Trespassing - Adam Lambert
User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 130 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 23 out of 130

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 4, 2012
    9
    Para saber a melhor representação do álbum Trespassing do Adam Lambert é necessário recorrer a seguinte equação: um álbum ok da P!nk + um álbum bom da Christina Aguilera x um álbum ótimo da Britney. Sim, muitos vão até chiar sobre as comparações, mas não posso deixar de ressaltarPara saber a melhor representação do álbum Trespassing do Adam Lambert é necessário recorrer a seguinte equação: um álbum ok da P!nk + um álbum bom da Christina Aguilera x um álbum ótimo da Britney. Sim, muitos vão até chiar sobre as comparações, mas não posso deixar de ressaltar a qualidade do melhor álbum pop desde The Fame da GaGa. Sim, porque o Adam faz um álbum pop como pouco se vê nos dias de hoje. E quando falo em pop, quero dizer chiclete, desnecessário, dançante, fútil (em quase todas as músicas), viciante, poderoso, cativante e popular.

    O álbum é uma salada pop com pitadas de eletropop, rock eletrônico e pop rock que em nenhum momento perde um décimo do fôlego. Mais dono de si, Adam virou o produtor executivo e compositor principal ajudando Trespassing ter uma cara só do começo ao fim, bem mais coeso que o seu debut For Your Entertainment. E não é só isso: musicalmente, Adam parece ter encontrado seu nicho perfeito. Seu amadurecimento é refletido no resultado do trabalho. Cada vez mais consciente do poder vocal que tem, ele consegue equilibrar todas as pontas em ser um cantor de pop, mas conseguir mostrar o seu talento e em ser um cantor de grandes baladas, mas sem exagerar e buscar a perfeição nas suas interpretações. Com o capitão do barco, ele conseguiu colocar todos os produtores em sintonia perfeita. Trespassing flui perfeitamente do começo até as músicas da versão deluxe. Como disse antes, não há só um momento ruim ou mesmo médio. TODAS as canção são sensacionais. Nomes como Pharrell Williams, Dr. Luke, Claude Kelly, Benny Blanco e outros ajudam o CD a se transformar em uma pérola pop.

