Tre!

  • Record Label:
  • Release Date:
Tre! Image
Metascore
64

Generally favorable reviews - based on 19 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 124 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The final album in the ¡Uno! ¡Dos! ¡Tré! trilogy for the punk rock band.
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 19
  2. Negative: 0 out of 19
  1. 83
    Green Day's third disc in three months lets their tightly wound hooks decompress, delivering stadium-worthy three-chord nods to various ghosts of rock past, from Otis Redding to Baba O'Riley.
  2. Dec 6, 2012
    80
    ¡Tré! picks up where its predecessor, ¡Dos!, left off.
  3. Dec 12, 2012
    70
    Green Day still sounds best when it's confused, angry, and playing with abandon.
  4. This is Green Day doing what Green Day have always done.
  5. Dec 11, 2012
    58
    ¡Tre! succeeds most as an exercise in influence-dropping and self-recycling, with a glimmer of inspiration here and there.
  6. Dec 11, 2012
    50
    I wish I could close the book on ¡Uno!, ¡Dos!, and ¡Tré! with a more favorable assessment than a resounding, Eh, it was ok.
  7. Dec 21, 2012
    40
    ¡Tré! offers a few ballads, swelling string-laden anthems and even a six-minute medley à la American Idiot--styles that once represented a new aesthetic for the band but now sound forced and exhausted.

