User Score
8.4

Universal acclaim- based on 79 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 70 out of 79
  2. Negative: 3 out of 79

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 21, 2014
    8
    Excellent second album from one of the class acts of recent years. "Total Life Forever" is a more complex and substantial piece of work than "ANTIDOTES" and we really hear a development in the band's sound and ambition as well. The songwriting is much braver than on their debut and the band seem more confident and clear in what they want to achieve. Foals create a pretty dark and moodyExcellent second album from one of the class acts of recent years. "Total Life Forever" is a more complex and substantial piece of work than "ANTIDOTES" and we really hear a development in the band's sound and ambition as well. The songwriting is much braver than on their debut and the band seem more confident and clear in what they want to achieve. Foals create a pretty dark and moody vibe throughout the album but its not really a downbeat album bar a few numbers. This album is consistent throughout, therefore it is really difficult to pick out highlights. Each tracks flows into the next quite seamlessly. Even when the somber "Spanish Sahara" follows the frantic "Black Gold", something about it feels completely right. I'd highly recommend this record for anyone into their indie rock and guitar music in general. Expand
  2. Jun 12, 2012
    8
    A huge change for the band, not bad at all. First half of the album it's really great, but the second half, the album slows down and gets more sentimentalist. Just "After Glow"(maybe the best song) gives power to this part. Overall, it shouldn't be taken as a big mistake of the band...
  3. Dec 1, 2010
    5
    I'm not a fan of the turn Foals have taken, although clearly it's gone down very well with the majority. They've lost their edge and, for me, have shed nearly everything that made them interesting. Antidotes was my album of the year two years ago. This doesn't get near my top 20 for 2010. As soon as I heard the pained, whiny vocals on Spanish Sahara, and the excruciatingly slow build upI'm not a fan of the turn Foals have taken, although clearly it's gone down very well with the majority. They've lost their edge and, for me, have shed nearly everything that made them interesting. Antidotes was my album of the year two years ago. This doesn't get near my top 20 for 2010. As soon as I heard the pained, whiny vocals on Spanish Sahara, and the excruciatingly slow build up that accompanies it, I knew that was it. Some decent moments. I like 'This Orient', yet even that song outstays it's welcome by repeating the chorus one too many times. Ultimately just not very interesting. Expand
  4. Sep 29, 2010
    10
    Am absolute masterpiece of a record, the first half is gorgeous, swelling songs that culminate in the genius that is spanish sahara. songs like This Orient and Fugue, slow it down at times but in general this is a truly fantastic album.
  5. Aug 12, 2010
    5
    This album is patchy. There are some really lovely bits, particularly the first 30 seconds of many of the songs, but then it gets spoiled by some "trying-too-hard" and constipated vocals and awkward arrangements. I think they are trying to be a blend of talking heads, radiohead and dirty projectors, but are not anywhere near as good or original as any of those. 6/10 is generous. With XX,This album is patchy. There are some really lovely bits, particularly the first 30 seconds of many of the songs, but then it gets spoiled by some "trying-too-hard" and constipated vocals and awkward arrangements. I think they are trying to be a blend of talking heads, radiohead and dirty projectors, but are not anywhere near as good or original as any of those. 6/10 is generous. With XX, probably the most over-rated album of the year and I have not once managed to sit through the entire Foals album. Expand
  6. Feb 19, 2011
    9
    Brilliant record. Some genuinely euphoric moments- the climaxes of Blue Blood, After Glow, Spanish Sahara- the comedowns in 2 Trees and Black Gold. An emotionally powerful tour de force. My favourite record of 2010 without a doubt.
  7. Jan 1, 2013
    10
    This is such an amazing album. Definitely one of my favourites of all time. I love how this album is such a departure from their first release, yet still amazing.
  8. Sep 14, 2011
    10
    I love this record, a lot. I love the aquatic sound, how every guitar strum sounds like an echo underwater. I love the melodies and the lyrics and the whole kit and caboodle.
  9. Aug 13, 2010
    9
    TLF is an amazing album, one that has staying power after repeated listens. Beautiful textures meet grooves and jams in almost every track. I especially love Afterglow and Black Gold. I give credit to Foals for not repeating Antidotes, like so many bands do for their sophomore album.
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 30 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 30
  2. Negative: 0 out of 30
  1. Dec 21, 2010
    91
    TLF is a bid to be less in your face than in your head, and while its effect is less immediate, it's a comedown that's way more fun than the party.
  2. Fortunately, when grooves meander and sometimes gets a bit ponderous, the band's creative instincts usually kick in to right the ship. [Summer 2010, p.83]
  3. Foals' major label debut, Total Life Forever, keeps those elements intact, most notably on the title track and in the calculated urgency and cold sweat of "After Glow," but the band has redesigned the template to include a more expansive pop approach evinced by sprawling centerpiece "Spanish Sahara."