Torches

  • Record Label:
  • Release Date:
Torches Image
Metascore
69

Generally favorable reviews - based on 20 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.5

Universal acclaim- based on 178 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
Buy On
  • Record Label: Columbia
  • Genre(s): Pop/Rock, Alternative/Indie Rock, Alternative Pop/Rock, Indie Electronic, Indie Pop, Neo-Psychedelia
  • More Details and Credits »

Top Track

Pumped Up Kicks
Robert's got a quick hand. He'll look around the room, he wont tell you his plan. He's got a rolled cigarette hanging out his mouth. He's a cowboy... See the rest of the song lyrics
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 20
  2. Negative: 1 out of 20
  1. Sep 12, 2011
    89
    While hit single and opener "Helena Beat" suggests that Foster the People has mastered the sunny-but-bitter concoction, "Waste" and "I Would Do Anything for You" provide a sweet balance on the palate.
  2. Jun 27, 2011
    80
    Foster The People make infectiously good music, don't stick to a formula and make you yearn to lie on your back in the middle of a field, feeling the hot sun streaming down on your face.
  3. Q Magazine
    Aug 8, 2011
    80
    LA-based trio unveil their schizo-pop blend. [Aug. 2011, p. 119]
  4. May 23, 2011
    63
    Much of Torches doesn't aim much higher than being a fizzy soundtrack for windows-down elbow tans. Which is fine, but for all his ease at getting attention, hopefully Foster will want to command it more thoroughly.
  5. Dec 19, 2011
    60
    Burning with a hot track intensity somewhere in between early evening rave-up and late-night club afterglow, Torches is a beacon of melodic dance-pop love.
  6. Jun 28, 2011
    60
    The first half of Torches is its collective zenith, and although things pick up towards the end of the album by the strategically placed 'Pumped Up Kicks', you can't shake the feeling that Foster has simply stretched the party vibe over as many songs as he can before the momentum runs out.
  7. Regardless, even the harshest of words are unlikely to stop this album from being a success. And that, well, is kind of depressing.

See all 20 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 38
  2. Negative: 0 out of 38
  1. Apr 7, 2012
    10
    when i heard "pumped up kicks" i liked the song yet when it hit mainstream status the song got really annoying and i felt Foster The Peoplewhen i heard "pumped up kicks" i liked the song yet when it hit mainstream status the song got really annoying and i felt Foster The People was a one hit wonder band, and.... I WAS WRONG! the album, is fantastic! and its kind of a shame that some of the BEST songs aren't even on the ORIGINAL album. many people heard pumped up kicks and thought that was the best song, NO! it is not, its their most popular but best? not even close. i loved the album, the songs are catchy, and really well done. its safe too say most of these songs are about love. KEY TRACKS: "Call it what you want", "Waste", "Helena Beat", "Don't Stop", "Houdini", "i would do anything for you" EXTRA KEY TRACKS (NOT ON ORIGINAL ALBUM): "Love", "Broken Jaw" NOTE!!! Broken Jaw in MY OPINION is THEIR best song, seriously listen to this one.... Expand
  2. Jul 1, 2011
    10
    It's quite simple, this album is just plain fun. To use a movie analogy, it's like a good Will Farrell comedy. It's not meant to be aIt's quite simple, this album is just plain fun. To use a movie analogy, it's like a good Will Farrell comedy. It's not meant to be a critical smash or win awards. The album is catchy and puts you in a great mood. Houdini and Helena Beat are both fun. Expand
  3. Jun 17, 2011
    10
    Foster The People are modern-day Beach Boys who have captured the sound of sunshine, fun, and the carefree days of summer in just under forty minutes.
  4. Mar 28, 2012
    8
    Excellently crafted album. Lyrically clever, catchy and punchy. Highly recommended to those who enjoy alternative pop...if there is such a genre.....
  5. Oct 21, 2013
    8
    I found many artists and groups thanks to FIFA and I think that Foster the People is one of the best. "Call it what you want" is one of myI found many artists and groups thanks to FIFA and I think that Foster the People is one of the best. "Call it what you want" is one of my favourite songs. Lyrically this album isn't one of the best but the songs are very catchy. This is a good debut album and I'm looking forward to the next one. Expand
  6. Jun 21, 2017
    7
    Начало альбома которое проходит под Pumped Up Kicks настраивает на идеальный альбом, даже не смотря на слабую Helena Beat, но чем дальше, темНачало альбома которое проходит под Pumped Up Kicks настраивает на идеальный альбом, даже не смотря на слабую Helena Beat, но чем дальше, тем хуже. С каждой песней становится все скучнее и скучнее. Слушабельна часть с Pumped Up Kicks до Waste. На этом можно заканчивать прослушивание альбома.
    Словно в вознаграждение за прослушивания никакущих Houdini, Life on the Nickel, Miss You нам дают послушать более-менее сносную Warrant, которая, возможно, если бы не тот ужас что был до нее и не выглядела бы так выгодно.
    Долго думал что поставить 6 или 7, но только из за Pumped Up Kicks не могу поставить желтую оценку.
    Expand
  7. Oct 3, 2011
    4
    The debut album by Foster the People is being advertised as â

See all 38 User Reviews