    A primeira metade do álbum (até a faixa 7) a produção, assim como as composições, são fultimentes divertidas. Não via um trabalho tão pop de verdade desde o terceiro álbum da Britney (o seu melhor até hoje). Na segunda metade, Trespassing assume um lado mais sério com baladas pop mais concentradas nos vocais de Adam e em letras mais pesadas. Aqui Adam pode mostrar um seu poder e domínio vocal em canções cheias de significados numa mistura da P!nk com a Aguilera. Mesmo faltando mais "um toque de soco no estomago", as belas canções comprovam a versatilidade dele como artista. Em um álbum tão magistralmente pop, a batidas de Pharrell Williams para Trespassing (música que dá nome ao álbum) e Kickin' In pegando inspiração dele mesmo (as duas tem batidas "chupadas" na ótima Hot N' Fun) comprovam que ainda há vida criativa no pop. Never Close Our Eyes (resenha a seguir) e Better Than I Know Myself provam que se pode fazer músicas comerciais sem recorrer a clichês do estilo "vamos festejar". Até mesmo as canções na versão deluxe, normalmente são canções apenas médias colocadas ali só para ter uma versão diferente para o povo ganhar mais pouco com a venda, estão excepcionais. Contudo, não há como não falar que o ápice de Trespassing estão nas poderosas Underneath e Outlaws of Love. As duas são baladas onde Adam conquista o céu musicalmente falando com interpretações viserais onde o contexto envolve a sua homossexualidade e as suas batalhas internas e externas. O mais curioso é que quem poderia pensar em um ano onde a Rainha do Pop lança um álbum, o trabalho pop mais coeso e surpreendente seria do Adam Lambert. Que bom, pelo menos o mundo não fica tão previsível.
    Expand
  2. Jun 4, 2012
    10
    I was shocked with this album, i thought it would be a complete fail, but Adam did NOT disappoint. This is the best pop album of the year. The production is amazing the vocals are on point and great. He really impressed me with this album. I would be surprised if this won next years Grammy for Best Pop Vocal Album.
  3. Sep 3, 2012
    10
    Amazing Album. This is a work of art- a true masterpiece. Adam Lambert has created history. Although songs like Pop That Lock and Kickin' In could have been released as singles rather than Better Than I Know Myself, songs like Broken English and Outlaws of Love really bring out his vocals. Bonus tracks too are good!
  4. May 20, 2012
    10
    This is the album of my life. Difficult to even describe in words. I love every song on this album, from the fierce beginning to the angsty end of the regular edition, and then there is the redemption of the three bonus tracks of the deluxe edition. The songs are great, the production flawless, the track listing just right, but the best thing about this album is Adam himself. His voiceThis is the album of my life. Difficult to even describe in words. I love every song on this album, from the fierce beginning to the angsty end of the regular edition, and then there is the redemption of the three bonus tracks of the deluxe edition. The songs are great, the production flawless, the track listing just right, but the best thing about this album is Adam himself. His voice soars, seduces, soothes, and his personality shines through each song. The one song that makes this album perfect for me is, surprisingly, one of the bonus tracks. Runnin' is a masterpiece that I have difficulty listening to without crying. It starts in such a dark place, but the bridge and the end are so cathartic that I smile through the tears. And then begin the cycle all over again. Expand
  5. Dec 1, 2013
    10
    What really makes me a fan of this album is the fact that Lambert came out swinging on it. He proved he's much more than a one trick American Idol pony, and actually one of the shows most talented stars. His 2010 debut 'For Your Entertainment' wasn't bad at all, but it definitely felt like a quick AI rush fest, and it lacked some personality. Here we are in 2012 though, and Adam isWhat really makes me a fan of this album is the fact that Lambert came out swinging on it. He proved he's much more than a one trick American Idol pony, and actually one of the shows most talented stars. His 2010 debut 'For Your Entertainment' wasn't bad at all, but it definitely felt like a quick AI rush fest, and it lacked some personality. Here we are in 2012 though, and Adam is bringing his personality front and center! You've got your sassy club stompers, your funky mid-tempos, and for the personality department, you've got some seriously stunning vocal and lyrical work on ballads 'Outlaws of Love', and 'Underneath'. This isn't a pop album to be missed. Expand
  6. Aug 4, 2012
    10
    Adam's first album was great, but I kept getting the vibe that his songs were being pushed into being extra-flamboyant by his label. Trespassing, on the other hand, sounds much more natural - he's still a powerful pop artist, but he doesn't sound like he's forcing himself into a role quite as much. Each track is brimming with talent, and . I actually like all the slower tracks on thisAdam's first album was great, but I kept getting the vibe that his songs were being pushed into being extra-flamboyant by his label. Trespassing, on the other hand, sounds much more natural - he's still a powerful pop artist, but he doesn't sound like he's forcing himself into a role quite as much. Each track is brimming with talent, and . I actually like all the slower tracks on this album as much as the energetic pop, which is a rarity for me. My personal favorite tracks on here(including a few deluxe edition tracks) are Chokehold, Outlaws of Love, Pop That Lock, and Shady. But the entire album is great; I can't point to any song as being weak. Expand
