Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 37 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 37
  2. Negative: 0 out of 37
  1. The whole thing sort of pops into existence, an idea and a testament, and instead of resolving, wistfully swoons into silence, all a dream. But maybe that's what Lennox was going for.
  2. Apr 26, 2011
    84
    Sometimes, in the wrong mood, Tomboy can come across as eleven great songs chipping away at each other.
  3. 90
    Whichever route you choose, one thing remains unflinching: this album is guaranteed to please.
  4. 90
    While it will inevitably be argued as to whether or not Tomboy is really a work of startling originality or perhaps just a long lost companion to Björk's Vespertine, it's hard to deny positing that we've got one of the best albums of 2011 finally in our hands.
  5. 83
    The woozy, reverb-rich result makes for great headphone swimming (also: infant appeasement!), but Lennox is at his best with a groove to submerge.
  6. Apr 12, 2011
    88
    With Tomboy, Lennox valiantly accepts the responsibilities he once invoked on Prayer, now seeming to possess answers to some of the questions as well.
  7. Apr 13, 2011
    90
    While still featuring the repetition and reverb that embodies much of Lennox's work, Tomboy is more divisible, and more accessible for a downloaded generation, or listeners looking to simply dabble their toes.
  8. Apr 11, 2011
    85
    Tomboy is a much more considered record, with thickly layered psych-style production.
  9. Apr 11, 2011
    90
    Tomboy is every bit as good as it promised to be, and more.
  10. Apr 12, 2011
    91
    Both less sunny and more accessible than Person Pitch, Tomboy is broken down into bite-sized, relatively straightforward morsels of melody buttressed by percolating polyrhythms, twinkling guitar, piano-based hooks, and Lennox's choirboy emoting.
  11. Apr 12, 2011
    88
    Tomboy is a tricked-out, big-budget epic built for IMAX.
User Score
8.4

Universal acclaim- based on 54 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 12
  2. Negative: 0 out of 12
  1. Apr 19, 2011
    9
    Definitely one of my favorite albums of the year so far. It sucks you into its unique sound world - I just keep going back for more. This isDefinitely one of my favorite albums of the year so far. It sucks you into its unique sound world - I just keep going back for more. This is right up there (if not better) than Person Pitch, in my opinion. Highly recommended. Full Review »
  2. May 11, 2011
    8
    Took a few listens to realise just how many great songs there are on this one. Overall though, I don't find it as memorable or versatile asTook a few listens to realise just how many great songs there are on this one. Overall though, I don't find it as memorable or versatile as Person Pitch. I get bored listening to this LP the whole way through at times because the songs have a very similar feel to them, but as individual tracks I can't fault them. Full Review »
  3. Apr 12, 2011
    9
    Tomboy arrives four years after Panda Bear's brilliant Person Pitch. Tomboy largely fulfills expectations, but some may be divided over theTomboy arrives four years after Panda Bear's brilliant Person Pitch. Tomboy largely fulfills expectations, but some may be divided over the more conventional song structures Noah Lennox uses this time. There are no sprawling jams like "Good Girl/Carrots"; "Afterburner," the longest track, clocks in at 6:50, while the other ten tracks hover around four minutes. Still, this is Panda Bear. He nails the Beach Boys layered lyrics, combing those with burbling sounds, synths, and guitars to create dreamy, unique songs. Lennox's singing is top notch - he uses his voice to swing us from moods of warmth, desolation, hope. Tomboy starts modestly and builds to a powerful finish, fluctuating with imaginative ideas throughout. Fans should be pleased over this effort; it's also one of the best of 2011 so far. RECOMMENDED TRACKS: Tomboy, Last Night at the Jetty, Afterburner Full Review »