Tre! - Green Day
Tre! Image
Metascore
64

Generally favorable reviews - based on 19 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 86 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The final album in the ¡Uno! ¡Dos! ¡Tré! trilogy for the punk rock band.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 19
  2. Negative: 0 out of 19
  1. 83
    Green Day's third disc in three months lets their tightly wound hooks decompress, delivering stadium-worthy three-chord nods to various ghosts of rock past, from Otis Redding to Baba O'Riley.
  2. Dec 6, 2012
    80
    ¡Tré! picks up where its predecessor, ¡Dos!, left off.
  3. Dec 12, 2012
    70
    Green Day still sounds best when it's confused, angry, and playing with abandon.
  4. This is Green Day doing what Green Day have always done.
  5. Dec 11, 2012
    58
    ¡Tre! succeeds most as an exercise in influence-dropping and self-recycling, with a glimmer of inspiration here and there.
  6. Dec 11, 2012
    50
    I wish I could close the book on ¡Uno!, ¡Dos!, and ¡Tré! with a more favorable assessment than a resounding, Eh, it was ok.
  7. Dec 21, 2012
    40
    ¡Tré! offers a few ballads, swelling string-laden anthems and even a six-minute medley à la American Idiot--styles that once represented a new aesthetic for the band but now sound forced and exhausted.