  7. Jul 1, 2012
    9
    Once again, Adam Lambert proved that he's a great singer, whose voice can support dance tracks, but also ballads as well. And my favourite track is definitely "Never close our eyes" - Once you hear it, it's on repeat for whole month or even longer.
  8. Aug 6, 2012
    10
    Rarely do I like songs at first listen, but every song on this album is so musically interesting and pleasing I haven't skipped one yet. And, the production is excellent - you can BLAST it and the sound is still pristine, and when there's a voice like his it's well worth turning it up. The gorgeous harmonies and riffs and frills on the songs add so much substance, especially onRarely do I like songs at first listen, but every song on this album is so musically interesting and pleasing I haven't skipped one yet. And, the production is excellent - you can BLAST it and the sound is still pristine, and when there's a voice like his it's well worth turning it up. The gorgeous harmonies and riffs and frills on the songs add so much substance, especially on Chokehold, Take Back and the amazingly funky Shady, where Nile Rodgers does his magic too. Fun dance tracks like Pop That Lock go back to Lambert's pre-Idol Digital Glitter days, and Broken English is a very sophisticated pop ballad - in fact, there is none of the mindless repetitive beat-driven drivel played on radio today on this album. This is pop music for people with brains but who still love to dance, and enjoy a truly beautiful voice on a passionate ballad. Expand
  9. Jun 24, 2012
    9
    An interesting and beautiful album, until now, one of the best albums of the year, good in the vocals, good lyrics and correct edition. I'm so proud of Adam, a good movement in the good direction. Congratulations...!!!!!!
  10. Jun 13, 2012
    10
    It's quite incredible how much Trespassing goes further than Four Your Entertainment. Every single track is a perfect mix of dance beats and melody and Adam's voice is sexy and powerful as ever. This is truly the best album I've bought so far.
  11. Sep 18, 2013
    10
    great album from a great singer the songs are great and encourages you to believe in urself and the songs are mixed u can find disco themed ones and rock themed or ballads so the album is great ^_^
  12. May 23, 2012
    10
    Do yourself a favor and get this album, especially if you like excellent vocals and catchy pop tunes. There are a couple of killer dance tracks as well. Sometimes his vocals are absolutely ethereal, and unlike the crappy lip synchers of his contemporaries he can sing. Every song is strong - you will not be hitting the skip button. A couple of tracks tread into boy band territory, butDo yourself a favor and get this album, especially if you like excellent vocals and catchy pop tunes. There are a couple of killer dance tracks as well. Sometimes his vocals are absolutely ethereal, and unlike the crappy lip synchers of his contemporaries he can sing. Every song is strong - you will not be hitting the skip button. A couple of tracks tread into boy band territory, but the lyrics and extraordinary vocals take it a step beyond. Highly recommended. Expand
  13. Jun 30, 2012
    10
    "Trespassing" is one of the best pop albums ever. It's personal, cohesive and artistic at the same time. The first half makes you dance like crazy and the second one is really emotional. Adam's vocals are incredible over very original lyrics. The production is nothing but top-notch.
  14. May 15, 2012
    10
    This album is everything I hoped it would be. The dance tracks make me want to shake my ass and the ballads make me want to weep. Perfect blend of emotion and delivery and Adam's voice is out of this world as usual. best album I've purchased all year.
  15. May 15, 2012
    10
    Extremely strong, hella enjoyable album. It's front loaded with a raucous assortment of dance party ready tracks that run the gamut from strutting stomp clap anthems, down and dirty funk and pure pop candy. Midway the album takes a turn to the dark side, delving into some driving industrial sounds along with a couple heartwrenching emotional tracks. And despite the high quality and minuteExtremely strong, hella enjoyable album. It's front loaded with a raucous assortment of dance party ready tracks that run the gamut from strutting stomp clap anthems, down and dirty funk and pure pop candy. Midway the album takes a turn to the dark side, delving into some driving industrial sounds along with a couple heartwrenching emotional tracks. And despite the high quality and minute attention to detail in the production choices that is obvious throughout the entire run of songs, Adam Lambert's stunning vocals are the true star. His voice soars into the stratosphere, drops back down to a more earthy tone where you can practically hear him smiling with the pure joy of singing, then lowers to tender whisper. The whole album flows incredibly well from beginning to end, something quite rare in a pop record these days, taking the listener on a captivating journey.

