Toxicity

User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 363 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 19 out of 363

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 13, 2011
    10
    Every song on the album sounds great to my ears and nobody else sounds close to their greatness of alternative metal and great vocals by the two singers.
  2. Jul 4, 2012
    10
    every song have single potential and with a classic include in the album like chop suey i love all the minutes hearing it. its one of the best rock albums of recent memory
  3. Jun 5, 2011
    10
    I've never hated a single song by System really.
    This is one of their greatest albums in my opinion.

    And Chop Suey has mixed views on what the lyrics mean.
    One being it's about the "Angels" being the "Good" people who look away from those whose lives have been destroyed.
    The other being about Jesus.
  4. Jun 23, 2011
    10
    Absolutely brilliant metal record. A must. A perfect mix of amazing riffs, good rhythms and expressive feelings, especially with songs like Chop Suey, Toxicity or the sweet closing title Aerials .
  5. Jul 28, 2011
    10
    great album i especially liked aeriels, toxicity, and chop suey but i think that this is SOADs best album. BTW this album deserves way more than a **** 7.3!!!!
  6. MattH.
    Feb 2, 2002
    10
    Perfect
  7. JeffG.
    Mar 1, 2002
    10
    The best album I have heard in 10 years (Pearl Jam, Ten). This music certainly psyches you up on your way to work. Complete brilliance. The dynamics are close to matching Metlallica's "Master of Puppets".
  8. Mar 5, 2012
    10
    This is system of a downs worst album but it is still one of those albums where you can enjoy every track and can't resist the urge to listen to it again.
  9. Dec 22, 2012
    9
    This album is crazy. Chop Suey! (regardless if anyone hates it) is probably the best song ever. Aerials is amazing as well. gReat job.
  10. Insanesuperstar340
    Sep 10, 2002
    10
    It is awsome all of the songs on toxicity rule.
  11. Ashm
    Mar 20, 2003
    10
    This cd kicks huge ass and if u dont like it yer retarded
  12. MattiasL
    Oct 6, 2003
    10
    System Of A Down rules this unholy world!!
  13. imoc
    Sep 23, 2003
    10
    i love system of a down and diz album ... but i cant find any of their concertz???
  14. allieB
    May 24, 2004
    10
    umm i'm not quite sure wat's wrong with the people at "Uncut" but unless you're really close minded and have no general taste in music SOAD kicks ass. and so does this album. enough said.
  15. AndrewM.
    Jul 13, 2004
    10
    My favorite bands are probably Radiohead and Modest Mouse, but System of a Down is really something different. I really really like this cd. It is very chaotic and unrestrained by boundaries that hold other albums (such as following a predictable music pattern)
  16. declanm
    Dec 7, 2005
    10
    the album is totally superb never to be beaten by system or any other band for that matter
  17. Addison05
    Aug 24, 2005
    10
    This is the only band i lisen to and the only one i will a true FAN here. There concert here in Tx on the 11th was the best I have seen from them yet and iI hope to see them agien real soon keep Rockin SOAD
  18. eatmenow
    Jan 12, 2006
    10
    not enouf reviews to give it justice aerials toxicity chop suey prison song needles deer dance bounce and all the others is stunning there arnt enough reviews from critics above to do justice to this masterpiece systems best work to date
  19. ZyXom
    Mar 4, 2006
    10
    I LOVE this CD! So good, and so thinkable (does it exist? lol)! Chup Suey's my favorite, and I CANT understand how u can give 30/100 to this CD. It maybe the best ever from Soad. Well, for now, its my favorite!
  20. MattS
    Apr 3, 2006
    10
    There best album! Its fast paced! Amazing! Stylish! And funny too! Any metal fan would agree it's amazing!! I wouldn't class it as "nu-metal" though. Fuck that uncut guy he has no sese! Anyway, great album! Soil, P.L.U.C.K, peephole and suite-pee = amazig,
  21. TaylorK
    Mar 20, 2007
    10
    this song is freaking awesome! SOAD is the best band ever! keep rockin' out yall!
  22. AaronH.
    Oct 12, 2001
    10
    if you've come this far and you liked the last album, you're wasting your time sitting here, go get it. From Hard Death to Light Melody in a single song, brilliant...
  23. AaronH.
    Oct 12, 2001
    10
    if you've come this far and you liked the last album, you're wasting your time sitting here, go get it. From Hard Death to Light Melody in a single song, brilliant...
