boundaries, somewhere purposefully undefined. [Nov 2011, p.106]
  3. Oct 18, 2011
    60
    The inherent structural flaws of any given remix album also plague TKOL RMX--a lack of consistency, flow or narrative.
  4. Oct 10, 2011
    60
    A far greater number of these remixes flatten out the complexity of TKOL's grooves in favor of commonplace arrangements.
  5. Oct 11, 2011
    50
    Too often TKOL RMX 1234567 feels as calculated and mechanical as its soulless title.
  6. Oct 13, 2011
    40
    This set intensifies the dilemma of its parent album: ostensibly unconventional music that feels all too familiar.
User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 41 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 8
  2. Negative: 2 out of 8
  1. Oct 12, 2011
    9
    I have Radiohead (specifically Thom Yorke's office charts) to thank for my love of a lot of the artists that appear on here, and it's great toI have Radiohead (specifically Thom Yorke's office charts) to thank for my love of a lot of the artists that appear on here, and it's great to see them working on the material that got me into them in the first place. The Jacques Green and Caribou mixes have become some of my all time favourite tracks, and there are some fascinating reinventions of TKOL that I never could have anticipated. For those that really loved TKOL, this is a great companion which unlocks some of the deeper mysteries of those tracks, and TKOL seems made for this sort of treatment - sprouting new leaves and growing again in new shapes - The King of Stems? Full Review »
  2. Oct 12, 2011
    1
    As a Radiohead fan I look forward to any new release but this is not really Radiohead. It's a bunch of bogged down bad elevator music forAs a Radiohead fan I look forward to any new release but this is not really Radiohead. It's a bunch of bogged down bad elevator music for tecno geeks. To call it a disappointment would be unfair. It is a disaster with not a single bright spot and one song redone 3 times for no apparent reason. Full Review »
  3. Feb 7, 2013
    9
    A lot better than what I thought it would be. A great remix album, even if it's not what Radiohead's fans would expect now. I liked most of the songs.