    Highly recommend this album.
    Expand
  16. May 15, 2012
    10
    Not since Jackson's "Thriller" in the '80's have I heard such a superb pop/rock/dance delight! "Trespassing" has edge, soul,funky dance fever, grit, angst,swag, and finally, acceptance (In Nirvana, the closing track) If this album is ignored by radio at all.....there will be tough questions for PDs and DJs to answer, after spinning so much pop drivel all day as they do now. Like a fineNot since Jackson's "Thriller" in the '80's have I heard such a superb pop/rock/dance delight! "Trespassing" has edge, soul,funky dance fever, grit, angst,swag, and finally, acceptance (In Nirvana, the closing track) If this album is ignored by radio at all.....there will be tough questions for PDs and DJs to answer, after spinning so much pop drivel all day as they do now. Like a fine wine..this album deserves to be savored, tested and tasted before finally diving in for the unavoidable hedonistic pleasures that await.You may awake with a hangover but it will have been worth it. Expand
  17. May 15, 2012
    10
    Flawlessly funky and full of dance inducing beats, there's plenty of emotion here too. Has me dancing, singing and crying in turn. Outlaws of Love will pull on your heart strings, while Shady is classic funk updated in the best possible way. A must have for pop/funk/dance fans everywhere.
  18. May 15, 2012
    10
    This album does an amazing job of balancing retro style that are favorites to many and current pop sensibilities. Tracks to check out: Shady, Cuckoo, Broken English, Underneath, and Runnin'
  19. May 15, 2012
    10
    This album is a true work of love and artistry. The pop banger's on the front half are dance party tunes, and the back half is loaded with ballads , some will grab your heart and make you cry, you can feel the pain. There is something for everyone on this album. It's fresh and current, and let's you hear Adams vocals upfront. There is no other artist like him in music right now.This album is a true work of love and artistry. The pop banger's on the front half are dance party tunes, and the back half is loaded with ballads , some will grab your heart and make you cry, you can feel the pain. There is something for everyone on this album. It's fresh and current, and let's you hear Adams vocals upfront. There is no other artist like him in music right now. The album is totally cohesive and takes you on a journey to trespass into his soul. Expand
  20. May 15, 2012
    10
    The album is pure joy. Everything I love in a performer. First and foremost, the vocals. Adam's vocal ability is rare. He's done what your average pop star just can't do and he's managed to make everything current. I can't sit still when I listen to the first half of the album. The beats are so contagious and the production throughout is perfection. The second half really captures theThe album is pure joy. Everything I love in a performer. First and foremost, the vocals. Adam's vocal ability is rare. He's done what your average pop star just can't do and he's managed to make everything current. I can't sit still when I listen to the first half of the album. The beats are so contagious and the production throughout is perfection. The second half really captures the brilliance of his voice. It stirs emotions and tears at the heart, in the best possible way. He really makes me feel the lyrics. It feels so personal.
    It's cohesive, balanced and so enjoyable. It makes me happy. The album is more than I dreamed an album could ever be. At last.......
    Expand
  21. May 15, 2012
    10
    This album is what For Your Entertainment wanted to be when it grew up and probably SAdam, when he grew up as an artist.