  24. JamesR.
    Oct 16, 2001
    10
    impossible to classify. they have come a long way since their first recording. The melodies have an almost comical feel, while touching on the gravest of issues. intense and brilliant
  25. AdamB.
    Nov 7, 2001
    10
    SOAD is a great rock band that still doesn't take them selves to seriously even with all their success.
  26. DarwinL.
    Oct 21, 2001
    9
    system of a down has gone to another level with their music while still having the addicting sounds that made the first album great.
  27. ChristianL.
    Jan 24, 2002
    10
    I LOVE IT. AND I LIVE FOR SYSTEM!!!! Every day i hear toxicity!!!! SYSTEM I LIVE FOR U!!!!! Its just to bad that system is not coming to denmark :o( BUt i still live/love them!!!!!!!!
  28. DarkSpawn
    Jan 30, 2002
    10
    Having seen System of a Down live and listened to their albums i fail to see how anyone can not like this fantastic and groundbreaking original band
  29. RiaA.
    Feb 1, 2002
    10
    This cd kix Azz!!
  30. JasmineS.
    Feb 16, 2002
    10
    i love this album and toxicitys music its not as boring as most bands out these days coz the music is so full on and fun to listen to . to toxicity keep up the good work and dont listen to the critics they dont know what they're on about!!!!!
  31. DylanO.
    Feb 2, 2002
    10
    A must have for any fan of hard rock, System of a Down's Toxicity combines intense rhythms, great vocals, and incredibly well-done guitar and drum-work. The melody of a song can switch from slow and melodic to upbeat and loud in an instant. The lyrics are well written, and they touch on major issues such as drug use, homelessness and overcrowding, and police brutality. Bottom line: A must have for any fan of hard rock, System of a Down's Toxicity combines intense rhythms, great vocals, and incredibly well-done guitar and drum-work. The melody of a song can switch from slow and melodic to upbeat and loud in an instant. The lyrics are well written, and they touch on major issues such as drug use, homelessness and overcrowding, and police brutality. Bottom line: if you're a fan of rock, get this CD. Expand
  32. ChopSuey
    Feb 23, 2002
    10
    SICK!!!!!!!!
  33. KevinP.
    Feb 5, 2002
    10
    This is best metal album i've ever stumbled over! It has some of the war at heavy metal style to it, but it's better because of the way they use there softer melodies. I wasn't going to buy it until I heard it when a person put it on in my school weight lifting gym, and now I cant stop listning to it!
  34. JamesW.
    Feb 5, 2002
    10
    sweet album,system of a down kix @$$!!!
  35. JodieR.
    Mar 25, 2002
    10
    Anyone who states that this album is sellout must be retarded...........it ROCKS!!!
  36. Aerials
    Mar 3, 2002
    10
    Another one of the best albums I have ever owned. They must make another CD
  37. IanS
    Mar 2, 2003
    10
    Best album I have ever heard...buy it, you'll love it. I did
  38. fanny
    Sep 9, 2003
    8
    it's my fave band but denifintely not my fave cd of theirs, s.o.a.d self titled was much better but this one still kicks ass
  39. IAMMADONTHISBAND!!AaronAllen
    Oct 1, 2004
    10
    this is absolutely brilliant! i picked up this album just for 'Aeriels' but got totally surprised by how great all of the other songs are! 'prison song' 'needles' and 'ATWA' are amazing but my fave is the unmissable 'Forest'. S.O.A.D i salute u
  40. NathanS
    Aug 27, 2004
    10
    Toxicity best song everr!
  41. DumDum
    Jan 10, 2005
    10
    Best Album Ever Made!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  42. ovieo
    Jan 20, 2005
    10
    the best album ever made by anyone anytime .period
  43. ClareN
    Feb 21, 2005
    10
    i love this album i've had it since it came out and will never put it away
  44. iabr
    Mar 30, 2005
    10
    incredible album raising many...interesting topics
  45. AnaitaD
    Jul 29, 2005
    10
    just FABULOUS
  46. IanM.
    Sep 9, 2005
    9
    Wow... this is an awesome album. Seamlessly combining heavy metal with slight elements of punk and rap (minus the suck factor), they've created a masterpiece. Leading off with the insane "Prison Song", this album keeps you riveted until the final song (the suprisingly calm, bu still awesome, "Aerials"). This album (especially on hit single "Chop Suey!" and the title track) has some Wow... this is an awesome album. Seamlessly combining heavy metal with slight elements of punk and rap (minus the suck factor), they've created a masterpiece. Leading off with the insane "Prison Song", this album keeps you riveted until the final song (the suprisingly calm, bu still awesome, "Aerials"). This album (especially on hit single "Chop Suey!" and the title track) has some awesomely intense moments, and while it may not be as heavy as other metal albums, it still rocks out loud. Only thing keeping this away from a 10 is how it kinda drags in some places. Great job, SOAD. Expand
  47. EleanorD
    Apr 19, 2006
    9
    Although it's not their best piece of work, haunting melodies, socially aware/"quacky" lyrics, and crushing riffs make this album absolutely incredable. Good work, mad professors!
