Tourist

User Score
7.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 64 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 48 out of 64
  2. Negative: 11 out of 64

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. [Anonymous]
    Feb 18, 2005
    2
    Pretty dull.
  2. NickD
    Feb 22, 2005
    2
    Joel Pott can't emote, I'm sorry, and if they were just-about-above-average on their debut, this is dull dull light, lit up by Wires and Trading Air, which would be weak points on another album, but are strengths here. Pott's lyrics are one-dimensional still, but when tackling the kind of subject matter where depth is important, this album seems to have the emotional depth Joel Pott can't emote, I'm sorry, and if they were just-about-above-average on their debut, this is dull dull light, lit up by Wires and Trading Air, which would be weak points on another album, but are strengths here. Pott's lyrics are one-dimensional still, but when tackling the kind of subject matter where depth is important, this album seems to have the emotional depth of a greetings card. Expand
  3. KyleB
    Feb 12, 2005
    0
    Adam X said it perfectly. This is horribly boring, stupid stuff.
  4. AdamX
    Feb 7, 2005
    0
    One of the most uninspired, plodding and downright dreadful albums of recent times... And to think I thought it couldn't get worse than Keane...
  5. chrism
    Feb 7, 2005
    0
    rubbish
  6. HeatherC
    Mar 7, 2005
    3
    What can I say, this album bored me to tears.
  7. WestonW
    Jun 4, 2005
    0
    you'll never be coldplay, so stop pretending you are, athlete.
  8. CosmoPrelog
    Jun 7, 2005
    0
    I was in a good mood when I bought this album. After repeated spins it did triggered something profound in me. I realized I hate this band. The hate that is boiling deep in my heart for this piece of piss is brewing like hate has never simmered. It is a hate that dwells and smolders. Electric is my hate for this record. My hate mongering self is angry. Hatefully pitiful. Athletically I was in a good mood when I bought this album. After repeated spins it did triggered something profound in me. I realized I hate this band. The hate that is boiling deep in my heart for this piece of piss is brewing like hate has never simmered. It is a hate that dwells and smolders. Electric is my hate for this record. My hate mongering self is angry. Hatefully pitiful. Athletically hatful indeed. Expand
  9. Corpuss
    Nov 23, 2005
    0
    One of the most boring, uninspirational pieces of shit ive ever heard. this band are truly talentless, how the fucking hell did they get signed to a label???? anyone who likes this shit should be fuckin ashamed, its got nothing going for it. this band is on a fuckin mission to bore as many people to death as they fuckin can.
Metascore
46

Mixed or average reviews - based on 19 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 19
  2. Negative: 7 out of 19
  1. Unfortunately "Tourist" is derivative in only a one-dimensional sense: its imagination stopping where Wayne Coyne’s begins.
  2. Athlete seem to have found a formula in the studio and left the autopliot in reverse.
  3. Drama in music works perfectly fine in mediated, tactical doses, but for Tourist, the stakes are unrealistically high.