    There is not one tract on it I have skipped past. There are several standout tracks such as 'Shady' ft Nile Rogers and Sam Sparro, 'Trespassing', 'Cuckoo', 'Never Close Our Eyes', 'Chokehold' and I could go on. However...'Underneath' is perfection and heartbreak in the
    This album is what For Your Entertainment wanted to be when it grew up and probably SAdam, when he grew up as an artist.

    There is not one tract on it I have skipped past.

    There are several standout tracks such as 'Shady' ft Nile Rogers and Sam Sparro, 'Trespassing', 'Cuckoo', 'Never Close Our Eyes', 'Chokehold' and I could go on. However...'Underneath' is perfection and heartbreak in the form of a song.

    In closing... Well played, sir...well played
    Expand
  22. May 15, 2012
    10
    Favorite Pop album since Gaga's 2008 The Fame! With songs like Pop That Lock, Naked Love, Cuckoo, and Kickin In it has the fun of a Gaga album. Then the lyrical content of Chokehold, Broken English, Runnin, & Underneath adds the sophistication of a P!NK album! And oh the funk of Shady! All tied together with that amazing voice! Wow!
  23. May 15, 2012
    10
    Hands down the best pop album to emerge since The Fame. Like Gaga, Lambert shows that he not only possesses a killer instrument in his voice but also has the musicianship and musical know-how to turn out really intelligent pop and make this album a cut above. The combination of grinding, funky, dirty club beats, fresh, vibrant dance-your-ass off tunes and heart wrenching ballads thatHands down the best pop album to emerge since The Fame. Like Gaga, Lambert shows that he not only possesses a killer instrument in his voice but also has the musicianship and musical know-how to turn out really intelligent pop and make this album a cut above. The combination of grinding, funky, dirty club beats, fresh, vibrant dance-your-ass off tunes and heart wrenching ballads that strike a knowing blow to your heart somehow flow together as seamlessly as you could hope for. A welcome return to form for N.E.R.D's Pharrell Williams on title track Trespassing. Best track: Shady. Chic's Nile Rodgers lends a helping hand to make this Lambert and Sam Sparro penned track the stand-out on an album of, for the most part, superbly crafted tracks. Expand
  24. May 15, 2012
    10
    Amazing, fun, pop album, with just the right balance of emotion, Executive Produced by Lambert himself. Flawless production makes for fantastic beats that still allow the incredible vocals to be showcased. From liberating dance anthems to personal ballads, Trespassing proves that not only can Adam sing, he also knows music.
  25. May 15, 2012
    10
    Trespassing has far exceeded my expectations, without a doubt the hottest thing to happen to pop music in many years. Every single track is flawlessly produced and they all flow so well together. The first half of the album is full of fun, funky and upbeat songs that are sure to get you out of your seat and dancing. The second half is filled with mellow, moody and sometimes dark tracksTrespassing has far exceeded my expectations, without a doubt the hottest thing to happen to pop music in many years. Every single track is flawlessly produced and they all flow so well together. The first half of the album is full of fun, funky and upbeat songs that are sure to get you out of your seat and dancing. The second half is filled with mellow, moody and sometimes dark tracks that I think every single one of us can relate to in one way or another. There is not one song on this album that I would say I don't like, amazing from start to finish. Expand
  26. May 18, 2012
    10
    Adam Lambert's new album Trespassing is far & away the best pop album in years! The deluxe version with the 3 bonus tracks, Runnin', Take Back & Nirvana is definitely a must have. Every single track on this album is first rate. There isn't one questionable track on the entire album & I haven't said that about an album in years. All 3 bonus tracks would be excellent as standard tracks &Adam Lambert's new album Trespassing is far & away the best pop album in years! The deluxe version with the 3 bonus tracks, Runnin', Take Back & Nirvana is definitely a must have. Every single track on this album is first rate. There isn't one questionable track on the entire album & I haven't said that about an album in years. All 3 bonus tracks would be excellent as standard tracks & way better than half of the music that's out there today. Adam is a brilliant singer AND songwriter and there isn't a talent like him on the scene today. Every ounce of Adam is all over this album and he served himself very well by being Executive Producer. Trespassing is one of the best albums of the year and should be a strong contender for several Grammy's, including Album of the Year. I couldn't recommend this album any higher. A perfect 10! Trespassing is pure pop perfection! Expand
  27. May 15, 2012
    10
    This album makes me want to break out a thesaurus so I can use all the words to describe how much I love it. Yeah, that sounds over the top but it's true. I literally do not need to skip a single track which is very rare with any album. What's even rarer? Me going to a brick and mortar store to purchase an actual cd. And I did because that's how much I enjoy a pop album from someone whoThis album makes me want to break out a thesaurus so I can use all the words to describe how much I love it. Yeah, that sounds over the top but it's true. I literally do not need to skip a single track which is very rare with any album. What's even rarer? Me going to a brick and mortar store to purchase an actual cd. And I did because that's how much I enjoy a pop album from someone who can actually sing and not rely on computerized wizardry. It definitely reminds me of a time when pop artists had actual talent to rely on. The songs are solid, full of catchy hooks, insane vocals, attitude and a nice mix of substance and emotion with a nice dose of freak flag waving. Definitely be jammin to this for a long time. I hope everyone who likes mainstream pop music with a funky twist and almost indie like influences can check your preconceived notions at the door and give this album a try. Expand
