User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 378 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 19 out of 378

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 1, 2018
    10
    i loved this album, a few of my favourite songs from this album are: chop suey!, toxicity, deer dance, X, forest, shimmy, science and aerials/arto. this album is for you if you like heavy metal, alternative metal, hard rock or NU metal like me. i really like the two singers (serj tankian and daron malakian). also the drums at the beginning of toxicity are actually the best thing. thanksi loved this album, a few of my favourite songs from this album are: chop suey!, toxicity, deer dance, X, forest, shimmy, science and aerials/arto. this album is for you if you like heavy metal, alternative metal, hard rock or NU metal like me. i really like the two singers (serj tankian and daron malakian). also the drums at the beginning of toxicity are actually the best thing. thanks for reading my review of this album i give it 10/10 Expand
  2. Jun 4, 2017
    9
    They're best album next to "Mezmerize"! Epic from start to finish! "Prison Song", "Chop Suey", "Bounce", "Forest", "ATWA", "Toxicity" and "Aerials" are my favourite songs! But of course all of the songs are perfect in so many ways, but coming from SOAD that's not surprising!
  3. Mar 26, 2017
    9
    Most of the songs may well be in the same key of Cm, and most of the songs arguably sound very similar. But in my opinion, this album proves that that isn't always a bad thing. This album is up there within my top 5 favourite albums ever!
  4. Oct 16, 2016
    10
    Шедевр. Благодаря этому альбому узнал об этой группе,с тех пор она одна из моих любимых.
    ЕЕЕ РОК!!!
  5. Oct 4, 2016
    10
    This album was a revolution in the heavy metal sound. Its so unique, and bizarre, yet so addictive and easy to listen to. The songs are so short, and fast, regardless they do manage to set a mood, and more importantly discuss important political issues, while at the same time having a comedic edge, with songs like "Bounce".

    Here are some of the more memorable tracks of the album: The
    This album was a revolution in the heavy metal sound. Its so unique, and bizarre, yet so addictive and easy to listen to. The songs are so short, and fast, regardless they do manage to set a mood, and more importantly discuss important political issues, while at the same time having a comedic edge, with songs like "Bounce".

    Here are some of the more memorable tracks of the album:

    The Prison Song:
    The lyrics in this one discuss how the US uses drugs to fund their illegal wars, while imprisoning the population for drug use in a hypocritical way. The song sounds so aggressive, and violent, and the vocals show of an insane range, with both vocalists creating a range of voices. No band in heavy metal history have a sound quite like SOAD, and this song perfectly captures their sound.

    Deer Dance:
    A song about the military abusing power, the chorus is so catchy "PUSHING LITTLE CHILDREN...WITH THEIR FULLY AUTOMATICS" a great song to get the listener hyped, and exhilarated. Perhaps though the great riffs on this song set the speed in a way which the vocals don't on this song in comparison to the others.

    Chop Suey:
    This is SOAD's defining anthem. Only this band can create such a grand emotional climax within only 3 minutes. Catchy, fast and subtly beautiful, with a faint piano background delivers the unique lyrics and creates what is considered SOAD’s masterpiece.

    Bounce:
    Bounce is hilarious. It is literally about a guy and a pogo stick. The slightly psychotic delivery is what makes the song so visceral and respectable, despite its ridiculous nature. It is legitimately funny, and just downright crazy.

    Forest:
    Another great tune, some outstanding riffs on this one, and that drum intro is quite interesting. Another lyrically heavy song, particularly aggressive toward religion, this is perfect example of how refined SOAD’s style was in this album.

    ATWA:
    Just another one of their staple songs, which keeps the quality of this album so consistently high that not many other albums could achieve.

    Toxicity:
    My favourite SOAD song and this one truly is a masterpiece. From the very intro the frantic drumming and riffs set a brutal tone, but in classic SOAD style the chorus is slow and melodic. The lyrics are so bizarre and abstract with lines like “eating seeds as a pastime activity”, the song really becomes its own form of music.

    Psycho:
    Yet another anthem, this one is quite repetitive and the chorus quite literally is the most brutal one in this album, as well as the lyrics being slightly subpar, with some clear writer’s block, where they rhyme bizarre phrases. This also features a rare SOAD solo, which is an outstanding change of pace, and having so few solos in an album is truly a great way to appreciate the solos when they do in fact come.

