Tomorrow's Harvest

  • Record Label: Warp
  • Release Date: Jun 11, 2013
Metascore
85

Universal acclaim - based on 35 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 35
  2. Negative: 0 out of 35
  1. Q Magazine
    Jul 10, 2013
    60
    Tomorrow's Harvest delivers oceans of spare, mellow and melodic electronica, but what it doesn't offer is much in the way of surprises. [Aug 2013, p.98]
  2. Jun 10, 2013
    60
    Tomorrow's Harvest is another intriguing Rorschach blot of a record from a splendidly arcane band.
  3. Jun 11, 2013
    40
    Where the dog-eared, snapshot ambient wooze of Twoism and Geogaddi once harbored a feverish throb, Tomorrow’s Harvest now prickles with hollow spaces: a fragmentary, pixelated symbolism has been lost in the construction of an outline of a broader system.
User Score
8.5

Universal acclaim- based on 99 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 13
  2. Negative: 2 out of 13
  1. Jun 11, 2013
    10
    Although not as striking as their debut album Music Has the Right to Children, Tomorrow's Harvest is everything i had hoped for in a returnAlthough not as striking as their debut album Music Has the Right to Children, Tomorrow's Harvest is everything i had hoped for in a return from Boards of Canada. It has a feeling of fallout, what to expect after a cataclysmic event, and each track is its own part of that journey. There are throwbacks to Boards of old, and also new ventures into their sound scape and i can't stop listening to it. Full Review »
  2. Jun 11, 2013
    9
    For all the nostalgia Tomorrow's Harvest oozes, it's not nostalgia for uncomplicated childhood memories and innocence of youth; it's nostalgiaFor all the nostalgia Tomorrow's Harvest oozes, it's not nostalgia for uncomplicated childhood memories and innocence of youth; it's nostalgia of a certain era, and to a certain degree, even the science and pseudoscience of the era parts Boards of Canada's albums sound like they could have been pulled from Jacques Cousteau documentaries (which was the case at least once), In Search Of…, "Ancient Aliens" documentaries hosted by Rod Serling and the documentary about the pseudoscience of Erich von Daniken, Nova, and perhaps least surprisingly nature and science documentaries by the National Film Board of Canada.

    Boards of Canada reference ephemeral music of old 1970s documentaries and movies in a way that can be especially creepy because not only are my memories of it profoundly imperfect, but so are the extant archives of them, having in most cases traveled through several generations of degraded tape. Much of their work revels in its own references to analogue culture, 70s futurism, and imperfect memory, and Tomorrow's Harvest is a return to that feel that they briefly stepped away from during The Campfire Headphase.

    Tomorrow's Harvest sounds like a soundtrack to a long-forgotten unearthed documentary about events and concepts which are often difficult to treat fairly in one hour and frankly quite sinister the failures of social and agrarian policies, the failure of utopia, occultism, the frailty of memory, the paranoia of the Cold War, ecological disaster, the reality behind surface appearances, eschatology, and lonliness.

    This is a bit less accessible than Geogaddi, but inhabits a similar dark space. Tomorrow's Harvest is very nearly exactly the album I was hoping it would be.
    Full Review »
  3. Jun 17, 2013
    10
    I'm not sure how I missed this band. I search for new music all the time and I luckily came across Boards of Canada through metacritic. ThisI'm not sure how I missed this band. I search for new music all the time and I luckily came across Boards of Canada through metacritic. This is one of the best cd's I've ever heard. It takes you to a completely new place. Would recommend to anyone! Full Review »