Tones Of Town

User Score
8.7

Universal acclaim- based on 29 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 29
  2. Negative: 1 out of 29

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Roco
    May 12, 2007
    10
    Wonderful from start to finish!
  2. MikeM
    May 11, 2007
    2
    Sorry Can't Recommend this AT ALL. One of the worst albums ive heard this year....i lied it is the worst i've HEARD this year. im sure there's worse, but i dont like to waste my money...
  3. EpicC
    May 5, 2007
    10
    Solid and overall just plain fun. Really upbeat and with lots of great hooks and melodies. I highly recommend!
  4. BlakeD
    Apr 30, 2007
    10
    Definitely one of the the best albums released so far this year. It's fun, upbeat and catchy as hell. With alot of cool, enjoyable songs that are going to be stuck in your head for weeks, trust me.
  5. Mike
    Apr 22, 2007
    9
    Not as good as there amazing debut but still a worthy follow-up to it, with some of there catchiest songs to date.
  6. GillG
    Apr 22, 2007
    10
    Splendid album! I didn't even know who this band was until a co-worker of mine recommended them to me. Thank god he did! Cause, I think I would of missed out on a really wonderful band and record. My biggest surprise of 07.
  7. DBag
    Apr 9, 2007
    10
    A wonderful little gem. "Sit Tight" "A House Is Not A Home" "Working To Work" "In Context" are the best songs. One of the best albums released so far this year.
  8. GregP
    Mar 30, 2007
    9
    Can't stop listening to this. There are more cool sonic, melodic, rhythmic ideas in a two minute song than you can imagine. And oh yeah, killer hooks. Give it a chance. It's one of the those albums that you might not get on the first listen, but by the third listen you can't figure out why you didn't get it the first time. Play it loud.
  9. SamSong
    Mar 24, 2007
    8
    These lads have been listening to their Abacab.
  10. mikef
    Mar 22, 2007
    10
    exceptional. having checked out every other high scoring artist's website on metacritics current release list to sample what they got, this album's BY FAR best of the bunch. largely unheralded, f'n geniuses.
  11. LawrenceP
    Mar 16, 2007
    8
    Just a fun, exciting and smart ride. "In Context" is the best single I've heard so far this year.
  12. jaym
    Mar 12, 2007
    9
    Really good, fun album. If you liked the Islands (not that it sounds alot like it) you'll love this
  13. mikes.
    Mar 7, 2007
    6
    overrated, songwriting and production is reminscent of the 70's. Nothing new here typical indie euro trash.
  14. DMac
    Mar 6, 2007
    10
    One of the catchiest albums I've heard in years.
  15. JC
    Mar 6, 2007
    10
    A Wonderful little gem. Very addictive & just downright amazing to listen to! Best album of 07, well... until, Interpol's third LP, comes out, actually.
  16. AC
    Mar 6, 2007
    9
    My biggest surprise of 07, so far. Catchy pop songs that anyone can enjoy. This band knows what there doing. Simply wonderful music here!
  17. SunnyL
    Feb 20, 2007
    10
    brilliant! confident and funny
  18. matta
    Feb 6, 2007
    8
    As the metascore confirms, the critics got this one right; Tones Of Town isn't just markedly better than it's predecessor, it is one of the finest albums so far this year. And, as others have written of Field Music, it takes a couple listens to realize it is better than most MOR Brit/Indie rock out there.
  19. JordanK
    Feb 4, 2007
    8
    I'm really glad that Field Music is finally getting some much deserved critical acclaim. But to be honest, I think their first album deserved a much higher rating than this one. This album has some really great moments. The genious song-writing ability is definitely still there. But I think appreciated their style more in their debut; it was simple but it was all they needed to I'm really glad that Field Music is finally getting some much deserved critical acclaim. But to be honest, I think their first album deserved a much higher rating than this one. This album has some really great moments. The genious song-writing ability is definitely still there. But I think appreciated their style more in their debut; it was simple but it was all they needed to compliment the great song structures. This release seems to rely on a lot more ornamentation. "The ornaments look pretty, but they're bringing down the branches of the tree" as Cake would say. Still, this album is more than worth the money; I've had it for a full day and have already listened to it several times. Expand
  20. TrevorG
    Feb 2, 2007
    10
    Honestly, they've taken the promise of the 1st album and knocked the ball clean out of the playing 'field'

Awards & Rankings

Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 28 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 28
  2. Negative: 0 out of 28
  1. There are off-centre, post-hardcore workouts and plenty of edgy but polished, pop fusion pieces, which suggest The Futureheads transplanted to 70s West Coast America.
  2. While Tones is tighter, smaller, and more to-the-point than its predecessor, I’m not fully convinced that it’s as good as Field Music.
  3. It’s unpredictable, ridiculously clever, catchy as hell and as perfect a pop album as you’re ever likely to hear.