See all 19 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 26
  2. Negative: 3 out of 26
  1. Dec 11, 2012
    10
    By far the best album off the trilogy. It even beats out 21st Century Breakdown. All the songs connect instantly, and there's no filler ANYWHERE on the album. There are some mad fills by Tre Cool, crazy bass solos by Dirnt (Cue the spectacular 7 minute long 'Dirty Rotten Bastards'), and some pretty badass guitar work from both Billie Joe and Jason White. Also, Armstrong's vocals never fail to impress. Even Mike Dirnt's! Yup, he has a 10 second lead vocal stint on 'Sex, Drugs and Violence.' This album is a complete package, with a political song that recalls their '04 and '05 albums, and the mellower opening and closing tracks of the album, both of which are driven by piano and violins. Best album I've heard in a long time.
    Tracks to listen to: Dirty Rotten Bastards; X-Kid; Sex, Drugs and Violence; Little Boy Named Train; Brutal Love.
    Collapse
  2. Dec 17, 2012
    10
    One of Green day's greatest albums,all "Killer" and no "Filler its a must have by far the best of the trilogy.
    Green day have produced some
    of their finest songs ever with songs like "Brutal love" ,"X-Kid","Dirty rotten Bastards" and "99 revolutions"
    But saying that not one song stood out as a bad song all were great,overall its a far better album than "UNO" and "DOS" which were both solid albums.
    The best way to describe "TRE" is that it has songs which remind me of Dookie but it has the stadium rock feel at times of "American idiot" and "21st Century Breakdown" with the experimental side of "Nimrod" and "Warning"
    MUST BUY ALBUM OF THE YEAR.
    Expand
  3. Dec 12, 2012
    9
    Being a fan of Green Day for a long time, I was exhilarated when I learned they would be coming out with, not one, but three new albums. Tre! was instantly the one I was most excited for due to the descriptions Billie Joe gave. After hearing Uno! and Dos! my expectations were very high for Tre! and it did not disappoint. While I thought the first two albums were good, this one provides me with extensive replay value with every song. Tre! opens with the grandiose "Brutal Love," a sprawling ballad complete with piano and horn contributions, a la King for a Day. The albums does not turn back from there. There are no genre-bending experiments on Tre!, just tributes to many decades of music, as well as past Green Day efforts. "Drama Queen" delves into 50's do-wop and throwback for fans of Warning in "Sex, Drugs, and Violence," for example. While, yes, I agree that it is not Green Day's top material, Tre! salvages an otherwise slightly above average trilogy and, hell, still beats out most music today, warranting a 9/10. **** Kesha's album is rated higher than Tre! right now and anyone that knows real music will know that Tre! is still prime entertainment, even if it's not Green Day's greatest effort. That being said, it deserves to be mentioned as one of their better albums, in my humble opinion. Their ability to channel different eras of rock and still be able to make it their own is uncanny. Must listens: Brutal Love, X-Kid, Dirty Rotten Bastards Expand
  4. Jan 15, 2013
    7
    On ¡Tré!, the last album in the 2012 trilogy, Green Day further widens their palette while also being rather underwhelming at times. Here's the full-track-by-track review for further elaboration.
    Brutal Love: A truly great opener, slowly & beautifully building through a repetitive (in a good way) structure. With its strong emphasis on harmonies & addition of horns/piano & classic R&B influences, all culminating with power chords at the end, Brutal Love proves to be one of the most wonderfully ambitious moments of Green Day's entire career. A good song to show someone who claims they've stagnated stylistically. 8.5/10 - Missing You: Good riffs & melodies but the lyrics are pretty stupid, especially in the pre-chorus. It's basically a sadder & less cringe-worthy version of Weezer's Where's My Sex. 7/10 - 8th Avenue Serenade: Okay song but it's pretty much just filler. I'd skip it. Not very remarkable at all really. 6/10 - Drama Queen: A refreshingly stripped-down & cutesy acoustic ode from Billie Joe to what I'm guessing to be fathers his age dealing with their teenage daughters. There's a few awkward vaginal references ("she's old enough to bleed now") but they just increase the realism & sincerity of the situation being presented. 8/10 - X-Kid: A solid & impressive straightforward pop-rock song that I hope gets a lot of success when it's released as a single in February. The lyrics are a bit ambiguous but it feels more vague & personal than a complete phone-in. 7.5/10 - Sex, Drugs & Violence: A well-written self-ode to Billie Joe's hedonistic & rebellious youth with very infectious melodies. The emphasis on Mike's vocals, both backing & lead, was a nice touch too. 8/10 - A Little Boy Named Train: According to Billie Joe (from what I've read) this song is about a true story of a hermaphrodite who had their penis cut off by their parents in order to present the child as gender-neutral. Their name was also questionable, one of which "he" went by at some point was Train. As interesting as that song topic is however, you'd never guess this by looking at the lyrics here. I guess there's vague references to the story but it's mostly pretty bland. Not the worst song here lyrically but there was a ton of wasted potential, especially considering how twisted Billie Joe's mind has been lately in the lyric department. Kinda unremarkable musically too. 6.5/10 - Amanda: Solid & catchy simple pop-punk song despite some awkward rhymes in one verse. Lyrically well-done otherwise though, dealing with a dysfunctional relationship. 7.5/10 - Walk Away: A a rather generic & dull breakup-based song that kinda comes off as filler. 6.5/10 - Dirty Rotten Bastards: Quite possibly the best song on the entire trilogy. I kid you not. As great as some songs here were... WOW. This song is an epic 6-minute medley, much like that of the ones on American Idiot except with admittedly less depth in the lyrics. Whereas Jesus of Suburbia & Homecoming were further narrations of an ongoing story, Dirty Rotten Bastards is just plain FUN. It's a complete blast to listen to, from its made-to-sing-along-to-while-drunk-with-your-friends wordless intro to the breakneck punk jam in the middle, complete with an awesome bass solo, to the epic conclusion, all lyrically complimented with a certain energetic youthful attitude that Green Day hasn't always presented convincingly lately but is pulled off near-perfectly here. This is the song to show your cynical friend who thinks Green Day has "lost their edge" or something like that, and in my opinion is the best Green Day song of 2012. 9.5/10 - 99 Revolutions: While fun, catchy & well-executed musically, lyrically this is a phoned-in late-to-the-party Occupy Wall Street "anthem" that only evokes eye-rolling from me. To me Green Day made their only worthwhile political statements in American Idiot & 21st Century Breakdown. Still happy it's the end credits song for The Campaign though. 7/10 - The Forgotten: Each song in this trilogy of albums has had one especially infamous song; on Uno it was the dancey Kill the DJ & on Dos it was the hip hop-influenced Nightlife. This time around it's The Forgotten, a piano-driven ballad that was featured in Twilight Breaking Dawn Part 2, which needless to say had the punk purists freaking out. What they fail to realize however is that the Twilight soundtracks are consistently (at least to most of my gender that bothers to be open-minded enough) the sole good quality of an otherwise crappy franchise, and The Forgotten is no exception. It's an absolutely gorgeous song despite some vague lyrics, and further shows Green Day's potential for versatility. 8/10 - Overall, while ¡Tré! is a little less consistently good than ¡Uno! or ¡Dos!, and certainly contains more filler, the good traits far outweigh the bad ones, and lyrical themes feel more refreshingly personal than the other 2 albums. Score: 75/100
    Expand
  5. Jul 18, 2013
    6
    I'm sorry to say that these three albums are exactly what I feared they would be: 75% filler.
    It seems like they could have saved their
    fans a lot of time, anticipation and money by picking out the best 4 songs from each of them to make one good album instead of 3 mediocre albums.
    There are a few gems in there that are worth downloading but for the most part the songs all follow a simple generic formula that isn't really bad but gets very stale after you hear it 20+ times.
    The whole 3- album gimmick just seems like a really sly way of getting people to fork over more cash.
    My advice would be to listen to the albums online first. Pick your favourites and then download them individually. You'll end up with about 10-12 songs that are worth having and the rest of it will fade from your memory as quickly as it arrived
    Expand
  6. Dec 25, 2012
    5
    As you seen, it's the worst idea a group of musicians can have to make 3 album ins 6 months. Uno was a 5/10, Dos a 4/10 and Tre is a little bit better and gets a 5/10. '8th Avenue Serenade' and 'Drama Queen' are pretty nice and those two made me hope for something better than the two CDs before. After all, Tre! consists out ouf 12 songs without sense in their lyrics, that all sound the same. The same simple guitar riffs and the same stupid drum rhythm. Billie Joe Armstrong does some decent voice experiments that work and some lyrics like "Did you win or maybe did you lose? Now you're going to lick your wounds anyway" in Walk Away make you listen closer to the elswhere dull songs. So Tre! is a tiny step better than both other albums of the trilogy, but that doesn't really matter because it's also a disapointing release from a very talented band. Expand
  7. Jan 4, 2013
    2
    Did I actually read one review say there is "some pretty badass guitar work"? Is this really what people think musical talent is. This is beginner guitar work. This sounds like a band of novices or even new musicians. I'm starting to get tired of having to review boring untalented "pop" music. Being the jerk I am towards "pop" music, I generally try to at least give points to the catchy aspect that is fed to a drone's head. Do you like to repeat "walk away" or "carried away" over and over? The "oh my gosh" factor comes in when you hear the few rebellious cuss words; feels thrown in. One thing that does get tiring is the forced "we try to make you cry" track. Why? Again, feels forced and done only to sell records and concerts.

    I could go on for a while about talent but I don't feel like remembering the pain so let us move on to production; the album sounds good. I do not expect less from a band of this much money. It's clean, tuning is good, and vocal harmonies are on (if you do enjoy these vocals). The drum tracking is pretty darn good as usual for this band.

    In closing, this is another album to appeal to the masses of casual music listeners. Sounds like every previous album in a progressively worse direction. Will not care for another album. Stop.
    Expand

See all 26 User Reviews