See all 19 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 34
  2. Negative: 5 out of 34
  1. Dec 11, 2012
    10
    By far the best album off the trilogy. It even beats out 21st Century Breakdown. All the songs connect instantly, and there's no fillerBy far the best album off the trilogy. It even beats out 21st Century Breakdown. All the songs connect instantly, and there's no filler ANYWHERE on the album. There are some mad fills by Tre Cool, crazy bass solos by Dirnt (Cue the spectacular 7 minute long 'Dirty Rotten Bastards'), and some pretty badass guitar work from both Billie Joe and Jason White. Also, Armstrong's vocals never fail to impress. Even Mike Dirnt's! Yup, he has a 10 second lead vocal stint on 'Sex, Drugs and Violence.' This album is a complete package, with a political song that recalls their '04 and '05 albums, and the mellower opening and closing tracks of the album, both of which are driven by piano and violins. Best album I've heard in a long time.
    Tracks to listen to: Dirty Rotten Bastards; X-Kid; Sex, Drugs and Violence; Little Boy Named Train; Brutal Love.
    Expand
  2. Oct 17, 2016
    10
    ....................................................................................................Great album!!!!! Underrated for critics....................................................................................................Great album!!!!! Underrated for critics Highlights are Missing You, X-Kid, Walk Away, 99 Revolutions, 8th Avenue Serenade, Sex Drugs & Violence Expand
  3. Dec 13, 2012
    9
    It's better then Dos!, Some song like Dirty Rotten Bastards, X-Kid and 99 Revolutions keep the original Green Day style, but other songs it'sIt's better then Dos!, Some song like Dirty Rotten Bastards, X-Kid and 99 Revolutions keep the original Green Day style, but other songs it's so disappointing....The trilogy it's not what I expected....Now we just wait for the next proposal of this band in the future, and check this like a lesson to learn Expand
  4. Jan 15, 2013
    7
    On ¡Tré!, the last album in the 2012 trilogy, Green Day further widens their palette while also being rather underwhelming atOn ¡Tré!, the last album in the 2012 trilogy, Green Day further widens their palette while also being rather underwhelming at times. Here's the full-track-by-track review for further elaboration.
    Brutal Love: A truly great opener, slowly & beautifully building through a repetitive (in a good way) structure. With its strong emphasis on harmonies & addition of horns/piano & classic R&B influences, all culminating with power chords at the end, Brutal Love proves to be one of the most wonderfully ambitious moments of Green Day's entire career. A good song to show someone who claims they've stagnated stylistically. 8.5/10 - Missing You: Good riffs & melodies but the lyrics are pretty stupid, especially in the pre-chorus. It's basically a sadder & less cringe-worthy version of Weezer's Where's My Sex. 7/10 - 8th Avenue Serenade: Okay song but it's pretty much just filler. I'd skip it. Not very remarkable at all really. 6/10 - Drama Queen: A refreshingly stripped-down & cutesy acoustic ode from Billie Joe to what I'm guessing to be fathers his age dealing with their teenage daughters. There's a few awkward vaginal references ("she's old enough to bleed now") but they just increase the realism & sincerity of the situation being presented. 8/10 - X-Kid: A solid & impressive straightforward pop-rock song that I hope gets a lot of success when it's released as a single in February. The lyrics are a bit ambiguous but it feels more vague & personal than a complete phone-in. 7.5/10 - Sex, Drugs & Violence: A well-written self-ode to Billie Joe's hedonistic & rebellious youth with very infectious melodies. The emphasis on Mike's vocals, both backing & lead, was a nice touch too. 8/10 - A Little Boy Named Train: According to Billie Joe (from what I've read) this song is about a true story of a hermaphrodite who had their penis cut off by their parents in order to present the child as gender-neutral. Their name was also questionable, one of which "he" went by at some point was Train. As interesting as that song topic is however, you'd never guess this by looking at the lyrics here. I guess there's vague references to the story but it's mostly pretty bland. Not the worst song here lyrically but there was a ton of wasted potential, especially considering how twisted Billie Joe's mind has been lately in the lyric department. Kinda unremarkable musically too. 6.5/10 - Amanda: Solid & catchy simple pop-punk song despite some awkward rhymes in one verse. Lyrically well-done otherwise though, dealing with a dysfunctional relationship. 7.5/10 - Walk Away: A a rather generic & dull breakup-based song that kinda comes off as filler. 6.5/10 - Dirty Rotten Bastards: Quite possibly the best song on the entire trilogy. I kid you not. As great as some songs here were... WOW. This song is an epic 6-minute medley, much like that of the ones on American Idiot except with admittedly less depth in the lyrics. Whereas Jesus of Suburbia & Homecoming were further narrations of an ongoing story, Dirty Rotten Bastards is just plain FUN. It's a complete blast to listen to, from its made-to-sing-along-to-while-drunk-with-your-friends wordless intro to the breakneck punk jam in the middle, complete with an awesome bass solo, to the epic conclusion, all lyrically complimented with a certain energetic youthful attitude that Green Day hasn't always presented convincingly lately but is pulled off near-perfectly here. This is the song to show your cynical friend who thinks Green Day has "lost their edge" or something like that, and in my opinion is the best Green Day song of 2012. 9.5/10 - 99 Revolutions: While fun, catchy & well-executed musically, lyrically this is a phoned-in late-to-the-party Occupy Wall Street "anthem" that only evokes eye-rolling from me. To me Green Day made their only worthwhile political statements in American Idiot & 21st Century Breakdown. Still happy it's the end credits song for The Campaign though. 7/10 - The Forgotten: Each song in this trilogy of albums has had one especially infamous song; on Uno it was the dancey Kill the DJ & on Dos it was the hip hop-influenced Nightlife. This time around it's The Forgotten, a piano-driven ballad that was featured in Twilight Breaking Dawn Part 2, which needless to say had the punk purists freaking out. What they fail to realize however is that the Twilight soundtracks are consistently (at least to most of my gender that bothers to be open-minded enough) the sole good quality of an otherwise crappy franchise, and The Forgotten is no exception. It's an absolutely gorgeous song despite some vague lyrics, and further shows Green Day's potential for versatility. 8/10 - Overall, while ¡Tré! is a little less consistently good than ¡Uno! or ¡Dos!, and certainly contains more filler, the good traits far outweigh the bad ones, and lyrical themes feel more refreshingly personal than the other 2 albums. Score: 75/100
    Expand
  5. Dec 11, 2012
    6
    Mmmmmmmmmmmm overall the trilogy isnt' great but a few songs off this album are really good. Personally I think they were just out to makeMmmmmmmmmmmm overall the trilogy isnt' great but a few songs off this album are really good. Personally I think they were just out to make money, and that's understandable, but it cost them some fans. I'm still going to watch out for their next project of course but my hopes aren't as high now! Expand
  6. Jun 7, 2013
    5
    I don't have much to say about this. Mixed feelings. It's not bad but it's not good. It's totally forgettable. Some tracks stand out fromI don't have much to say about this. Mixed feelings. It's not bad but it's not good. It's totally forgettable. Some tracks stand out from others, yes, but once I listen to it I feel like I'm never feel the will to listen to it again. It's totally not impressive and the lyrics are okay. I wouldn't wast my time here if I can spend it wisely with "¡Uno!" Expand
  7. Oct 4, 2016
    0
    Wow guys look at that, they now how to count in spanish, that's so cultural!! 10/10!!

    I really don't know what's going on with this band
    Wow guys look at that, they now how to count in spanish, that's so cultural!! 10/10!!

    I really don't know what's going on with this band that delivered to us Dookie a long time ago.
    Expand

See all 34 User Reviews