    Aerials:
    The greatest riff on the album is on this heavy song. The guitar work is quite impressive on this song. As for the slow choruses they are here, although I find the lyrics to be a bit too cliché for my liking, which certainly lowers some of the quality of this song for me. Otherwise, this is the perfect way to end the album.

    SOAD was a band which was not afraid to push the limits of their genre, and create some insane and extreme music, that can be appreciated on a casual level. The pacing of this album is perfect, being the perfect blend of style and entertainment, pushing the artistic boundaries but keeping a feel constant throughout all of the fast and short songs. The manic singing, intense and fast drumming and the iconic riffs this album is a true metal masterpiece, in the sense of defining the genre, and not just sticking to the norm. This is why SOAD deserves every ounce of respect it receives, more so than other metal acts.
    Expand
  6. Sep 9, 2016
    10
    An absolute masterpiece that almost never lets up in intensity and heaviness. There's an incredible flow to this album that's only slightly tripped up by the singles. Not enough to sour anyone's opinion, but just noticeable enough to make them feel almost like songs from a different album.

    The majority of the album is blistering, energetic metal with a sense of craziness that makes it
    An absolute masterpiece that almost never lets up in intensity and heaviness. There's an incredible flow to this album that's only slightly tripped up by the singles. Not enough to sour anyone's opinion, but just noticeable enough to make them feel almost like songs from a different album.

    The majority of the album is blistering, energetic metal with a sense of craziness that makes it an absolute blast to mosh to. The punk approach to their political lyrics is able to add that extra oomph in it's punch and energy. There's also a refreshing sense of humor that goes along with the seriousness to keep the crazy fun element in tact.

    The band slows things down near the end from the constant barrage of excellent metal in favor of two slower, more melodic and deep tracks, "Aerials" and the title track itself. Toxicity fits in nicely, but Aerials is not the album's strongest moment. The hidden bonus track "Arto," System of Down's adaption of an Armenian hymn keeps things from going out on a low note.

    While disappointing compared to the rest of the tracks, Aerials is by no means a bad song. In fact it's excellent. Just a little at odds with all the rest that Toxicity has to offer. I'm not going to let a slight hiccup in the flow detract from the album's score.

    Toxicity is a masterpiece. A near-flawless work that even with a few faults manages to tower above so many other albums, not just in this genre, but in music as a whole. System of a Down did not disappoint in their second album. They showed real staying power and proved to be a band that stuck in people's minds. Just look at how successful Chop Suey! was/is. It's the song that actually got me into the band all those years ago. All I can say is if you think that song is good, wait until you hear the rest of the album. You may even find they top it. Toxicity is nothing less than a must listen to.
    Expand
  7. Jun 5, 2016
    10
    I love this album! This represents real thrash metal. Every song is the best!. Their music is really tense and well made by the band. I wouldn't say this album is perfect because no album is perfect. This is just terrific!
  8. Dec 19, 2015
    9
    System of a Down is one of those bands whose style appeals to me in multiple ways. This means that a large amount of their songs, I will enjoy and probably have somewhere on my playlist. However, this is not my favorite System of a Down album, but they did do a great job on this album. The main problem is Arto, which I didn't enjoy. But other than that, the album was stellar.
  9. Nov 5, 2015
    10
    This album is perfect through and through, and is the band's finest work. The singles, Chop Suey, Toxicity, and Aerials are all masterpieces, with all them being well instrumented. The best song, in my opinion is Forest. This track is also the second longest, and is my favorite S.O.A.D. track. The vocals were beautifully delivered by Tankian, with Malakian providing beautiful backgroundThis album is perfect through and through, and is the band's finest work. The singles, Chop Suey, Toxicity, and Aerials are all masterpieces, with all them being well instrumented. The best song, in my opinion is Forest. This track is also the second longest, and is my favorite S.O.A.D. track. The vocals were beautifully delivered by Tankian, with Malakian providing beautiful background vocals. I recommend it to many fans of metal, and is one of my favorite albums ever. Expand
  10. Jul 12, 2015
    8
    I liked the album a lot. In fact, it's one of the best heavy metal albums I have heard. Their style is very original, much better than other metal bands out there like Slipknot, Avenged Sevenfold, etc. However, I felt that some songs from "Steal This Album!" (which is my favourite SOAD album) should have been included over here, like Nüguns, Mr Jack, Boom!, and a few others. Some of theI liked the album a lot. In fact, it's one of the best heavy metal albums I have heard. Their style is very original, much better than other metal bands out there like Slipknot, Avenged Sevenfold, etc. However, I felt that some songs from "Steal This Album!" (which is my favourite SOAD album) should have been included over here, like Nüguns, Mr Jack, Boom!, and a few others. Some of the lyrics in this album didn't make sense, and seemed random. Clearly, System of A Down's forte is instrumentation, and not lyrics. However, I still loved the album.

