To Be Kind Image
Metascore
88

Universal acclaim - based on 35 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.5

Universal acclaim- based on 176 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The third release since the Michael Gira-led band reformed in 2010 was recorded by John Congleton and has a run time of over two hours.
  • Record Label: Young God
  • Genre(s): Pop/Rock, Alternative/Indie Rock, Experimental Rock, Art Rock, Noise-Rock, American Underground, Post-Punk
  • More Details and Credits »
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 35
  2. Negative: 0 out of 35
  1. Jun 4, 2014
    100
    To Be Kind is as vital and unsettling as anything they’ve ever done, and displays a mastery of their craft that seems almost automatic at this point.
  2. 100
    It might be the most accessible Swans album yet. The long stretches of abstract noise are draped over some surprisingly catchy hooks. A few moments might even qualify as singalong road trip anthems.
  3. 91
    To Be Kind is a loving ode to chaos, full of deranged, mutant energy and even more brilliant for it.
  4. May 12, 2014
    80
    People are still willing to give music their time and money. With albums like To Be Kind, it’s easy to see why.
  5. 80
    To Be Kind is evidence that they continue to grow and may not have reached their peak yet. It's superb for now, though. [Summer 2014, p.90]
  6. May 15, 2014
    80
    Given its length, trying to tackle To Be Kind n one sitting might feel like the musical equivalent of scaling Everest, but with so many dizzying peaks along the way the effort is well rewarded. [Jun 2014, p.90]
  7. May 8, 2014
    60
    To Be Kind is uncompromising to the point of overindulgence.

See all 35 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 24
  2. Negative: 2 out of 24
  1. May 15, 2014
    10
    Simply put, an amazing piece of music that I don't understand. and that's what makes it infinitely listenable and a great human achievement.Simply put, an amazing piece of music that I don't understand. and that's what makes it infinitely listenable and a great human achievement. OXYGENNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNN Expand
  2. May 13, 2014
    10
    This is not experimental music, this is pure power delivered by Thor himself, or Mr. Gira as we have known him since he formed Swans. Musik, non stop!
  3. Jun 3, 2014
    10
    Really one of those rare albums you list under the category of incredible. Once you start playing it, you will most likely not be able to stopReally one of those rare albums you list under the category of incredible. Once you start playing it, you will most likely not be able to stop until the experience is complete. Powerful and profound, this is shaping up to be the almost unanimous best album of 2014. And it's only June. Expand
  4. Nov 24, 2014
    10
    mind blowing made by the gods themselves Just listen to it understand it and you'll love it. Swans-To be kind is the best album of 2014 nomind blowing made by the gods themselves Just listen to it understand it and you'll love it. Swans-To be kind is the best album of 2014 no doubt. I Love Swans Expand
  5. May 13, 2014
    10
    perfect album. why does metacritic list the Quietus rating as an 8? AnyDecentMusic lists it as a 9.5, which seems much more accurate, givenperfect album. why does metacritic list the Quietus rating as an 8? AnyDecentMusic lists it as a 9.5, which seems much more accurate, given the content of the review. Collapse
  6. May 31, 2014
    9
    Here is my Pitchfork-esque review of To Be Kind:

    Michael Gira's thunderously godlike vocal spasms set against the deep and churning chasm
    Here is my Pitchfork-esque review of To Be Kind:

    Michael Gira's thunderously godlike vocal spasms set against the deep and churning chasm of eternity wash over in a sea of ear-popping post-rock melodies and hypnotic beats sure to induce plenty of mental breakdowns and much nightmarish dream content for the nights to come. It's as if Prometheus has returned to steal fire from Mount Olympus for the first time in a thousand years, only this time to be sucked into a time warp where Judgment Day and the Creation of the World converge into one paralyzing hour of fear and fire, awash in moral calamity."

    In other words, it's a 9 out of 10.
    Expand
  7. Jun 16, 2014
    2
    Annoying, distant, foggy, echoing, repulsive, childish, naive. The masses are obviously flying with the Swans. I keep giving chances but afterAnnoying, distant, foggy, echoing, repulsive, childish, naive. The masses are obviously flying with the Swans. I keep giving chances but after several listens, no. Good music is not about being extraordinary and weird, it's something else. They've got their own sound, yes, but instead of feeling great, I feel like this is music for the depressed and bittered **** Grow up. You have only one life to live. Expand

See all 24 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best Albums of 2014

    The Best Albums of 2014 Image
    Published: December 29, 2014
    We reveal our final official list of 2014's highest-scoring albums.
  2. The Best Albums of 2014 So Far

    The Best Albums of 2014 So Far Image
    Published: July 3, 2014
    With 2014 halfway over, we take a look at the best albums released so far this year.
  3. Best of May 2014: Top Albums, Games, Movies & TV

    Best of May 2014: Top Albums, Games, Movies & TV Image
    Published: May 30, 2014
    Browse our quick guide to the best entertainment of the past month, with lists of the highest-scoring video games, TV shows, albums, and films released during May.