Tre! - Green Day
Tre! Image
Metascore
64

Generally favorable reviews - based on 19 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 96 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The final album in the ¡Uno! ¡Dos! ¡Tré! trilogy for the punk rock band.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 19
  2. Negative: 0 out of 19
  1. 83
    Green Day's third disc in three months lets their tightly wound hooks decompress, delivering stadium-worthy three-chord nods to various ghosts of rock past, from Otis Redding to Baba O'Riley.
  2. Dec 6, 2012
    80
    ¡Tré! picks up where its predecessor, ¡Dos!, left off.
  3. Dec 12, 2012
    70
    Green Day still sounds best when it's confused, angry, and playing with abandon.
  4. This is Green Day doing what Green Day have always done.
  5. Dec 11, 2012
    58
    ¡Tre! succeeds most as an exercise in influence-dropping and self-recycling, with a glimmer of inspiration here and there.
  6. Dec 11, 2012
    50
    I wish I could close the book on ¡Uno!, ¡Dos!, and ¡Tré! with a more favorable assessment than a resounding, Eh, it was ok.
  7. Dec 21, 2012
    40
    ¡Tré! offers a few ballads, swelling string-laden anthems and even a six-minute medley à la American Idiot--styles that once represented a new aesthetic for the band but now sound forced and exhausted.

See all 19 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 30
  2. Negative: 4 out of 30
  1. Dec 11, 2012
    10
    By far the best album off the trilogy. It even beats out 21st Century Breakdown. All the songs connect instantly, and there's no fillerBy far the best album off the trilogy. It even beats out 21st Century Breakdown. All the songs connect instantly, and there's no filler ANYWHERE on the album. There are some mad fills by Tre Cool, crazy bass solos by Dirnt (Cue the spectacular 7 minute long 'Dirty Rotten Bastards'), and some pretty badass guitar work from both Billie Joe and Jason White. Also, Armstrong's vocals never fail to impress. Even Mike Dirnt's! Yup, he has a 10 second lead vocal stint on 'Sex, Drugs and Violence.' This album is a complete package, with a political song that recalls their '04 and '05 albums, and the mellower opening and closing tracks of the album, both of which are driven by piano and violins. Best album I've heard in a long time.
    Tracks to listen to: Dirty Rotten Bastards; X-Kid; Sex, Drugs and Violence; Little Boy Named Train; Brutal Love.
    Expand
  2. Dec 17, 2012
    10
    One of Green day's greatest albums,all "Killer" and no "Filler its a must have by far the best of the trilogy.
    Green day have produced some
    One of Green day's greatest albums,all "Killer" and no "Filler its a must have by far the best of the trilogy.
    Green day have produced some of their finest songs ever with songs like "Brutal love" ,"X-Kid","Dirty rotten Bastards" and "99 revolutions"
    But saying that not one song stood out as a bad song all were great,overall its a far better album than "UNO" and "DOS" which were both solid albums.
    The best way to describe "TRE" is that it has songs which remind me of Dookie but it has the stadium rock feel at times of "American idiot" and "21st Century Breakdown" with the experimental side of "Nimrod" and "Warning"
    MUST BUY ALBUM OF THE YEAR.
    Expand
  3. Dec 12, 2012
    9
    Being a fan of Green Day for a long time, I was exhilarated when I learned they would be coming out with, not one, but three new albums. Tre!Being a fan of Green Day for a long time, I was exhilarated when I learned they would be coming out with, not one, but three new albums. Tre! was instantly the one I was most excited for due to the descriptions Billie Joe gave. After hearing Uno! and Dos! my expectations were very high for Tre! and it did not disappoint. While I thought the first two albums were good, this one provides me with extensive replay value with every song. Tre! opens with the grandiose "Brutal Love," a sprawling ballad complete with piano and horn contributions, a la King for a Day. The albums does not turn back from there. There are no genre-bending experiments on Tre!, just tributes to many decades of music, as well as past Green Day efforts. "Drama Queen" delves into 50's do-wop and throwback for fans of Warning in "Sex, Drugs, and Violence," for example. While, yes, I agree that it is not Green Day's top material, Tre! salvages an otherwise slightly above average trilogy and, hell, still beats out most music today, warranting a 9/10. **** Kesha's album is rated higher than Tre! right now and anyone that knows real music will know that Tre! is still prime entertainment, even if it's not Green Day's greatest effort. That being said, it deserves to be mentioned as one of their better albums, in my humble opinion. Their ability to channel different eras of rock and still be able to make it their own is uncanny. Must listens: Brutal Love, X-Kid, Dirty Rotten Bastards Expand
  4. Dec 31, 2012
    7
    Waited for this album after listening "The Forgotten" in Twilight Breaking Dawn Part 2...Good so far... "Missing You" and "The Forgotten" 10Waited for this album after listening "The Forgotten" in Twilight Breaking Dawn Part 2...Good so far... "Missing You" and "The Forgotten" 10 on 10..Lovely Expand
  5. Aug 30, 2013
    7
    ¡Tré! is the third instalment in Green Day's ¡Uno! ¡Dos! ¡Tré! trilogy and it is a satisfying end to a satisfying set of albums. With these¡Tré! is the third instalment in Green Day's ¡Uno! ¡Dos! ¡Tré! trilogy and it is a satisfying end to a satisfying set of albums. With these three albums Green Day have ditched the rock opera themes of their past to albums and went back to basics. ¡Uno! offered us a with a simple but effective pop-punk record which brings us back to the days of Dookie, ¡Dos! had a more garage-rock feel to it with songs appropriate for a party. ¡Tré! begins with opener "Brutal Love", one of the best songs on the trilogy and is definitely the standout track from the album. This is followed by the more pop-punk songs "Missing You" and '8th Avenue Serenade" both of which are very good. "X-kid" is a beautiful song about a fallen commrade with a very catchy riff. The penultimate song, "Dirty Rotten Bastards" sounds like a throw back to "Jesus of Suburbia" from "American Idiot". It may not be as good as said song but it is still an effective and catchy tune. However, the album isn't all good. Songs like "Sex, Drugs and Violence" and lead single "The Forgotten" are more filler than killer and the former is one of the worst songs Green Day have ever recorded. ¡Tré! is a simple album with some good songs. It is not an essential purchase but it sure is a hell of a lot of fun. Expand
  6. Dec 11, 2012
    5
    Green Day is one of my favorite bands, and this album dissapoints me... worst of the trilogy by far. it was a very boring album. by the time iGreen Day is one of my favorite bands, and this album dissapoints me... worst of the trilogy by far. it was a very boring album. by the time i was done with the album and listening to the last song, it made me cry.