    Best Song: ATWA (This should have been released as a single)
    Worst song: Jet Pilot (Plain bad)
    Expand
  11. Feb 4, 2015
    10
    An awesome album coming from a guy who isn't into Alternative Metal. This album has 14 awesome and catchy songs which can get stuck in your head for awhile, this album has some of the bands best songs such as Chop Suey!, Toxicity, and Prison Song. Thanks to this band I am now officially in love with System of a Down so if you like Alternative Metal then I recommend this album big time.
  12. Oct 24, 2014
    8
    This album contains some of SoaD's best work. It's stuffed to the brim with sarcasm, satire, humour and over the top vocal performances. Yet, in equal parts, the album contains some great song writing, very unique and aggressive instrumentation, raw and borderline operatic vocals and some very satisfying and genre defining alt. metal tracks. The album's biggest faults come from it'sThis album contains some of SoaD's best work. It's stuffed to the brim with sarcasm, satire, humour and over the top vocal performances. Yet, in equal parts, the album contains some great song writing, very unique and aggressive instrumentation, raw and borderline operatic vocals and some very satisfying and genre defining alt. metal tracks. The album's biggest faults come from it's constant, unrelenting aggression that becomes repetitive and at times dull, along with the way songs crash into one another without any warning (and not in a good way). Overall, this is a very solid alt. metal album. Expand
  13. Oct 23, 2014
    10
    Incredible!, One of the best albums ever i love it!, the best songs are "Chop Suey!", "Toxicity" And "Prison Song", Extremely awesome!!!!!!!! I Love System Of A Down
  14. Dec 12, 2013
    10
    this is my favorite album, simply the best
    System of a Down is very amazing
    I know this album backwards and not ing me this strange work
    **** the system
  15. Nov 27, 2013
    9
    Their easiest album to get into to. It's not different enough to scare people away, and it's not simplistic enough to blend in with the rest. This album holds some of my favorite songs by them like, "Prison Song", "X", "Chop Suey!", to name a few. The best on the album in my opinion are Aerials, and X. The haunting and well written melody of Aerials, mixed with the meaningful lyricsTheir easiest album to get into to. It's not different enough to scare people away, and it's not simplistic enough to blend in with the rest. This album holds some of my favorite songs by them like, "Prison Song", "X", "Chop Suey!", to name a few. The best on the album in my opinion are Aerials, and X. The haunting and well written melody of Aerials, mixed with the meaningful lyrics make one of the best rock tracks of the decade, while the fast paced, and hard hitting X is one of the heaviest on the album. If you haven't heard the album yet, you're missing out on something. Expand
  16. Jul 14, 2013
    10
    The best album of all times, just amazing...different from anything I've heard before...deep, melodic and epic piece of artwork...no one will ever come close to this perfection, even SOAD
  17. Mar 11, 2013
    9
    Note to readers System of a Down's first album is by far my favorite album by them, so these other albums are great but if I say there the best band ever but give their other cds 8s or 7s now you know. Any way this album provides many great songs in sound and meaning. Though some songs get older than others, this cd should be pleasing to many audiences.
  18. Dec 22, 2012
    9
    This album is crazy. Chop Suey! (regardless if anyone hates it) is probably the best song ever. Aerials is amazing as well. gReat job.
