Tre! - Green Day
Metascore
64

Generally favorable reviews - based on 19 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 19
  2. Negative: 0 out of 19
  1. Dec 10, 2012
    70
    It's hookier and not as ponderous as ¡Uno! but not quite as breakneck as ¡Dos!.
  2. Dec 11, 2012
    50
    I wish I could close the book on ¡Uno!, ¡Dos!, and ¡Tré! with a more favorable assessment than a resounding, Eh, it was ok.
  3. Dec 6, 2012
    80
    ¡Tré! picks up where its predecessor, ¡Dos!, left off.
  4. 50
    Too often, ¡Tré! falls back on a formula--fast, box-ticking choruses fashioned from chords you can count on the fingers of one hand--that Green Day have pretty much stretched to breaking point.
  5. Dec 11, 2012
    58
    ¡Tre! succeeds most as an exercise in influence-dropping and self-recycling, with a glimmer of inspiration here and there.
  6. Feb 1, 2013
    40
    Tre! is more whimper than bang.
  7. Jan 2, 2013
    50
    A failed experiment then, all the more painful for the potential it showed.
  8. Dec 14, 2012
    60
    The music may be just as strong, tight, and impeccable--this is a band that's been going at it for more than a quarter of a century, after all--but there's a lightness missing here, a lack of passion.
  9. Jan 3, 2013
    60
    It's got some pretty good songs--but they never get better than pretty good.
  10. 83
    Green Day's third disc in three months lets their tightly wound hooks decompress, delivering stadium-worthy three-chord nods to various ghosts of rock past, from Otis Redding to Baba O'Riley.
  11. 60
    ¡Tré! feels scattershot and slapped together, making it difficult to enjoy on its own merits.
  12. 50
    It's a mixed bag that doesn't reach the lows of a forced, guest rap appearance, while containing some of the best songs the trilogy has to offer.
  13. Dec 11, 2012
    62
    It's more raw, pointed and hard-hitting than anything they've released in years, yet it's littered with head-scratching filler and awkward sonic diversions.
  14. Dec 21, 2012
    40
    ¡Tré! offers a few ballads, swelling string-laden anthems and even a six-minute medley à la American Idiot--styles that once represented a new aesthetic for the band but now sound forced and exhausted.
  15. Dec 10, 2012
    50
    On the whole, when not tedious or embarrassing, the remainder of Tre is simply not up to the task of proving why a third album in three months was necessary.
  16. Dec 12, 2012
    70
    Green Day still sounds best when it's confused, angry, and playing with abandon.
  17. Apr 22, 2014
    70
    In the end, iTRÉ! is unexpectedly the strongest record overall of the three. Although it has its own issues, these don't drag that much the whole affair down and there aren't any horrible missteps such as "Nightlife".
  18. This is Green Day doing what Green Day have always done.
  19. Jan 9, 2013
    80
    The final album in the set is the best of the bunch, [8 Dec 2012, p.50]
User Score
7.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 95 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 30
  2. Negative: 4 out of 30
  1. Dec 12, 2012
    9
    Being a fan of Green Day for a long time, I was exhilarated when I learned they would be coming out with, not one, but three new albums. Tre!Being a fan of Green Day for a long time, I was exhilarated when I learned they would be coming out with, not one, but three new albums. Tre! was instantly the one I was most excited for due to the descriptions Billie Joe gave. After hearing Uno! and Dos! my expectations were very high for Tre! and it did not disappoint. While I thought the first two albums were good, this one provides me with extensive replay value with every song. Tre! opens with the grandiose "Brutal Love," a sprawling ballad complete with piano and horn contributions, a la King for a Day. The albums does not turn back from there. There are no genre-bending experiments on Tre!, just tributes to many decades of music, as well as past Green Day efforts. "Drama Queen" delves into 50's do-wop and throwback for fans of Warning in "Sex, Drugs, and Violence," for example. While, yes, I agree that it is not Green Day's top material, Tre! salvages an otherwise slightly above average trilogy and, hell, still beats out most music today, warranting a 9/10. **** Kesha's album is rated higher than Tre! right now and anyone that knows real music will know that Tre! is still prime entertainment, even if it's not Green Day's greatest effort. That being said, it deserves to be mentioned as one of their better albums, in my humble opinion. Their ability to channel different eras of rock and still be able to make it their own is uncanny. Must listens: Brutal Love, X-Kid, Dirty Rotten Bastards Full Review »
  2. Dec 13, 2012
    9
    It's better then Dos!, Some song like Dirty Rotten Bastards, X-Kid and 99 Revolutions keep the original Green Day style, but other songs it'sIt's better then Dos!, Some song like Dirty Rotten Bastards, X-Kid and 99 Revolutions keep the original Green Day style, but other songs it's so disappointing....The trilogy it's not what I expected....Now we just wait for the next proposal of this band in the future, and check this like a lesson to learn Full Review »
  3. Dec 16, 2012
    3
    Truly underwhelming. Three albums in three months got us the same old same old from the band. Truly nothing original, thought provoking,Truly underwhelming. Three albums in three months got us the same old same old from the band. Truly nothing original, thought provoking, energetic, or memorable from Tre! (or the collection as a whole to be quite honest). I don't think the band should pack up their two decade bag or anything, but maybe next time spend some time trying to craft a great album instead of three truly forgettable albums. Full Review »