Tre! - Green Day
Tre! Image
Metascore
64

Generally favorable reviews - based on 19 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 90 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The final album in the ¡Uno! ¡Dos! ¡Tré! trilogy for the punk rock band.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 19
  2. Negative: 0 out of 19
  1. 83
    Green Day's third disc in three months lets their tightly wound hooks decompress, delivering stadium-worthy three-chord nods to various ghosts of rock past, from Otis Redding to Baba O'Riley.
  2. Dec 6, 2012
    80
    ¡Tré! picks up where its predecessor, ¡Dos!, left off.
  3. Dec 12, 2012
    70
    Green Day still sounds best when it's confused, angry, and playing with abandon.
  4. This is Green Day doing what Green Day have always done.
  5. Dec 11, 2012
    58
    ¡Tre! succeeds most as an exercise in influence-dropping and self-recycling, with a glimmer of inspiration here and there.
  6. Dec 11, 2012
    50
    I wish I could close the book on ¡Uno!, ¡Dos!, and ¡Tré! with a more favorable assessment than a resounding, Eh, it was ok.
  7. Dec 21, 2012
    40
    ¡Tré! offers a few ballads, swelling string-laden anthems and even a six-minute medley à la American Idiot--styles that once represented a new aesthetic for the band but now sound forced and exhausted.

See all 19 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 28
  2. Negative: 4 out of 28
  1. Dec 11, 2012
    10
    By far the best album off the trilogy. It even beats out 21st Century Breakdown. All the songs connect instantly, and there's no filler ANYWHERE on the album. There are some mad fills by Tre Cool, crazy bass solos by Dirnt (Cue the spectacular 7 minute long 'Dirty Rotten Bastards'), and some pretty badass guitar work from both Billie Joe and Jason White. Also, Armstrong's vocals never fail to impress. Even Mike Dirnt's! Yup, he has a 10 second lead vocal stint on 'Sex, Drugs and Violence.' This album is a complete package, with a political song that recalls their '04 and '05 albums, and the mellower opening and closing tracks of the album, both of which are driven by piano and violins. Best album I've heard in a long time.
    Tracks to listen to: Dirty Rotten Bastards; X-Kid; Sex, Drugs and Violence; Little Boy Named Train; Brutal Love.
    Expand
  2. Dec 17, 2012
    10
    One of Green day's greatest albums,all "Killer" and no "Filler its a must have by far the best of the trilogy.
    Green day have produced some
    of their finest songs ever with songs like "Brutal love" ,"X-Kid","Dirty rotten Bastards" and "99 revolutions"
    But saying that not one song stood out as a bad song all were great,overall its a far better album than "UNO" and "DOS" which were both solid albums.
    The best way to describe "TRE" is that it has songs which remind me of Dookie but it has the stadium rock feel at times of "American idiot" and "21st Century Breakdown" with the experimental side of "Nimrod" and "Warning"
    MUST BUY ALBUM OF THE YEAR.
    Expand
  3. Dec 12, 2012
    9
    Being a fan of Green Day for a long time, I was exhilarated when I learned they would be coming out with, not one, but three new albums. Tre! was instantly the one I was most excited for due to the descriptions Billie Joe gave. After hearing Uno! and Dos! my expectations were very high for Tre! and it did not disappoint. While I thought the first two albums were good, this one provides me with extensive replay value with every song. Tre! opens with the grandiose "Brutal Love," a sprawling ballad complete with piano and horn contributions, a la King for a Day. The albums does not turn back from there. There are no genre-bending experiments on Tre!, just tributes to many decades of music, as well as past Green Day efforts. "Drama Queen" delves into 50's do-wop and throwback for fans of Warning in "Sex, Drugs, and Violence," for example. While, yes, I agree that it is not Green Day's top material, Tre! salvages an otherwise slightly above average trilogy and, hell, still beats out most music today, warranting a 9/10. **** Kesha's album is rated higher than Tre! right now and anyone that knows real music will know that Tre! is still prime entertainment, even if it's not Green Day's greatest effort. That being said, it deserves to be mentioned as one of their better albums, in my humble opinion. Their ability to channel different eras of rock and still be able to make it their own is uncanny. Must listens: Brutal Love, X-Kid, Dirty Rotten Bastards Expand
  4. Jan 15, 2013
    7
    On ¡Tré!, the last album in the 2012 trilogy, Green Day further widens their palette while also being rather underwhelming at times. Here's the full-track-by-track review for further elaboration.