  19. Nov 23, 2012
    10
    Toxicity is undoubtedly the best album of the 2000s. It consosts of three amazing tracks (Aerials, Chop Suey! and Toxicity) along with several other great pieces that I would gladly listen to. The melodies are awe-spiring as I can't help but get addicted to them with multiple goose gumps in almost every song. Subjective? Maybe. But no one can argue that System of a Down have delivered theToxicity is undoubtedly the best album of the 2000s. It consosts of three amazing tracks (Aerials, Chop Suey! and Toxicity) along with several other great pieces that I would gladly listen to. The melodies are awe-spiring as I can't help but get addicted to them with multiple goose gumps in almost every song. Subjective? Maybe. But no one can argue that System of a Down have delivered the most innovative and artisticly well-crafted album of their genre (and not only) since the new millenium. Anyone can listen to these songs having the same great feeling eleven years later after its release. We can't tell that about those nowadays with the quality of the music industry quite low right now. Expand
  20. Jul 4, 2012
    10
    every song have single potential and with a classic include in the album like chop suey i love all the minutes hearing it. its one of the best rock albums of recent memory
  21. Apr 26, 2012
    9
    Aww yeah love SOAD! They are such an amazing band!!! Every song is good!! Metal all the way! Woo Hoo!! Serj and Daron collaborate very nicely. Beautiful ending "Aerials"
  22. Apr 21, 2012
    10
    One of the best metal albums of the 21st century. System of a Down is the most melodically-sound metal band on the planet and they manage to create great songs without ever sounding repetitive. Anyone who says otherwise is either a) a hipster/douchebag or b) an idiot.
  23. Mar 5, 2012
    10
    This is system of a downs worst album but it is still one of those albums where you can enjoy every track and can't resist the urge to listen to it again.
  24. Feb 13, 2012
    8
    A really solid, rockin' metal album. Almost every single song is a good one. Toxicity could quite possibly be one of the greatest metal songs ever written. Great, great album.
  25. Nov 29, 2011
    9
    I think it was a great album. System has really re-invented theirselves with this album and it worked out for the better. This is a must listen to for any fan of metal.
  26. Nov 24, 2011
    9
    Toxicity official establishes System as one of the best metal bands out today. I liked nearly every track off the album and it is easily their best album.
  27. Sep 10, 2011
    8
    I love this album. It's most certainly System of a Down at their very, very best...and very, very craziest. Some of this is actually funny, but I think it's intended that way.
  28. Aug 3, 2011
    9
    i like every song in this album they are all crazy and experimental. but you still get that nu-metal feeling sometimes .but i am a bit disappointed WHY ISNT THIS ALBUM A MUCH LONGER. i mean its soo short
  29. Jul 28, 2011
    10
    great album i especially liked aeriels, toxicity, and chop suey but i think that this is SOADs best album. BTW this album deserves way more than a **** 7.3!!!!
  30. Jun 23, 2011
    10
    Absolutely brilliant metal record. A must. A perfect mix of amazing riffs, good rhythms and expressive feelings, especially with songs like Chop Suey, Toxicity or the sweet closing title Aerials .
  31. Jun 5, 2011
    10
    I've never hated a single song by System really.
    This is one of their greatest albums in my opinion.