  48. DeclanA.
    Oct 8, 2007
    10
    This has to be one of my favourite albums of all time. It's exhilarating from start to finish, and Serj's voice is amazing. You can listen to it again and again and get the same rush you did first time listening to it. Out of this world
  49. jameso
    Feb 9, 2007
    10
    amazing record. from "prison song" to "aerials" SOAD takes you for a hell of a ride. if there's a top 5 albums of this century so far, this is easily in the top 5
  50. MoritzB.
    Apr 6, 2007
    10
    GREAT ALBUM! i love it, best album ever heard! better than mezmerize, i think mezmerize is designed for mainstream, but toxicity is SOAD itself!
  51. OllyH.
    Nov 18, 2001
    10
    Amazing, so diverse. SOAD songs can jump from one place to another in an instant. Amazing melodies with the same "craziness" of the first album - best album yet of the 21st century.
  52. MirandaA.
    Nov 5, 2001
    10
    Its crazy, just like it should be. Damned awesome.
  53. StewartB.
    Oct 16, 2001
    10
    the most original sound from a metal act that i have ever heard, it blew me away. it doesn't get any better than this
  54. ChrisP.
    Dec 9, 2001
    7
    I was seduced by the amazing dynamics of Chop Suey! and decided to take a chance on this album which I knew would probably be the heaviest thing in my CD collection by far. I can't say I love it, but I still like it.
  55. PaulH.
    Feb 27, 2002
    10
    Awsome. Truely awsome. If "Bounce" doesn't get everyone at your local rock club onto the dancefloor and the DJ pogo-ing along aswell then I'll eat my copy of the album. With "Chop Suey!" and "Toxicity" they've surpassed the magnificence of Sugar. If the professional reviewers are so out of touch with what people actually want to listen to then I'm going to apply for a Awsome. Truely awsome. If "Bounce" doesn't get everyone at your local rock club onto the dancefloor and the DJ pogo-ing along aswell then I'll eat my copy of the album. With "Chop Suey!" and "Toxicity" they've surpassed the magnificence of Sugar. If the professional reviewers are so out of touch with what people actually want to listen to then I'm going to apply for a job! First class. Expand
  56. [Anonymous]
    Mar 24, 2002
    10
    This album is the BEST
  57. dan
    Mar 26, 2002
    10
    kicks ass
  58. NyssaL
    Jun 6, 2002
    10
    oh my god, i love this cd. it totally blows my mind. beyond any belief, this is probably 1 of my fave cds of all time
  59. SlashJ.
    Sep 13, 2002
    10
    GREAT CD , this cd was a masterpiece and surely to god one of the best cds of the year
  60. JimmyW
    Oct 20, 2003
    10
    all of the songs are freaking sweet except for areials
  61. liord
    Aug 29, 2003
    10
    this album is really great!!! i loved the cd very much! i hope system will bring us more albums like this one
  62. EvanK
    Oct 9, 2004
    10
    This album is the best System of a down has ever put forth, Forest is my favorite, but Toxicity, Arials, and Chopsuey are up there too.