    Brutal Love: A truly great opener, slowly & beautifully building through a repetitive (in a good way) structure. With its strong emphasis on harmonies & addition of horns/piano & classic R&B influences, all culminating with power chords at the end, Brutal Love proves to be one of the most wonderfully ambitious moments of Green Day's entire career. A good song to show someone who claims they've stagnated stylistically. 8.5/10 - Missing You: Good riffs & melodies but the lyrics are pretty stupid, especially in the pre-chorus. It's basically a sadder & less cringe-worthy version of Weezer's Where's My Sex. 7/10 - 8th Avenue Serenade: Okay song but it's pretty much just filler. I'd skip it. Not very remarkable at all really. 6/10 - Drama Queen: A refreshingly stripped-down & cutesy acoustic ode from Billie Joe to what I'm guessing to be fathers his age dealing with their teenage daughters. There's a few awkward vaginal references ("she's old enough to bleed now") but they just increase the realism & sincerity of the situation being presented. 8/10 - X-Kid: A solid & impressive straightforward pop-rock song that I hope gets a lot of success when it's released as a single in February. The lyrics are a bit ambiguous but it feels more vague & personal than a complete phone-in. 7.5/10 - Sex, Drugs & Violence: A well-written self-ode to Billie Joe's hedonistic & rebellious youth with very infectious melodies. The emphasis on Mike's vocals, both backing & lead, was a nice touch too. 8/10 - A Little Boy Named Train: According to Billie Joe (from what I've read) this song is about a true story of a hermaphrodite who had their penis cut off by their parents in order to present the child as gender-neutral. Their name was also questionable, one of which "he" went by at some point was Train. As interesting as that song topic is however, you'd never guess this by looking at the lyrics here. I guess there's vague references to the story but it's mostly pretty bland. Not the worst song here lyrically but there was a ton of wasted potential, especially considering how twisted Billie Joe's mind has been lately in the lyric department. Kinda unremarkable musically too. 6.5/10 - Amanda: Solid & catchy simple pop-punk song despite some awkward rhymes in one verse. Lyrically well-done otherwise though, dealing with a dysfunctional relationship. 7.5/10 - Walk Away: A a rather generic & dull breakup-based song that kinda comes off as filler. 6.5/10 - Dirty Rotten Bastards: Quite possibly the best song on the entire trilogy. I kid you not. As great as some songs here were... WOW. This song is an epic 6-minute medley, much like that of the ones on American Idiot except with admittedly less depth in the lyrics. Whereas Jesus of Suburbia & Homecoming were further narrations of an ongoing story, Dirty Rotten Bastards is just plain FUN. It's a complete blast to listen to, from its made-to-sing-along-to-while-drunk-with-your-friends wordless intro to the breakneck punk jam in the middle, complete with an awesome bass solo, to the epic conclusion, all lyrically complimented with a certain energetic youthful attitude that Green Day hasn't always presented convincingly lately but is pulled off near-perfectly here. This is the song to show your cynical friend who thinks Green Day has "lost their edge" or something like that, and in my opinion is the best Green Day song of 2012. 9.5/10 - 99 Revolutions: While fun, catchy & well-executed musically, lyrically this is a phoned-in late-to-the-party Occupy Wall Street "anthem" that only evokes eye-rolling from me. To me Green Day made their only worthwhile political statements in American Idiot & 21st Century Breakdown. Still happy it's the end credits song for The Campaign though. 7/10 - The Forgotten: Each song in this trilogy of albums has had one especially infamous song; on Uno it was the dancey Kill the DJ & on Dos it was the hip hop-influenced Nightlife. This time around it's The Forgotten, a piano-driven ballad that was featured in Twilight Breaking Dawn Part 2, which needless to say had the punk purists freaking out. What they fail to realize however is that the Twilight soundtracks are consistently (at least to most of my gender that bothers to be open-minded enough) the sole good quality of an otherwise crappy franchise, and The Forgotten is no exception. It's an absolutely gorgeous song despite some vague lyrics, and further shows Green Day's potential for versatility. 8/10 - Overall, while ¡Tré! is a little less consistently good than ¡Uno! or ¡Dos!, and certainly contains more filler, the good traits far outweigh the bad ones, and lyrical themes feel more refreshingly personal than the other 2 albums. Score: 75/100
    Expand
  5. Jul 18, 2013
    6
    I'm sorry to say that these three albums are exactly what I feared they would be: 75% filler.
    It seems like they could have saved their
    fans a lot of time, anticipation and money by picking out the best 4 songs from each of them to make one good album instead of 3 mediocre albums.
    There are a few gems in there that are worth downloading but for the most part the songs all follow a simple generic formula that isn't really bad but gets very stale after you hear it 20+ times.
    The whole 3- album gimmick just seems like a really sly way of getting people to fork over more cash.