    And Chop Suey has mixed views on what the lyrics mean.
    One being it's about the "Angels" being the "Good" people who look away from those whose lives have been destroyed.
    The other being about Jesus.
  32. Jan 13, 2011
    10
    Every song on the album sounds great to my ears and nobody else sounds close to their greatness of alternative metal and great vocals by the two singers.
  33. Dec 30, 2010
    10
    I was rather late to the System of a Down party, only discovering them a few years ago and I loved this album, this is a great album and I strongly recommend this to metal-heads and others alike.
  34. AlonsoC
    Jun 26, 2009
    10
    Toxicity and Mezmerize are their best albums, Toxicity was their first great hit, they just made a great work on it, with Toxicity, Aerials, Chop Suey!, the 3 singles, the Cd becomes one of the greatest metal albums for me.
  35. jims
    Jul 21, 2008
    10
    I love this cd it is perfect and could be SOAD's best album i'd pay $100 for it i think the best song is Chop Suey! (which is going to be in Rock Band 2!) if you don't own it you need to buy this!
  36. JoelC
    Oct 31, 2007
    10
    This album gets 10 on Chop Suey and Forest alone, no joke. Add in 12 bonus tracks that are nearly equally as good and voila.
  37. JiriV.
    Oct 25, 2007
    10
    The essential album by SOAD. One of best albums of this century so far regardless the musical style. The mirror facing our era. Hard, funny, creative, melodical.
  38. DeclanA.
    Oct 8, 2007
    10
    This has to be one of my favourite albums of all time. It's exhilarating from start to finish, and Serj's voice is amazing. You can listen to it again and again and get the same rush you did first time listening to it. Out of this world
  39. JoshuaS.
    Sep 21, 2007
    10
    The guy who wrote the article for Uncut: Just shut up, just fucking shut up! it's quite clear some of the reviewers don't like metal bands from the new millennium at all so they might as well not bother reviewing if they already have a pessimistic preconception
  40. Ron
    Aug 17, 2007
    9
    A step down from the debut, while brilliant nonetheless. The hits were great (Toxicity, Aerials), and it had a few more gems (Deer Dance, Forest, Prison Song), but the other half, especially the first few tracks are a disappointment. The aforementioned strong points pull it up to a 9. And FYI, this isn't the "debut", Mithyus. 2nd Best System CD.
  41. FrankH.
    May 28, 2007
    10
    This band rocks my sox and floats my boat. I can Play the whole album on my Fender Strat 100th Anniversary.
  42. Mithyus
    Apr 16, 2007
    10
    As a debut, Toxicity transmitted System of a Down perfectly; powerful, moving, and deep. This is definitely not a band for everyone, but the ones who let the sound take over won't ever let go of it. Chop Suey!, ATWA, Toxicity and Aerials shine here.
  43. MoritzB.
    Apr 6, 2007
    10
    GREAT ALBUM! i love it, best album ever heard! better than mezmerize, i think mezmerize is designed for mainstream, but toxicity is SOAD itself!
  44. TaylorK
    Mar 20, 2007
    10
    this song is freaking awesome! SOAD is the best band ever! keep rockin' out yall!
  45. jameso
    Feb 9, 2007
    10
    amazing record. from "prison song" to "aerials" SOAD takes you for a hell of a ride. if there's a top 5 albums of this century so far, this is easily in the top 5
  46. JonD
    Nov 8, 2006
    10
    Pefect, the best System album out. This cd flows brilliantly, the melodic songs is their best work the punk songs are real hardcore punk with good lyrics. and the hard stuff is as fast and hard as you can ask for... at least for me.
  47. JasonB
    Sep 29, 2006
    10
    This is the best album ever to grace the music industry. Serj can do it all; screaming, normal singing, and jumping an octave in just a couple of notes. I can't think of any more talented singers. They're able to pull off insane time changes and sound great doing it. The album flows excellently; nearly perfect from beginning to end, it never sounds repetitive, old, stale, This is the best album ever to grace the music industry. Serj can do it all; screaming, normal singing, and jumping an octave in just a couple of notes. I can't think of any more talented singers. They're able to pull off insane time changes and sound great doing it. The album flows excellently; nearly perfect from beginning to end, it never sounds repetitive, old, stale, boring, or bad. Every song on the album has a unique feel and a unique sound, and it's impossible to pick my favorite songs. Deer Dance, Chop Suey!, Forest, Science, Toxicity, and the haunting but brilliant Aerials are the best from this album. Overall, this is a brilliant masterpiece of an album that has few, if any, faults. Expand
