TKOL RMX 1234567

Metascore
67

Generally favorable reviews - based on 18 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 18
  2. Negative: 0 out of 18
Buy On
  1. Oct 11, 2011
    83
    The best of these remixes excite and innovate in ways their counterparts didn't.
  2. Mojo
    Dec 22, 2011
    80
    This fluidity of their eighth album becomes a virtue for this project. [Nov 2011, p.93]
  3. Oct 6, 2011
    80
    It grows, fades and breathes like an album should, it provides enough singles to make it the envy of many a record, and it also demonstrates what a perfect stem the original TKOL was.
  4. Oct 5, 2011
    80
    These tracks are both club and headphone worthy, insular and expansive, ephemeral and dense, lush and skeletal; their only uniting factor, Thom's voice, curling like a wraith through their intricate insistent landscapes. Captivating.
  5. Oct 18, 2011
    70
    None of these remixes fall flat. For Radiohead fans, TKOL RMX 1234567 is an opportunity to see their favorite fivesome in a new light by some of the world's most clever electronic musicians.
  6. Oct 14, 2011
    70
    In a way, this is overkill indeed--over 100 minutes of remixes for a 40-minute album. However, it's also fascinating to hear how this current crop of producers--spanning abstract hip-hop, house, dubstep, bass music, and experimental techno, all selected by Thom Yorke--twists, bends, adjusts, and appropriates the source material.
  7. 70
    It expands substantially on the tangeted, capricious nature of the record that many complained about to begin with, and ultimately serves as a very compelling companion to The King of Limbs.
  8. Oct 7, 2011
    70
    Despite Yorke's much-parodied manic dancing in the Lotus Flower music video, the album's cold soul does not lend itself to a carefree, fun-loving dance floor, and as such, the mutations herein are tentative, fragile things built on the backs of their producers, and limited, for the most part, in their relationship to their source material.
  9. Oct 7, 2011
    70
    In the end, TKOL RMX 1234567 does a better job at delivering Radiohead's snowy ennui than its forebearer, suggesting that the band should have collaborated with these electronic purveryors from the get-go and skipped The King of Limbs altogether.
  10. Oct 5, 2011
    70
    Its most successful examples retain some Radiohead DNA, but reconstituted into a new form.
  11. Oct 5, 2011
    70
    It's to the remixers' own credit--and perhaps, also, to the homogenous nature of the source material--that TKOL RMX 1234567 does a fine job of highlighting each producer's own idiosyncracies.
User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 36 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 8
  2. Negative: 2 out of 8
  1. Oct 12, 2011
    9
    I have Radiohead (specifically Thom Yorke's office charts) to thank for my love of a lot of the artists that appear on here, and it's great toI have Radiohead (specifically Thom Yorke's office charts) to thank for my love of a lot of the artists that appear on here, and it's great to see them working on the material that got me into them in the first place. The Jacques Green and Caribou mixes have become some of my all time favourite tracks, and there are some fascinating reinventions of TKOL that I never could have anticipated. For those that really loved TKOL, this is a great companion which unlocks some of the deeper mysteries of those tracks, and TKOL seems made for this sort of treatment - sprouting new leaves and growing again in new shapes - The King of Stems? Full Review »
  2. Oct 12, 2011
    1
    As a Radiohead fan I look forward to any new release but this is not really Radiohead. It's a bunch of bogged down bad elevator music forAs a Radiohead fan I look forward to any new release but this is not really Radiohead. It's a bunch of bogged down bad elevator music for tecno geeks. To call it a disappointment would be unfair. It is a disaster with not a single bright spot and one song redone 3 times for no apparent reason. Full Review »
  3. Feb 7, 2013
    9
    A lot better than what I thought it would be. A great remix album, even if it's not what Radiohead's fans would expect now. I liked most of the songs.