  63. Thedevilissolovely
    Feb 13, 2004
    10
    Dave E! please understand that system of a down are not childish but very political. they are also one hell of a band SOAD RULE
  64. AndrewF
    Apr 18, 2004
    10
    A piece of musical brilliance. 'Toxicity' is a wonderful piece of work, and manages to combine poignant political messages with dadaist rants. The quick changes in tempo and dynamics suggest schizophrenia, but the album comes together through it's message of the increasingly mechanized world we live in. The album starts with a bang with the hard-hitting "Prison Song" A piece of musical brilliance. 'Toxicity' is a wonderful piece of work, and manages to combine poignant political messages with dadaist rants. The quick changes in tempo and dynamics suggest schizophrenia, but the album comes together through it's message of the increasingly mechanized world we live in. The album starts with a bang with the hard-hitting "Prison Song" that's sure to get any alternative club going on. The short pieces are widely misunderstood- to many, as "Bounce" seems to be utterly pointless. In a sense, that is the intent- System of a Down has always had Dadaist tendanices (Dada is a art and literary form that tries to be as out-there as possible; the Dadaists see the world as going nowhere, and through their 'meaningless' art are actually commenting on the nihilistic attitudes of culture and society), and "Bounce" hits the point very well- so Serj has a pogo stick eh? Every song is a keeper, and none should be skipped to get the full meaning of the album. Ignore the critics. I always find music critics to be useless and quite brain-dead any way. They tend to rate on how an album SHOULD be, not what it IS; they enjoy the safe side of music, and are sure to condemn any artist that even remotely uses shock tactics (i.e. Marilyn Manson, who is actually one of the best lyricists of all time, surpassing many of the Grammy winners of past years) to get their message, no matter how true, how fresh, how brilliant, across. 'Toxicity' is f***ing brilliance. Expand
  65. TomM
    Jul 26, 2004
    10
    This album kicks ass!!! Brilliant acoustics, transitions, and rhythms track after track.
  66. JohnR
    Aug 24, 2004
    9
    This is a really good album, but I didn't quite follow what they were talking about in that song 'Jet Pilot' I like nearly every song on here but they could be a little more direct with some of their messages. -Peace/Rock Out!
  67. LukeB
    Aug 31, 2004
    10
    this is one song you never get tired of hearing it over and over
  68. DanielM
    Aug 30, 2004
    9
    I picked this album up about a week after it's release, all because of only listening to "Chop Suey" once, and after I popped it into my CD player, it didn't leave for weeks, this album can be summed up in one word, Beutiful.
  69. Dylan
    Jan 1, 2005
    10
    i can't quite fathom the opposition. this is everything that is great in metal. metal is all about distinct change, otherwise it would be boring and repetitive. i love the change. and the lyrics are great, metaphorical, symbolical. the best thing about this cd is that it has the catchiness to be great for first time listeners and the depth to be interesting again and again.
  70. Rambo
    Nov 17, 2005
    10
    non stop quality album from the most amazing and original band out there, do yourself a favour and get this!
  71. BillyR
    Oct 12, 2005
    10
    Incredible album. From start to end!!!!
  72. NickP
    Oct 12, 2005
    10
    It makes me mad how stupid critics are, Toxicity is definitely System's best album. They seem to like each cd better as it becomes more pop.
  73. MichaelS
    Jan 16, 2005
    10
    Exellent album.
  74. macs
    Nov 7, 2005
    9
    First SOAD album bought. has some of their best songs on it.
  75. JohnL
    Dec 23, 2005
    10
    Two words 'get it'. The highlights are Chop suey!, forest, aerials and prison song. It's also got a deeper meaning than a rock CD. Great album.
  76. spongeee
    Oct 31, 2005
    10
    best!!!
  77. karoa
    Oct 30, 2005
    10
    this is the best song i ever heard! i like almost all the songs cuz its better than mezmerize
  78. nate
    Jan 30, 2005
    10
    at least some of THESE peeps have taste unlike the guys and gals reviewing limp bizkit (that pissed me and my friend jake off).system of a down reigns as the kings of rock as we speak and i cant wait for the new cd.soad kicks all kinds of ass and so does limp bizkit!!
  79. ToryS
    Mar 12, 2005
    9
    ...Great!...
  80. MC
    Jun 1, 2005
    10
    Best album I ever bought. Great from beginning to end.
  81. RockMan
    Jun 15, 2005
    10
    If they let me choose my own rating i would give the band and the album an infinate amount of numbers like a 1,000,000,000,000,.........This is the best kick ass rock band and album of all time.If you don't love or even like this band you are the most retarded person on this universe.System of a down RULES!
  82. MetalLord
    Jul 24, 2005
    10
    System hit one of the greater spots with their self-titled album in the 90s which was one of my favorites of that decade but now System of A down have gone one better and released one of the best albums of all time.Toxicity is a close match to Metallica's Master of puppets and Slayer's Reign in blood but this band combines heavy riffs with smooth melodies to produce something System hit one of the greater spots with their self-titled album in the 90s which was one of my favorites of that decade but now System of A down have gone one better and released one of the best albums of all time.Toxicity is a close match to Metallica's Master of puppets and Slayer's Reign in blood but this band combines heavy riffs with smooth melodies to produce something far greater.What seperates this album from the rest of the 21st century is the use of political issues imbedded in the lyrics. The Government does not need to debate now that System have covered many topics.This album saw the releases of "Aerials" and "Chopsuey" on public radio and skyrocketed up the charts. Other songs like Bounce are Bounce are great suggesting that Serj has access to a pogostick. The album kicksoff in one of the best fashions with Prison Song in first and finishes with the brilliant "Aerials". System also use a few shorter songs to fill the space the repetition left. Overall the best album of this decade so far and it will be heard for many more years to come. Expand
  83. EinoillakylL
    Jan 14, 2006
    10
    Their greatest album.
