Toxicity Image
Metascore
73

Generally favorable reviews - based on 9 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 373 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: This is the alternative metal band's follow-up to their hit 1998 self-titled debut. Rick Rubin produced the 14-track effort.

Top Track

Chop Suey!
Wake up (wake up) Grab a brush and put a little make-up Hide the scars to fade away the shake-up (hide the scars to fade away the...) Why'd you leave... See the rest of the song lyrics
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 9
  2. Negative: 1 out of 9
  1. Where the debut sometimes resembled a psycho-ward jam session, System serve up some surprising melodies on "Chop Suey!" "Forest" and the haunting "Aerials."
  2. Alternative Press
    90
    The fast parts are faster, the hard parts are harder, and the melodic sections are more memorable. [Oct 2001, p.102]
  3. Cast in layers upon layers of aural intricacy, Toxicity charters new frontiers, yet it’s still grinding rock at its most deafening.
  4. Revolver
    70
    45 minutes of jagged, uneven music that includes sparks of urgent genius, and perhaps five or six seconds that border on legitimate transcendence. [Nov/Dec 2001, p.117]
  5. System of a Down's sophomore album thrives on this sort of urgency, the adrenal rush that insists there's no time for ambiguity.
  6. They have a sense of dynamics, tempering their heaviness with unexpected touches of acoustic folksiness and prog-rock flourishes.
  7. Uncut
    30
    Toxicity is virtually unlistenable: thrash metal splintered into a million pieces by unnecessary time changes, topped off with excruciatingly theatrical vocals. [Dec 2001, p.118]

See all 9 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 3 out of 160
  1. PaulH.
    Feb 27, 2002
    10
    Awsome. Truely awsome. If "Bounce" doesn't get everyone at your local rock club onto the dancefloor and the DJ pogo-ing along aswell Awsome. Truely awsome. If "Bounce" doesn't get everyone at your local rock club onto the dancefloor and the DJ pogo-ing along aswell then I'll eat my copy of the album. With "Chop Suey!" and "Toxicity" they've surpassed the magnificence of Sugar. If the professional reviewers are so out of touch with what people actually want to listen to then I'm going to apply for a job! First class. Expand
  2. Jan 13, 2011
    10
    Every song on the album sounds great to my ears and nobody else sounds close to their greatness of alternative metal and great vocals by theEvery song on the album sounds great to my ears and nobody else sounds close to their greatness of alternative metal and great vocals by the two singers. Collapse
  3. Ashm
    Mar 20, 2003
    10
    This cd kicks huge ass and if u dont like it yer retarded
  4. eatmenow
    Jan 12, 2006
    10
    not enouf reviews to give it justice aerials toxicity chop suey prison song needles deer dance bounce and all the others is stunning there not enouf reviews to give it justice aerials toxicity chop suey prison song needles deer dance bounce and all the others is stunning there arnt enough reviews from critics above to do justice to this masterpiece systems best work to date Expand
  5. Dec 30, 2010
    10
    I was rather late to the System of a Down party, only discovering them a few years ago and I loved this album, this is a great album and II was rather late to the System of a Down party, only discovering them a few years ago and I loved this album, this is a great album and I strongly recommend this to metal-heads and others alike. Expand
  6. Jun 4, 2017
    9
    They're best album next to "Mezmerize"! Epic from start to finish! "Prison Song", "Chop Suey", "Bounce", "Forest", "ATWA", "Toxicity" andThey're best album next to "Mezmerize"! Epic from start to finish! "Prison Song", "Chop Suey", "Bounce", "Forest", "ATWA", "Toxicity" and "Aerials" are my favourite songs! But of course all of the songs are perfect in so many ways, but coming from SOAD that's not surprising! Expand
  7. VakilyZ
    Jul 27, 2004
    0
    This album blows!! Anyone who takes this band seriously should be shot and flayed!! Rage Against the Machine will always be better than this crap!!

See all 160 User Reviews