  48. Myles#13
    Sep 6, 2006
    10
    This is the album that first brought me to the band... Toxicity is one of the best metal albums ever created. SOAD has truly created their own energetic, phenomenal sound that sadly does not get enough airplay. Best album to listen to when driving... EVER! Fav songs are 'Chop Suey', 'Toxicity' and 'Aerials' although I LOVE the entire album!
  49. JacobS
    Aug 15, 2006
    10
    Thier greatest album to date! Haunting melodies, very political lyrics that you normally doesn't see in this genre, and Serj's voice is the most amazing on the planet! 10/10
  50. EleanorD
    Apr 19, 2006
    9
    Although it's not their best piece of work, haunting melodies, socially aware/"quacky" lyrics, and crushing riffs make this album absolutely incredable. Good work, mad professors!
  51. MattS
    Apr 3, 2006
    10
    There best album! Its fast paced! Amazing! Stylish! And funny too! Any metal fan would agree it's amazing!! I wouldn't class it as "nu-metal" though. Fuck that uncut guy he has no sese! Anyway, great album! Soil, P.L.U.C.K, peephole and suite-pee = amazig,
  52. ZyXom
    Mar 4, 2006
    10
    I LOVE this CD! So good, and so thinkable (does it exist? lol)! Chup Suey's my favorite, and I CANT understand how u can give 30/100 to this CD. It maybe the best ever from Soad. Well, for now, its my favorite!
  53. TomR
    Feb 19, 2006
    10
    Anyone with any appreciation of good metal will agree... this is one of the best metal albums ever... I don't know what that "Uncut" journalist was listening to but it surely wasn't this... his ears seem to deceive him.
  54. EinoillakylL
    Jan 14, 2006
    10
    Their greatest album.
  55. eatmenow
    Jan 12, 2006
    10
    not enouf reviews to give it justice aerials toxicity chop suey prison song needles deer dance bounce and all the others is stunning there arnt enough reviews from critics above to do justice to this masterpiece systems best work to date
  56. JohnL
    Dec 23, 2005
    10
    Two words 'get it'. The highlights are Chop suey!, forest, aerials and prison song. It's also got a deeper meaning than a rock CD. Great album.
  57. stevenn
    Dec 16, 2005
    10
    My 2nd SOAD album and by far the best, it delivers some of the greatest songs uttered from the group inculding ATWA, Aerials, and Chop Suey!
  58. declanm
    Dec 7, 2005
    10
    the album is totally superb never to be beaten by system or any other band for that matter
  59. JimBobJ
    Dec 4, 2005
    8
    I like it. Chop Suey, is amazing.
  60. Rambo
    Nov 17, 2005
    10
    non stop quality album from the most amazing and original band out there, do yourself a favour and get this!
  61. macs
    Nov 7, 2005
    9
    First SOAD album bought. has some of their best songs on it.
  62. spongeee
    Oct 31, 2005
    10
    best!!!
  63. karoa
    Oct 30, 2005
    10
    this is the best song i ever heard! i like almost all the songs cuz its better than mezmerize
  64. NickP
    Oct 12, 2005
    10
    It makes me mad how stupid critics are, Toxicity is definitely System's best album. They seem to like each cd better as it becomes more pop.
  65. BillyR
    Oct 12, 2005
    10
    Incredible album. From start to end!!!!
  66. IanM.
    Sep 9, 2005
    9
    Wow... this is an awesome album. Seamlessly combining heavy metal with slight elements of punk and rap (minus the suck factor), they've created a masterpiece. Leading off with the insane "Prison Song", this album keeps you riveted until the final song (the suprisingly calm, bu still awesome, "Aerials"). This album (especially on hit single "Chop Suey!" and the title track) has some Wow... this is an awesome album. Seamlessly combining heavy metal with slight elements of punk and rap (minus the suck factor), they've created a masterpiece. Leading off with the insane "Prison Song", this album keeps you riveted until the final song (the suprisingly calm, bu still awesome, "Aerials"). This album (especially on hit single "Chop Suey!" and the title track) has some awesomely intense moments, and while it may not be as heavy as other metal albums, it still rocks out loud. Only thing keeping this away from a 10 is how it kinda drags in some places. Great job, SOAD. Expand
  67. Addison05
    Aug 24, 2005
    10
    This is the only band i lisen to and the only one i will a true FAN here. There concert here in Tx on the 11th was the best I have seen from them yet and iI hope to see them agien real soon keep Rockin SOAD
  68. AnaitaD
    Jul 29, 2005
    10
    just FABULOUS
  69. MetalLord
    Jul 24, 2005
    10