  28. May 15, 2012
    10
    This is a brilliant album from start to finish. Each track highlights Adam's vocals in its own special way. From funky to fabulous, from partying to the slower, softer ballads, this album is the work of an amazing artist.
  29. May 15, 2012
    10
    This album is the best I have heard this year. The vocals are superb. The dance numbers are engaging & make me get up and dance. The ballads are so beautifully performed that they bring the listener into the very heart of the emotion of the songs. The mixture of songs is artfully balanced. The CD has been on repeat in my home since it was purchased. Can't get enough of it.
  30. May 15, 2012
    10
    This album exceeded my expectations. From the fun upbeat songs; Shady, Cuckoo, Kickin In and Naked Love to the emotional ballads: Underneath and Outlaws of Love and everything in between there is amazing cohesion that is sometimes lacking when you have so many great songs on one CD. There is no one song I don't like. And as always his voice is spectacular.
  31. May 15, 2012
    10
    Lambert simply has the finest voice in pop music today. And he has the intelligence and skill to present it in mesmerizing performances. "Trespassing" is a truly great album - irresistible.
  32. May 15, 2012
    10
    Fantastic pop album with male vocals unheard of in this genre. Great contrast between upbeat dance/funk first half that flows beautifully into the darker introspective second half. An added surprise are the 3 bonus tracks found on the deluxe edition. This one is a must buy.
  33. May 15, 2012
    10
    This CD has been expertly produced. The songs are relevant, the voice is immaculate, the beat is irresistible, and the emotion goes straight to your heart. Set to be a world wide success, better get your copy now before they get sold out.
  34. May 15, 2012
    10
    Very few albums I like on first spin. Sometimes I have to hear the songs several times before they grow on me or they never do at all. Three albums over the past few years I have liked at first spin Lady GaGa's Monster, Adele's 21 and Adam Lambert's Trespassing. The songs on this album have great hooks in them and I find they are stuck in my head.
  35. May 15, 2012
    9
    This album exceeded my expectations, and they were sky-high. I love the new funky direction Adam has taken, and the songs really showcase his voice while still sounding fresh and modern. The darker side of the album is emotionally raw, and his vocals are unmatched. Superb production throughout.
  36. May 15, 2012
    10
    This is one outstanding Pop album and truly has me wanting to listen over and over. It takes you from a great funk, dance spectacle through a journey into heart grabbing ballads which are stunning. Adam's vocals shine, are flawless and his range phenomenal. Best album I've purchased this year.
  37. May 15, 2012
    10
    Trespassing has far exceeded any expectations I may have had. It is stellar! Each song is a superb escape. Adam Lambert has emerged as a true artist with this album. Executive producer, singer, song-writer. Best music I have purchased in a long time. This album will be on repeat for a long time. My standout tracks are Runnin', Kickin In, Pop That Lock, Shady, Trespassing. Seriously, itsTrespassing has far exceeded any expectations I may have had. It is stellar! Each song is a superb escape. Adam Lambert has emerged as a true artist with this album. Executive producer, singer, song-writer. Best music I have purchased in a long time. This album will be on repeat for a long time. My standout tracks are Runnin', Kickin In, Pop That Lock, Shady, Trespassing. Seriously, its that good. Great job Adam! Expand
  38. May 15, 2012
    10
    At first listen loved 12 of the 15 songs, by third listen loved them all. Keep changing my mind but think Underneath is No 1, very special! All dance tunes are fine, Adam has put his finger on today's pop dance scene while still showcasing his wonderful versatile voice. He listened to us fans who said "too much electronics" and has incorporated just the right amount to soundAt first listen loved 12 of the 15 songs, by third listen loved them all. Keep changing my mind but think Underneath is No 1, very special! All dance tunes are fine, Adam has put his finger on today's pop dance scene while still showcasing his wonderful versatile voice. He listened to us fans who said "too much electronics" and has incorporated just the right amount to sound contemporary. Many songs tug at the heartstrings as well. The production team is superb also. Expand
  39. May 15, 2012
    10
    I loved the funky songs on this album. The first half just wants to make you dance. The second half is very reflective and his voice just soars. One of the few albums I have purchases this year and most certainly the best. POP with breathtaking vocals, one of a kind.
  40. May 15, 2012
    10
    Well done album. Better than I expected and I expected it to to be good. The fast songs lead into the slower side of the album effortless. The regular album ends on a very moving note with Outlaws of Love, and the deluxe album has the perfect encores. A lot of the songs on Trespassing are going to be my summer jams.
  41. cmg
    May 15, 2012
    10
    this is a technically skilled yet immensely enjoyable album, that spans an emotional spectrum as it brings the listener on its full circle ride. lambert's vocals are lush and sensuous and sensational; and the album's production, while clearly a factor in creating the vibe, supports the vocals in a seamless fashion. it spans sensibilities of new and old genres and tastes, truly one of kindthis is a technically skilled yet immensely enjoyable album, that spans an emotional spectrum as it brings the listener on its full circle ride. lambert's vocals are lush and sensuous and sensational; and the album's production, while clearly a factor in creating the vibe, supports the vocals in a seamless fashion. it spans sensibilities of new and old genres and tastes, truly one of kind blend of beats, voice and sonic innovation. Expand
  42. May 15, 2012
    10
    I hope this is useful for non-fans and casual listeners. :-) And no, I don't work for Adam or RCA! LOL