    1. because the trilogy was over

    2. that the song was over and the whole album over (hoping for one good song on the album)

    3. the song was very sad

    and the worst of all is the music video for the last song on the album "The Forgotten"

    Uno and Dos were great, but this album was very boring.
    Collapse
  7. Jun 11, 2014
    1
    I think, prior to the formal review, I should give a bit of my background with Green Day. I'm only 16, so I'm not one of those die-hard DookieI think, prior to the formal review, I should give a bit of my background with Green Day. I'm only 16, so I'm not one of those die-hard Dookie fans, I tend to gravitate towards their newer albums (i.e American Idiot and 21st Century Breakdown). That being said, I can appreciate their older albums. I don't care for their first two albums, and honestly I don't really like Dookie, but I can at least appreciate it for the revolutionary album it is. Insomniac is an alright album in my opinion, and the same goes for Nimrod. Warning is, oddly enough, my favorite Green Day album, and American Idiot and 21st Century Breakdown are just fantastic albums, any way you look at them. So, we come to Uno!, Dos!, and Tre!, three of the worst albums I've ever heard in my life. All bands have their black sheep albums (RHCP has One Hot Minute, Smashing Pumpkins has Zeitgeist, Coldplay has Mylo Xyloto, etc), but these albums are really, really, really terrible, even compared to some of the greatest band's worst efforts. I'm sort of lumping these together (the words I say apply not only to Tre!, but too to Uno! and Dos!), because these albums honestly are not worth my time and effort to write three individual reviews. With Green Day's career as makers of epic, lengthy, thematic, overtly-conceptual rock operas seemingly over, they decided to venture back into the catchy, three minute (most not even), three power-chord punk song territory. However, punk honestly isn't the right word; pop-punk, would be. Now, some may cry Judas and assume that my negativity is entirely based upon this change towards pop, but that isn't the case. One of the only redeemable songs on this trilogy, "Kill the DJ", is honestly one of the most dance-y, poppy songs Green Day has ever made, and they nail it perfectly. However, and this is me being as honest as humanly possible, that is the only good song on these albums. Green Day's attempts at a return to punk form (songs like "Nuclear Family", "Let Yourself Go", "Makeout Party", "Wow! That's Loud", "Sex, Drugs & Violence", and "99 Revolutions") all seem trite, and fall way short of such classic punk rockers like "Burnout", and "Stuck With Me". Now, it may be wrong to compare new music to old music, but these albums were marketed as a return to their punk roots, at which they fail. Now, I mentioned Green Day treads new territory, too, with the poppy sound. They perfect this style ever so articulately on the aptly titled "Kill the DJ", a song which i can honestly say I love. However later attempts at this feel shoe-horned in, and rather sell-out-y. The most prominent example of this would be "Nightlife" on Dos!, a song which, without Armstrong's signature bratty whine, could be mistaken for a song not, in fact, by Green Day, even featuring several rapping versus from guest artist Lady Cobra. Another example of this would be "Makeout Party", also on Dos!. With lyrics like "It's a makeout party on another dimension", one could assume that: 1. Armstrong never passed 9th grade English and Grammar, and 2. Armstrong wants to be an angst-y teen again. Speaking of lyrics, one of the worst lyrics I've ever heard in my life appears on the Tre! song "Sex, Drugs & Violence", when Armstrong proclaims "Sex, drugs and violence/ English, math and science!", a lyric which makes no sense, given Armstrong only briefly mentions this comparison of these primitive human feelings and desires (sex, drugs, and violence), to these primitive topics of study (English, math, and science) once in the entire song, excluding the chorus. The main problem on these albums is, in fact, singer and guitarist (now a dignified rhythm guitarist with inclusion of long-time touring guitarist Jason White as lead guitarist on this trilogy). The lyrics are terrible, and the songs that are so clearly written by Armstrong (the generic, trite, three power-chord songs with little variation) are as terrible as the lyrics. The only highlights of the album are the other musicians, with drummer Tre Cool giving some stellar drum trackings as per usual, bassist Mike Dirnt providing some ear-worm inducing bass-hooks, and guitarist Jason White providing some solos never heard on Green Day albums before (obviously because Armstrong did not posses the talent). However, it's not fair to place the whole of the blame on Armstrong, as the one lyrics sung by Dirnt on lead ("I don't want to be an imbecile, but Jesus made me that way" on "Sex, Drugs & violence") is just as terrible as Armstrong's worst lyric. Even more so, how would these other, clearly superior, musicians, allow this trilogy to be released and tarnish their otherwise fluke-less career? After seeing Billie Joe's on-stage, sleeping-pill-induced freak-out from two years back, one could formulate a theory on just how stable Billie Joe may be behind the scenes. All this in mind, Uno!, Dos!, and Tre! by Green Day are some of the worst albums ever. However, I'll give it a 1/10, just for "Kill the DJ". Expand

See all 30 User Reviews