To The 5 Boroughs

  • Record Label: Capitol
  • Release Date: Jun 15, 2004
User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 74 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 58 out of 74
  2. Negative: 8 out of 74

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. EricC
    Aug 3, 2004
    0
    Worst album to date. I'd take it back if I could. :(
  2. Nathan
    Jan 23, 2005
    3
    Very disappointing. Everything up to and including Ill Communication was great. Hello Nasty was alright, but this is just boring. The B-Boys need to bring back those who helped make their previous albums so funky and innovative.
  3. RG.
    Oct 26, 2007
    3
    Very disappointing. Cannot understand why the B-boys have decided to separate their hip-hop personae from their instrumental side - that combination is what made them so interesting, fresh and innovative over the past decade and a half (longer, really), and it's absence is exactly what's made the last 2 CD's so boring.
  4. garenb
    Aug 18, 2004
    0
    wow this sucked
  5. arnabm
    Mar 29, 2005
    3
    compared to hello nasty, this is a really lazily done album. they sound old and tired on this one. sorry boys.
  6. chuckyo
    Jun 16, 2004
    0
    It sucks. I'm tired of rap in general. It's boring.
  7. JamesM
    Jun 16, 2004
    2
    I am a A1 B-boys fan. This album has nothing in it to intrest any pre-"Hello Nasty" fan. I listened to it 3 times, read the lyrics and "Ch-Check it Out" is the only one that was even Ok (probably because I laughed at the Video). I waited six years for something that sounded like it was recorded at my house on the weekend. This review is all I can do to get my $10.00 back.
Metascore
71

Generally favorable reviews - based on 25 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 25
  2. Negative: 2 out of 25
  1. Blender
    60
    This formula wears thin over the 15 cuts here. [#27, p.137]
  2. New Musical Express (NME)
    80
    Like Missy Elliott, the Beasties are reimagining hip-hop--what it was, what it is, what it can be. [12 Jun 2004, p.47]
  3. Q Magazine
    60
    The Beastie Boys have always been at their best when gleefully rhyming and stealing from a variety of sources--both musically and lyrically--and the self-imposed adherence to hip hop traditionalism here, and indeed musically on the album as a whole, rather subdues their famously free-form sonic palette. [Jul 2004, p.108]