Total Loss - How to Dress Well
Total Loss Image
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 25 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.3

Universal acclaim- based on 20 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Tom Krell's second release as How to Dress Well shows more R&B influences.
  • Record Label: Acephale
  • Genre(s): R&B, Pop/Rock, Alternative/Indie Rock, Indie Electronic, Alternative R&B
  • More Details and Credits »
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 25
  2. Negative: 0 out of 25
  1. It's an album that ceaselessly overflows with love and a desire to reach out and relate, and it's this that makes such a heavy album so accessible and so resoundingly good.
  2. Sep 18, 2012
    80
    Total Loss is a largely dud-free album.
  3. Sep 18, 2012
    80
    There's a delicacy, a deftness of touch throughout Total Loss that's wondrous.
  4. Sep 28, 2012
    80
    An intriguing new artist has found his voice. [Nov 2012, p.76]
  5. Sep 18, 2012
    70
    While Love Remains proved a hard listen because of its liberal use of distorted effects, Total Loss is tough going because of the emotional intensity of its content.
  6. Sep 25, 2012
    70
    Total Loss is a beautiful album, all ambient longing and sadness and spectral pop, rising and falling without warning - no other artist gets more emotional effect out of leaving things not quite finished. But it still feels not quite finished.
  7. Sep 18, 2012
    50
    Krell seems like a victim of his own good intentions. There's a kernel of an idea here.

See all 25 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 2
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 2
  3. Negative: 0 out of 2
  1. Oct 3, 2012
    8
    While I really appreciate Krell's unique ambient spin, I find he really dominates when he lays down a spicy beat like on & It Was You. I like this even more than Love Remains, which is to say, a lot. Expand
  2. Oct 5, 2012
    8
    This is my first time listening to Total Loss. Overall, I am glad I took a listen. Most of the songs reminded me alot of The Weeknd. It seems like this is the new spacey R&B style. Very easy to listen to as the vocals are carried by a variety of nice beats. An expert in the genre might dislike the production of the album, but the other 90% of the R&B audience will enjoy it! Collapse