Tomorrow's World

  • Record Label: Mute
  • Release Date: Oct 11, 2011
Metascore
62

Generally favorable reviews - based on 13 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 13
  2. Negative: 0 out of 13
Buy On
  1. 60
    There's a glistening sheen here, and the mixture of fast and slow ("When I Start to Breathe" is ballad-like with an eminently hummable chorus) keeps things refreshing.
  2. Mojo
    Dec 22, 2011
    40
    It's early Erasure fans who seen likely to enjoy the '80s electro sheen of the all-action rhythmo-melodic hooks and subplots. [Nov 2011, p.100]
  3. Oct 17, 2011
    60
    Tomorrow's World isn't a bad album but it's not a complete "return to form" either.
  4. Oct 13, 2011
    60
    Sometimes it feels like he's competing too hard with the intensity of the big, expensive-sounding production--especially on the mid-tempo numbers.
  5. Oct 13, 2011
    60
    Its peaks aren't as high as [2005's Nightbird, or 1997's Cowboy's] standouts--there's no "Don't Say You Love Me" or "Rain" here--but most of these nine songs have big choruses that sneak into your head, sometimes against your better judgment.
  6. Oct 11, 2011
    60
    The nine-song set shows that keyboardist-mastermind Vince Clarke's genius for weaving grand melodies with ecstatic beats is still intact, but tinny vocal compression muddles throbbers like "Whole Lotta Love Run Riot."
  7. Reconvening after a four-year hiatus, the duo have carried on where they left off--meaning the Frankmusik-produced TW is gentle, blissful and devoid of the exuberant electro romps of yesteryear.
  8. 40
    Even with Frankmusik included among the production credits, these one-time synth-pop pioneers sound lifeless compared with all the 80s-raiding whippersnappers so indebted to them.
  9. 40
    Business as usual, then, with few new thrills.
  10. Under The Radar
    Nov 3, 2011
    60
    The duo's hook-laden, dangerously infectious, bottom-wiggling formula is still in place. [Oct 2011, p.112]
User Score
5.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 6 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 3
  2. Negative: 0 out of 3
  1. Sep 4, 2012
    9
    This is Erasure's best album in a while! I've always been a big fan, and some of my other favorite Erasure albums include some of the earlierThis is Erasure's best album in a while! I've always been a big fan, and some of my other favorite Erasure albums include some of the earlier stuff (Wonderland, The Innocents, Wild!) and the 90s analog synth stuff (Crackers International, Chorus, Abba-Esque, I Say I Say I Say, Erasure.) Tomorrow's World sounds current, but still sounds like Erasure. Full Review »
  2. Oct 14, 2011
    6
    I put this album in the green by a hair based on 3 really solid tracks and my love for the duo's music since I first heard Victim of Love inI put this album in the green by a hair based on 3 really solid tracks and my love for the duo's music since I first heard Victim of Love in the 80s. Where Erasure always maintained an lushly independent sound in the earlier years, Tomorrow's World tries desperately to cram drastically different styles into a single work and it feels degraded to broad gay club riffs than a their signature sound. Hearing an autotuned version of Andy Bell's gracefully maturing vocals made my heart sink. Full Review »
  3. Oct 12, 2011
    5
    Tinny vocal compression (Rolling Stone review)? It's worse than that: Autotune. On Andy's voice. Too much of this effort sounds like theTinny vocal compression (Rolling Stone review)? It's worse than that: Autotune. On Andy's voice. Too much of this effort sounds like the strict dance album Andy put out as his last solo work, only worse. The synth settings are mostly awful Eurodisco-sounding. The mid-tempo thinkers are more properly Erasure, but there aren't enough of them to rescue this from a 5. This will be one of those Erasure albums (you know the ones) where nearly every remix will be superior to the original track. Full Review »