Tomorrow's Harvest - Boards of Canada
Tomorrow's Harvest Image
Metascore
85

Universal acclaim - based on 35 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.5

Universal acclaim- based on 90 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: This is the first full-length release in eight years for the Scottish electronic duo of Marcus Eoin and Mike Sandison.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 35
  2. Negative: 0 out of 35
  1. Jul 3, 2013
    100
    It is chock-a-block with everything you have ever loved about the Boards over the last 15-some-odd years.
  2. Jun 10, 2013
    90
    Though demanding repeated listens, Tomorrow’s Harvest distinguishes itself by making intense commitment (e.g. What’s the better way to enjoy it, headphones or stereo, broken-up “side” listens on vinyl vs. one full immersive CD spin?) a welcome task for the summer of 2013.
  3. Jun 11, 2013
    90
    Tomorrow’s Harvest is as strong a return to form as it is stunning an update, with the Scottish duo refining their blend of nostalgic sonics and futuristic sheen.
  4. Jun 5, 2013
    80
    Boards of Canada have created a fascinating vision, one that will reveal more and more gifts over time.
  5. Jun 17, 2013
    80
    It's vintage Boards Of Canada--a beautiful, shimmering, electronic maelstrom of liquid, vintage synths and slo-mo beats. [Jul 2013, p.82]
  6. 80
    While their latest transmission isn’t the easiest to receive, upon success, it can be the most rewarding piece of science fiction in years.
  7. Jun 11, 2013
    40
    Where the dog-eared, snapshot ambient wooze of Twoism and Geogaddi once harbored a feverish throb, Tomorrow’s Harvest now prickles with hollow spaces: a fragmentary, pixelated symbolism has been lost in the construction of an outline of a broader system.

See all 35 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 11
  2. Negative: 1 out of 11
  1. Jun 11, 2013
    10
    Although not as striking as their debut album Music Has the Right to Children, Tomorrow's Harvest is everything i had hoped for in a return from Boards of Canada. It has a feeling of fallout, what to expect after a cataclysmic event, and each track is its own part of that journey. There are throwbacks to Boards of old, and also new ventures into their sound scape and i can't stop listening to it. Expand
  2. Jun 12, 2013
    10
    The silver lining around the eight-year wait between albums is that my yearning for more BoC sent me on deeper voyages through their catalog until I had absorbed every vibration. At its bleakest, Tomorrow's Harvest never loses its undercurrent of optimism. For the experienced listener, BoC combines heart and brain in music that evokes faint memories of some forgotten, but beloved, home. Collapse
  3. Jun 17, 2013
    10
    I'm not sure how I missed this band. I search for new music all the time and I luckily came across Boards of Canada through metacritic. This is one of the best cd's I've ever heard. It takes you to a completely new place. Would recommend to anyone! Expand
  4. Jun 18, 2013
    9
    What I love about this album is that BoC are still BoC and it is still the best ambient music to date. But it is also completely different. BoC were never so dark, so ambient and so non-melodic. But the atmosphere remains and that's what was initially that what made BoC so special, wasn't it? Expand
  5. Jun 11, 2013
    9
    For all the nostalgia Tomorrow's Harvest oozes, it's not nostalgia for uncomplicated childhood memories and innocence of youth; it's nostalgia of a certain era, and to a certain degree, even the science and pseudoscience of the era parts Boards of Canada's albums sound like they could have been pulled from Jacques Cousteau documentaries (which was the case at least once), In Search Of…, "Ancient Aliens" documentaries hosted by Rod Serling and the documentary about the pseudoscience of Erich von Daniken, Nova, and perhaps least surprisingly nature and science documentaries by the National Film Board of Canada.

    Boards of Canada reference ephemeral music of old 1970s documentaries and movies in a way that can be especially creepy because not only are my memories of it profoundly imperfect, but so are the extant archives of them, having in most cases traveled through several generations of degraded tape. Much of their work revels in its own references to analogue culture, 70s futurism, and imperfect memory, and Tomorrow's Harvest is a return to that feel that they briefly stepped away from during The Campfire Headphase.

    Tomorrow's Harvest sounds like a soundtrack to a long-forgotten unearthed documentary about events and concepts which are often difficult to treat fairly in one hour and frankly quite sinister the failures of social and agrarian policies, the failure of utopia, occultism, the frailty of memory, the paranoia of the Cold War, ecological disaster, the reality behind surface appearances, eschatology, and lonliness.

    This is a bit less accessible than Geogaddi, but inhabits a similar dark space. Tomorrow's Harvest is very nearly exactly the album I was hoping it would be.
    Expand
  6. Jun 11, 2013
    9
    Although Boards of Canada may not immediately strike a first-time listener as great fun, my own personal joy comes through involving myself with the music rather than superficially glancing. Dissecting their music, and their clues and tricks, is what allows me to work out the questions I have about the band. Although everything Boards of Canada put into their music is right there in front of me and requires so little to lose myself in, it asks a lot of me to work things out. Although I can now look back at their older material and constantly confirm their intentions to myself, Tomorrow's Harvest will keep me occupied in this respect for just as long. Although I do have questions this time around, that are slight annoyances rather than general wonder, it’s this kind of trickery that keeps Boards of Canada enjoyable and by the time I've worked out everything from their music that I think I possibly can, they'vee left a sizable mark on my life. Expand
  7. Jul 25, 2013
    2
    Listened to this after saw it on a top-seller list; I don't have any prior knowledge of the band and sure I am missing something here. Nothing special really happens; it's like an OST to a video game like Mass Effect or something. Why the fuzz? Expand

See all 11 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best Albums of 2013

    The Best Albums of 2013 Image
    Published: December 19, 2013
    We reveal our final official list of 2013's highest-scoring albums.
  2. Midyear Report: The Best Albums of 2013 So Far

    Midyear Report: The Best Albums of 2013 So Far Image
    Published: July 3, 2013
    We reveal the top 25 albums of the first half of 2013. While the list includes rare releases from the likes of My Bloody Valentine, Daft Punk, and Boards of Canada, it's a metal band that tops our chart.