    System hit one of the greater spots with their self-titled album in the 90s which was one of my favorites of that decade but now System of A down have gone one better and released one of the best albums of all time.Toxicity is a close match to Metallica's Master of puppets and Slayer's Reign in blood but this band combines heavy riffs with smooth melodies to produce something System hit one of the greater spots with their self-titled album in the 90s which was one of my favorites of that decade but now System of A down have gone one better and released one of the best albums of all time.Toxicity is a close match to Metallica's Master of puppets and Slayer's Reign in blood but this band combines heavy riffs with smooth melodies to produce something far greater.What seperates this album from the rest of the 21st century is the use of political issues imbedded in the lyrics. The Government does not need to debate now that System have covered many topics.This album saw the releases of "Aerials" and "Chopsuey" on public radio and skyrocketed up the charts. Other songs like Bounce are Bounce are great suggesting that Serj has access to a pogostick. The album kicksoff in one of the best fashions with Prison Song in first and finishes with the brilliant "Aerials". System also use a few shorter songs to fill the space the repetition left. Overall the best album of this decade so far and it will be heard for many more years to come. Expand
  70. ashleyl
    Jun 22, 2005
    10
    Its the best album EVER!!!!
  71. RockMan
    Jun 15, 2005
    10
    If they let me choose my own rating i would give the band and the album an infinate amount of numbers like a 1,000,000,000,000,.........This is the best kick ass rock band and album of all time.If you don't love or even like this band you are the most retarded person on this universe.System of a down RULES!
  72. MC
    Jun 1, 2005
    10
    Best album I ever bought. Great from beginning to end.
  73. rockalternative
    Apr 19, 2005
    10
    Perfect Cd All The Time!
  74. carinb
    Apr 11, 2005
    10
    this album fuckin kicked ass! i dunno what the other guys thinkin but he should be shot. any1 who puts down soad is just plain retarded. no1 better than soad. love em to death. oh- and im sorry if any of that sounded "childish"
  75. iabr
    Mar 30, 2005
    10
    incredible album raising many...interesting topics
  76. ToryS
    Mar 12, 2005
    9
    ...Great!...
  77. ClareN
    Feb 21, 2005
    10
    i love this album i've had it since it came out and will never put it away
  78. nate
    Jan 30, 2005
    10
    at least some of THESE peeps have taste unlike the guys and gals reviewing limp bizkit (that pissed me and my friend jake off).system of a down reigns as the kings of rock as we speak and i cant wait for the new cd.soad kicks all kinds of ass and so does limp bizkit!!
  79. ovieo
    Jan 20, 2005
    10
    the best album ever made by anyone anytime .period
  80. MichaelS
    Jan 16, 2005
    10
    Exellent album.
  81. DumDum
    Jan 10, 2005
    10
    Best Album Ever Made!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  82. Dylan
    Jan 1, 2005
    10
    i can't quite fathom the opposition. this is everything that is great in metal. metal is all about distinct change, otherwise it would be boring and repetitive. i love the change. and the lyrics are great, metaphorical, symbolical. the best thing about this cd is that it has the catchiness to be great for first time listeners and the depth to be interesting again and again.
  83. danielm
    Dec 21, 2004
    10
    excellent choice of songs
  84. MikeM
    Dec 18, 2004
    9
    Could not dissagree more with Uncut's review that Toxcity is "Toxicity is virtually unlistenable". It is the exact opposite. Once you throw it in your CD player the passion of Serj's voice inspires you while he harmonizes with Shavo (a big change from their debute) while the hard riffs and drum beats make you want to jump off the walls and throw your lamp across the room. System Could not dissagree more with Uncut's review that Toxcity is "Toxicity is virtually unlistenable". It is the exact opposite. Once you throw it in your CD player the passion of Serj's voice inspires you while he harmonizes with Shavo (a big change from their debute) while the hard riffs and drum beats make you want to jump off the walls and throw your lamp across the room. System is metal, System is punk, and when they mix it up with that dab of middle eastern sitar, System rocks the listener's ears hard. You can listen to this CD the entire way through without skipping a track. It is very well produced and has great lyrics too. Expand
  85. EvanK
    Oct 9, 2004
    10
    This album is the best System of a down has ever put forth, Forest is my favorite, but Toxicity, Arials, and Chopsuey are up there too.
  86. IAMMADONTHISBAND!!AaronAllen
    Oct 1, 2004
