Tomboy - Panda Bear
User Score
8.3

Universal acclaim- based on 49 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 44 out of 49
  2. Negative: 0 out of 49

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 12, 2011
    9
    Tomboy arrives four years after Panda Bear's brilliant Person Pitch. Tomboy largely fulfills expectations, but some may be divided over the more conventional song structures Noah Lennox uses this time. There are no sprawling jams like "Good Girl/Carrots"; "Afterburner," the longest track, clocks in at 6:50, while the other ten tracks hover around four minutes. Still, this is Panda Bear. He nails the Beach Boys layered lyrics, combing those with burbling sounds, synths, and guitars to create dreamy, unique songs. Lennox's singing is top notch - he uses his voice to swing us from moods of warmth, desolation, hope. Tomboy starts modestly and builds to a powerful finish, fluctuating with imaginative ideas throughout. Fans should be pleased over this effort; it's also one of the best of 2011 so far. RECOMMENDED TRACKS: Tomboy, Last Night at the Jetty, Afterburner Expand
  2. Apr 12, 2011
    9
    So far, it's my favorite album of this year next to Toro Y Moi's Underneath The Pine. It's an improved Person Pitch with some occasional dub influence; at the same it's equally more guitar and beat oriented. Trancey post-rock electronic indie rock at its finest.
  3. Apr 26, 2011
    6
    I found the album to be well done, the music does pull you into it, however, nothing really stood out, which was my problem with it. It all seemed to be around the same level, and became a little boring towards the end of listening. I listened to it once, and found it was a good album, but I have no intentions of listening to it again...I prefer his work with Animal Collective much more.
  4. Apr 19, 2011
    9
    Definitely one of my favorite albums of the year so far. It sucks you into its unique sound world - I just keep going back for more. This is right up there (if not better) than Person Pitch, in my opinion. Highly recommended.
  5. May 9, 2011
    7
    The tracks Tomboy and Slow motion with the latter been on my top list so far this year. Takes a couple of listens to get into it but its an enjoyable experience. Very unique music.
  6. Apr 12, 2011
    9
    Panda bear has done it again. This album is a lot smoother than his last release. And once again his vocal melodies are what really sets his music apart from the rest. There is not a single song I don't like on the entire album.
  7. Apr 19, 2011
    8
    Brilliant album, even not following the sampler-based and brilliant too Person Pitch; Noah's still delivering his best melodies and lyrics. Slow Motion and Last Night at the Jetty are the highlights, the reverbed guitars and the strange noises mixed with more minimal percussion create one of the best albums of 2011.
  8. May 11, 2011
    8
    Took a few listens to realise just how many great songs there are on this one. Overall though, I don't find it as memorable or versatile as Person Pitch. I get bored listening to this LP the whole way through at times because the songs have a very similar feel to them, but as individual tracks I can't fault them.
  9. May 25, 2011
    7
    The layering on this album is fantastic, but it sometimes has the tendency to drone on at points.
  10. Aug 11, 2011
    5
    An album which tries so hard to hit different bars actually ends up sounding frustrating, uncertain and loose. Had pretty high expectations and it all came up short.
  11. Oct 20, 2011
    10
    I have to confess: I am much more excited when I hear of release of a solo album by one the guys from Animal Collective than when I hear about ACâ
  12. Apr 9, 2012
    10
    Top 3 best albums of 2011. There are two kinds of people in the world: those that understand Animal Collective and those that don't. I'm a huge fan of Animal Collective and Panda Bear is an amazing extension of the band. In the company of Tom Wait's Bad As Me and The Beach Boys' Smile.
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 37 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 37
  2. Negative: 0 out of 37
  1. May 19, 2011
    78
    Tomboy's an ambitious work that finds its power and grandiosity in the slightest moments – an album that demands headphones, yet equally compels to crank the stereo.
  2. May 17, 2011
    40
    Rather than gaining urgency Tomboy instead feels rhythmically constrained and sonically muted. [May 2011, p.100]
  3. May 17, 2011
    60
    Such is the electronic murk elsewhere, it feels better to dabble your toes in this record than plunge right in. [May 2011, p.120]