Tonight: Franz Ferdinand - Franz Ferdinand
Tonight: Franz Ferdinand Image

Generally favorable reviews - based on 33 Critics What's this?

User Score

Universal acclaim- based on 103 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The third album for the UK rock band was produced by Dan Carey.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 33
  2. Negative: 1 out of 33
  1. The mix of Alex Kapranos' louche croon with the band's disciplined racket is still a knockout, and they've switched things up enough to keep it interesting.
  2. What Franz Ferdinand have proven is that not only do they make impressive albums but that they are capable of trying out new sounds with great skill. It’s still the same band we fell in love with, only they have incorporated more sounds into their arsenal and with songs as good as these, it’s a welcome addition.
  3. 80
    As usual, Franz Ferdinand pack a greatest-hits album’s worth of melodic tricks into each tune, while Kapranos purrs the sort of pick-up lines that would earn a lesser man a gimlet in the face.
  4. While not all of those risks pay off, what works about Tonight speaks to the band's greater maturity and vision.
  5. It's often catchy and kinetic in the moment, yet it still feels like Franz Ferdinand has the potential to do more with their music than just slightly tweak and polish a sound they established several albums ago.
  6. 60
    For all their adroitness, most of the songs on Tonight sound too similar to each other (and to existing Franz Ferdinand songs).
  7. Truly, the four dapper Scotsmen that constitute this group should be ashamed of their tuneless, thoughtless, meaningless new offering, which distorts the proud legacy of a band that once mattered.

See all 33 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 39 out of 40
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 40
  3. Negative: 1 out of 40
  1. Aug 28, 2013
    Critics are dull and often wrong. This is the most adventurous album the band has ever done, where every risk has payed off. It sounds like the band we have always loved, matured and a bit rough around the edges, which is a nice change. Gritty synths dominate the album. It has guts and plenty of them. Never a dull moment on this one. Expand
  2. May 25, 2012
    Adding a synth into the band as one of the central instruments is a welcome addition and welcome change, or rather, enhancement to FF's sound. The songs are as catchy as the previous two albums and the 7+ minute "Lucid Dreams" is a fantastic showcase of the newly added synth. Expand
  3. Aug 21, 2014
    After a highly productive start to their career Franz Ferdinand more or less disappeared after album number 2. 4 years later here they presented us with "Tonight", a solid album that shows a logical progression from "You could have it so much better...". While "Tonight" doesn't have the knockout punches that were present on the bands' debut, "Tonight" see's an expansion of the bands' sound. The record is unmistakably Franz but their is a bigger range of influences to be heard and the band borrow from a range of late 70's early 80's acts (e.g Talking Heads for one). "Tonight" is a very good record without being a brilliant record. The band sound so comfortable with their style it makes their sound alternate between assured and lethargic. Expand
  4. Dec 28, 2013
    Seeming to have lost a vital part of what made them so great on their first two albums, Franz Ferdinand's third album is, as a whole, a substantial step down for this once great band. The depth of thinking and creativity that made great songs like "Michael", "Outsiders", "Take Me Out", and "Walk Away" is almost completely gone on this album, replaced by disco beats that do little to make up for it. That said, tracks like "Ulysses", "No You Girls", and "What She Came For" are just too infectious to ignore and save what would otherwise be a mediocre offering. Honestly, this album is going to come down to what makes you like about Franz Ferdinand. If its their fun and catchy side (example: "Do You Want To") than you will love this album, but if its their sarcastic and witty side (example: "The Fallen") you may feel less than fully satisfied by this album. Expand

See all 40 User Reviews