    10
    this is absolutely brilliant! i picked up this album just for 'Aeriels' but got totally surprised by how great all of the other songs are! 'prison song' 'needles' and 'ATWA' are amazing but my fave is the unmissable 'Forest'. S.O.A.D i salute u
  87. LukeB
    Aug 31, 2004
    10
    this is one song you never get tired of hearing it over and over
  88. DanielM
    Aug 30, 2004
    9
    I picked this album up about a week after it's release, all because of only listening to "Chop Suey" once, and after I popped it into my CD player, it didn't leave for weeks, this album can be summed up in one word, Beutiful.
  89. NathanS
    Aug 27, 2004
    10
    Toxicity best song everr!
  90. JohnR
    Aug 24, 2004
    9
    This is a really good album, but I didn't quite follow what they were talking about in that song 'Jet Pilot' I like nearly every song on here but they could be a little more direct with some of their messages. -Peace/Rock Out!
  91. TomM
    Jul 26, 2004
    10
    This album kicks ass!!! Brilliant acoustics, transitions, and rhythms track after track.
  92. AndrewM.
    Jul 13, 2004
    10
    My favorite bands are probably Radiohead and Modest Mouse, but System of a Down is really something different. I really really like this cd. It is very chaotic and unrestrained by boundaries that hold other albums (such as following a predictable music pattern)
  93. BrettC
    May 27, 2004
    10
    this album is nothin but head banging awesomeness
  94. allieB
    May 24, 2004
    10
    umm i'm not quite sure wat's wrong with the people at "Uncut" but unless you're really close minded and have no general taste in music SOAD kicks ass. and so does this album. enough said.
  95. AndrewF
    Apr 18, 2004
    10
    A piece of musical brilliance. 'Toxicity' is a wonderful piece of work, and manages to combine poignant political messages with dadaist rants. The quick changes in tempo and dynamics suggest schizophrenia, but the album comes together through it's message of the increasingly mechanized world we live in. The album starts with a bang with the hard-hitting "Prison Song" A piece of musical brilliance. 'Toxicity' is a wonderful piece of work, and manages to combine poignant political messages with dadaist rants. The quick changes in tempo and dynamics suggest schizophrenia, but the album comes together through it's message of the increasingly mechanized world we live in. The album starts with a bang with the hard-hitting "Prison Song" that's sure to get any alternative club going on. The short pieces are widely misunderstood- to many, as "Bounce" seems to be utterly pointless. In a sense, that is the intent- System of a Down has always had Dadaist tendanices (Dada is a art and literary form that tries to be as out-there as possible; the Dadaists see the world as going nowhere, and through their 'meaningless' art are actually commenting on the nihilistic attitudes of culture and society), and "Bounce" hits the point very well- so Serj has a pogo stick eh? Every song is a keeper, and none should be skipped to get the full meaning of the album. Ignore the critics. I always find music critics to be useless and quite brain-dead any way. They tend to rate on how an album SHOULD be, not what it IS; they enjoy the safe side of music, and are sure to condemn any artist that even remotely uses shock tactics (i.e. Marilyn Manson, who is actually one of the best lyricists of all time, surpassing many of the Grammy winners of past years) to get their message, no matter how true, how fresh, how brilliant, across. 'Toxicity' is f***ing brilliance. Expand
  96. rianr
    Apr 17, 2004
    10
    it is great and has alot of great sounding songs that are actually worth listening to
  97. Thedevilissolovely
    Feb 13, 2004
    10
    Dave E! please understand that system of a down are not childish but very political. they are also one hell of a band SOAD RULE
  98. JimmyW
    Oct 20, 2003
    10
    all of the songs are freaking sweet except for areials
  99. MattiasL
    Oct 6, 2003
    10
    System Of A Down rules this unholy world!!
Metascore
73

Generally favorable reviews - based on 9 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 9
  2. Negative: 1 out of 9
  1. When System's at their best, the Los Angeles four-piece evokes most vividly punk politicos the Dead Kennedys.... Yet the band sputters out when the lyrics are awash in vagueness.
  2. Uncut
    30
    Toxicity is virtually unlistenable: thrash metal splintered into a million pieces by unnecessary time changes, topped off with excruciatingly theatrical vocals. [Dec 2001, p.118]
  3. Cast in layers upon layers of aural intricacy, Toxicity charters new frontiers, yet it’s still grinding rock at its most deafening.