  84. TomR
    Feb 19, 2006
    10
    Anyone with any appreciation of good metal will agree... this is one of the best metal albums ever... I don't know what that "Uncut" journalist was listening to but it surely wasn't this... his ears seem to deceive him.
  85. JacobS
    Aug 15, 2006
    10
    Thier greatest album to date! Haunting melodies, very political lyrics that you normally doesn't see in this genre, and Serj's voice is the most amazing on the planet! 10/10
  86. Myles#13
    Sep 6, 2006
    10
    This is the album that first brought me to the band... Toxicity is one of the best metal albums ever created. SOAD has truly created their own energetic, phenomenal sound that sadly does not get enough airplay. Best album to listen to when driving... EVER! Fav songs are 'Chop Suey', 'Toxicity' and 'Aerials' although I LOVE the entire album!
  87. JoshuaS.
    Sep 21, 2007
    10
    The guy who wrote the article for Uncut: Just shut up, just fucking shut up! it's quite clear some of the reviewers don't like metal bands from the new millennium at all so they might as well not bother reviewing if they already have a pessimistic preconception
  88. jims
    Jul 21, 2008
    10
    I love this cd it is perfect and could be SOAD's best album i'd pay $100 for it i think the best song is Chop Suey! (which is going to be in Rock Band 2!) if you don't own it you need to buy this!
  89. AlonsoC
    Jun 26, 2009
    10
    Toxicity and Mezmerize are their best albums, Toxicity was their first great hit, they just made a great work on it, with Toxicity, Aerials, Chop Suey!, the 3 singles, the Cd becomes one of the greatest metal albums for me.
  90. AnnaH.
    Nov 11, 2001
    10
    I love SOAD. Serj's lyrics are so original and his voice is wonderful.
  91. NotDavidAn
    Nov 12, 2001
    10
    SOAD is the poster child for the "nu-metal is not all bad" agruement. Rarely does a band come along that breaks all the rules so wonderfully.
  92. Ian
    Nov 29, 2001
    9
    Points the finger at referential critics and laughs as they struggle to categorise it. Nonsense buzz phrases of "prog rock" and "time changes" need to be thrown away and just listen to the damn thing. Done? Clearer? Correct, it rocks both body and brain, and that's all you need to know.
  93. PulahkC
    Nov 9, 2002
    10
    SYSTEM OF A DOWN is no doubt one of the best bands ever. All the songs on the album have great instrumentals and brilliant messages! God bless these Armenians! P.S.: "aomb.k", you brain-dead goof, this is a site aboutSystem Of A Down, not Tool or Dream Theater!
  94. JamesH.
    Feb 17, 2002
    9
    It's just simply awesome
  95. JessicaF.
    Mar 11, 2002
    10
    Their Cd rocks!
  96. Froggy
    Mar 18, 2002
    8
    Man... I am a Drum`n`bass fanatic, but this stuff caught me at once. Kicks serious ass!
  97. BubbaC.
    Mar 25, 2002
    10
    This album is awesome
  98. DominiqueA.
    Mar 25, 2002
    10
    This album is the Shit!!!! Tey are by far the best band in a looooonng time! I can't take my ears off of this extroadonarily sick/ingenius metal. ROCK ON SYSTEM OF A DOWN!!!!
  99. Karen
    Mar 31, 2002
    10
    best album to come out in a long time. brilliant
  100. AxelG.
    May 14, 2002
    10
    Same words.Best album of the year!
Metascore
73

Generally favorable reviews - based on 9 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 9
  2. Negative: 1 out of 9
  1. When System's at their best, the Los Angeles four-piece evokes most vividly punk politicos the Dead Kennedys.... Yet the band sputters out when the lyrics are awash in vagueness.
  2. Uncut
    30
    Toxicity is virtually unlistenable: thrash metal splintered into a million pieces by unnecessary time changes, topped off with excruciatingly theatrical vocals. [Dec 2001, p.118]
  3. Cast in layers upon layers of aural intricacy, Toxicity charters new frontiers, yet it’s still grinding rock at its most deafening.