    My advice would be to listen to the albums online first. Pick your favourites and then download them individually. You'll end up with about 10-12 songs that are worth having and the rest of it will fade from your memory as quickly as it arrived
    Expand
  6. Dec 25, 2012
    5
    As you seen, it's the worst idea a group of musicians can have to make 3 album ins 6 months. Uno was a 5/10, Dos a 4/10 and Tre is a little bit better and gets a 5/10. '8th Avenue Serenade' and 'Drama Queen' are pretty nice and those two made me hope for something better than the two CDs before. After all, Tre! consists out ouf 12 songs without sense in their lyrics, that all sound the same. The same simple guitar riffs and the same stupid drum rhythm. Billie Joe Armstrong does some decent voice experiments that work and some lyrics like "Did you win or maybe did you lose? Now you're going to lick your wounds anyway" in Walk Away make you listen closer to the elswhere dull songs. So Tre! is a tiny step better than both other albums of the trilogy, but that doesn't really matter because it's also a disapointing release from a very talented band. Expand
  7. Jun 11, 2014
    1
    I think, prior to the formal review, I should give a bit of my background with Green Day. I'm only 16, so I'm not one of those die-hard Dookie fans, I tend to gravitate towards their newer albums (i.e American Idiot and 21st Century Breakdown). That being said, I can appreciate their older albums. I don't care for their first two albums, and honestly I don't really like Dookie, but I can at least appreciate it for the revolutionary album it is. Insomniac is an alright album in my opinion, and the same goes for Nimrod. Warning is, oddly enough, my favorite Green Day album, and American Idiot and 21st Century Breakdown are just fantastic albums, any way you look at them. So, we come to Uno!, Dos!, and Tre!, three of the worst albums I've ever heard in my life. All bands have their black sheep albums (RHCP has One Hot Minute, Smashing Pumpkins has Zeitgeist, Coldplay has Mylo Xyloto, etc), but these albums are really, really, really terrible, even compared to some of the greatest band's worst efforts. I'm sort of lumping these together (the words I say apply not only to Tre!, but too to Uno! and Dos!), because these albums honestly are not worth my time and effort to write three individual reviews. With Green Day's career as makers of epic, lengthy, thematic, overtly-conceptual rock operas seemingly over, they decided to venture back into the catchy, three minute (most not even), three power-chord punk song territory. However, punk honestly isn't the right word; pop-punk, would be. Now, some may cry Judas and assume that my negativity is entirely based upon this change towards pop, but that isn't the case. One of the only redeemable songs on this trilogy, "Kill the DJ", is honestly one of the most dance-y, poppy songs Green Day has ever made, and they nail it perfectly. However, and this is me being as honest as humanly possible, that is the only good song on these albums. Green Day's attempts at a return to punk form (songs like "Nuclear Family", "Let Yourself Go", "Makeout Party", "Wow! That's Loud", "Sex, Drugs & Violence", and "99 Revolutions") all seem trite, and fall way short of such classic punk rockers like "Burnout", and "Stuck With Me". Now, it may be wrong to compare new music to old music, but these albums were marketed as a return to their punk roots, at which they fail. Now, I mentioned Green Day treads new territory, too, with the poppy sound. They perfect this style ever so articulately on the aptly titled "Kill the DJ", a song which i can honestly say I love. However later attempts at this feel shoe-horned in, and rather sell-out-y. The most prominent example of this would be "Nightlife" on Dos!, a song which, without Armstrong's signature bratty whine, could be mistaken for a song not, in fact, by Green Day, even featuring several rapping versus from guest artist Lady Cobra. Another example of this would be "Makeout Party", also on Dos!. With lyrics like "It's a makeout party on another dimension", one could assume that: 1. Armstrong never passed 9th grade English and Grammar, and 2. Armstrong wants to be an angst-y teen again. Speaking of lyrics, one of the worst lyrics I've ever heard in my life appears on the Tre! song "Sex, Drugs & Violence", when Armstrong proclaims "Sex, drugs and violence/ English, math and science!", a lyric which makes no sense, given Armstrong only briefly mentions this comparison of these primitive human feelings and desires (sex, drugs, and violence), to these primitive topics of study (English, math, and science) once in the entire song, excluding the chorus. The main problem on these albums is, in fact, singer and guitarist (now a dignified rhythm guitarist with inclusion of long-time touring guitarist Jason White as lead guitarist on this trilogy). The lyrics are terrible, and the songs that are so clearly written by Armstrong (the generic, trite, three power-chord songs with little variation) are as terrible as the lyrics. The only highlights of the album are the other musicians, with drummer Tre Cool giving some stellar drum trackings as per usual, bassist Mike Dirnt providing some ear-worm inducing bass-hooks, and guitarist Jason White providing some solos never heard on Green Day albums before (obviously because Armstrong did not posses the talent). However, it's not fair to place the whole of the blame on Armstrong, as the one lyrics sung by Dirnt on lead ("I don't want to be an imbecile, but Jesus made me that way" on "Sex, Drugs & violence") is just as terrible as Armstrong's worst lyric. Even more so, how would these other, clearly superior, musicians, allow this trilogy to be released and tarnish their otherwise fluke-less career? After seeing Billie Joe's on-stage, sleeping-pill-induced freak-out from two years back, one could formulate a theory on just how stable Billie Joe may be behind the scenes. All this in mind, Uno!, Dos!, and Tre! by Green Day are some of the worst albums ever. However, I'll give it a 1/10, just for "Kill the DJ". Expand

See all 28 User Reviews