Traffic And Weather

  • Record Label: Virgin
  • Release Date: Apr 3, 2007
User Score
8.1

Universal acclaim- based on 30 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 30
  2. Negative: 2 out of 30

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jason
    Apr 8, 2007
    8
    Stylus: *dialing Pitchfork: Hello...? Stylus: What score are you going to give the new Fountains of Wayne album? Pitchfork: Well the album did not have Thom Yorke singing, and Greenwood was nowhere to be found as well. So, we will give a slightly inferior album to there last a 3/10. Stylus: Yeah, I noticed the same defects in the album. This shit definetely sucks!
  2. JohnR
    Jul 6, 2007
    8
    How corny is '92 Subaru'? Barenaked Ladies heard it and said, "Wow, that's corny. Are they Canadian, too?" Hey, Fountains of Wayne, Ray Davies just called. He heard '92 Subaru' and says he wants his embarrassing '80s period back. Haha, seriously, '92 Subaru' aside, this is song-for-song every bit as satisfying as WIM. There's at least three How corny is '92 Subaru'? Barenaked Ladies heard it and said, "Wow, that's corny. Are they Canadian, too?" Hey, Fountains of Wayne, Ray Davies just called. He heard '92 Subaru' and says he wants his embarrassing '80s period back. Haha, seriously, '92 Subaru' aside, this is song-for-song every bit as satisfying as WIM. There's at least three masterpieces here ('T&W', 'New Routine', 'This Better Be Good'), and the rest is completely listenable and not completely disposable. 'Planet of Weed' is hilarious and kind of sweet -- I don't get the backlash against that song. And, OK, even '92 Subaru' scratches some dark, repressed .38-Special-adoring itch somewhere. Pitchfork hates pop music, that's all I can figure. Anyone who likes pop music will like this album, and like it repeatedly. Expand
  3. ChristopherG
    Apr 6, 2007
    9
    You knew that matching W.I.M. was gonna be tough, and while this doesn't, its still excellent. If a magazine doesn't appreciate this genre of music, is it really worth their or anyone's time to rip it? No time to be sour, gotta go bop to these great pop tunes. Thanks, lads.
  4. ChrisG
    Apr 9, 2007
    9
    The McCartney-esque bass on the title track is enough to push this to an eight. The harmonies and lyrics take it to nine. Fantastic song. Great album.
  5. ToddT.
    May 25, 2007
    9
    You can let the entire album play and nothing you hear will disappoint you.
  6. TomT
    May 3, 2007
    9
    Yeah, it does sound a bit the same as the old stuff, but it is old GREAT stuff!!!!
  7. RobYou
    May 6, 2007
    7
    Not their best, but still pretty strong. "Someone to Love" and "Strapped for Cash" are standouts. I would've given it an 8 if they'd left off "Planet of Weed". I really don't get what crawled up Stylus' and Pitchfork's butts...it's as if they announced around the office "Who hates Fountains of Wayne?", and assigned the review to the most vociferous respondent.
  8. MattD.
    Apr 11, 2007
    10
    Has times of Beatles-like excellence! But they are no Beatles clone: the 80s influences again help to spice up the music, and the ending alt-country song is good enough to not be an afterthought. The lyrics completely nail Generation X culture!
  9. ToddW
    Apr 19, 2007
    1
    After their first album the future looked promising for these guys. Unfortunately, they then decided to go the Coldplay and Killers route and try to make music for the masses, without realizing the sheep they were amusing wouldn't know the difference between a good song or a talented and visionary band and a bag of wool/shit. If you doubt, take a look at the total and complete After their first album the future looked promising for these guys. Unfortunately, they then decided to go the Coldplay and Killers route and try to make music for the masses, without realizing the sheep they were amusing wouldn't know the difference between a good song or a talented and visionary band and a bag of wool/shit. If you doubt, take a look at the total and complete garbage that passes for entertainment these days. American Idol? Please; it should be called American Idle. The scary thing is these guys would be superstars on that show. Expand
  10. RobertK
    Apr 29, 2007
    9
    FOW is absolutely the best at what they do! This is not their best album, but they have grown as a band....just listen to the title song for proof. The best songs on this album are very good indeed. Buy all of their albums...
  11. ColbyC
    Apr 4, 2007
    9
    Just as good as Welcome INterstate Managers. Fantastic Album, but Metacritic showed only the worst reviews, ingnoring the A given by the AV Club and many other sources.
  12. othos
    Apr 5, 2007
    5
    There may be no bigger FOW fan than I, but I must say that TRAFFIC AND WEATHER disappoints. Definitely, the weakest of their four efforts (not counting the B-sides compilation OUT OF STATE PLATES), TAW is lyrically insipid at points (the title cut is just stupid), and Schlesinger's production is too busy and synthesizer-happy. With the exception of "Strapped for Cash," "Yolanda There may be no bigger FOW fan than I, but I must say that TRAFFIC AND WEATHER disappoints. Definitely, the weakest of their four efforts (not counting the B-sides compilation OUT OF STATE PLATES), TAW is lyrically insipid at points (the title cut is just stupid), and Schlesinger's production is too busy and synthesizer-happy. With the exception of "Strapped for Cash," "Yolanda Hayes" and '92 Subaru," the compositions are subpar as well, and Collingswood's insistence on putting in the obligatory faux country song is getting a bit tiresome. All in all, I expected more from a four-year hiatus. Note to FOW: There is a reason why most bands get someone else to produce them. It's called objectivity. Expand
  13. AnthonyM
    Apr 5, 2007
    9
    A most welcome return to form after the more laid back affair that was Welcome Interstate Managers. This album reminds me of why I liked these geeks in the first place...Like the best power pop, I can't shake some of these tunes from my mind...
  14. GeorgeG
    Apr 6, 2007
    10
    If you liked Interstate Mnagers, you'll love this one.
  15. AnnaH
    Apr 7, 2007
    7
    I liked this album much more than I thought I would - several delightful catchy pop songs make it a pleasure to listen to. Although I wouldn't rate it as highly as Welcome Interstate Managers, they've still got it!
  16. TedR.
    Jul 3, 2007
    9
    Great power pop....songs I can listen to over and over again.
  17. HeathC
    Mar 29, 2007
    0
    SHIT
  18. DavidO
    Apr 25, 2007
    9
    Fantastic pop songs that still manage to be unique and different from the majority of the crap on the radio. FOW are simply brilliant.
  19. ParcoM.
    Aug 25, 2007
    9
    Not the best FOW album ever, but very solid, very enjoyable, and sticks with you, the way true FOW music should.
Metascore
68

Generally favorable reviews - based on 28 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 28
  2. Negative: 4 out of 28
  1. 70
    On Traffic and Weather, their lyrical touch slips. [Apr 2007, p.114]
  2. Paste Magazine
    40
    The band simply reiterates earlier ideas less interestingly. [Apr 2007, p.54]
  3. Spin
    60
    It's like an alt-rock adaptation of a John Cheever anthology. [Apr 2007, p.87]