    My cd arrives today, but I've spent the last week listening to the online stream. Until now, I've never heard an album where EVERY single song is awesome. My reactions to each track range from "I love this song" to "OMG I'm gonna faint!" Enthusiastic track-by-track reviews from
    I hope this is useful for non-fans and casual listeners. :-) And no, I don't work for Adam or RCA! LOL

    My cd arrives today, but I've spent the last week listening to the online stream. Until now, I've never heard an album where EVERY single song is awesome. My reactions to each track range from "I love this song" to "OMG I'm gonna faint!" Enthusiastic track-by-track reviews from reputable publications/blogs are cropping up everywhere. I've not seen any reviews that weren't positive. (With the exception of one shockingly homophobic rant. I won't say which site because they don't deserve hits.) I've seen several reviews that actually had a disclaimer that the reviewer was a non-fan but was happily converted by this amazing album.
    Unlike most albums that are just a couple hit singles with filler, Trespassing is an amazing, cohesive work of art. With the impressive soaring vocals and the maturity and depth of the song writing, one could call this pop music for grown-ups. There are many A-list collaborators, but Adam is the glue that binds it together - he was executive producer and co-wrote 12 of the 15 songs. I urge you to invest in the album, don't just cherry-pick and download individual tracks. I agree with many reviewers that if Trespassing can just get enough exposure, it could easily be Album of the year. Keep reading for track-by-track descriptions:

    The first 7 songs are exhilarating dance pop hits. "Trespassing" is all attitude and swagger; "Cuckoo" is a 'lets get crazy' dance party; "Shady" is naughty and absolutely funkaliscious; "Never Close Our Eyes" is a joyous celebration of life with soaring vocals; "Kickin' In" is an ode to the intoxication of the clubbing scene; "Naked Love" is an infectious, playful romp that's easy to sing along to; "Pop That Lock", about claiming your power, escalates to a bombastic blow-the-lid-off jam session.

    The energy of the second half of the album shifts to mid-tempo songs and ballads that are soulful and personal. "Better Than I Know Myself", which is about seeking reconciliation between the light and dark sides of self, is a great transition piece with a balance between slower, emotional verses and a more energetic chorus; "Broken English", about the frustration of communication problems, is a powerful, slow burn and some parts remind me of George Michael's heavier ballads; "Underneath" will rip your guts out. Achingly beautiful and deeply personal, it ebbs and flows between quiet vulnerability and a powerful demanding cry. Only Adam has the skill and artistry to pull off a song so emotional and vocally demanding; "Chokehold", about the addictive nature of a toxic relationship, has a throbbing beat and is both dark and hauntingly sensual; The standard album closes with "Outlaws of Love", a stripped down heartbreaker that also highlights Adam's incredible voice. It is a soulful lament inspired by the struggle for GLBT acceptance, but it captures the pain of anyone in a relationship that is unfairly condemned.

    The deluxe album includes 3 bonus tracks. Trust me, these gems are well worth the extra $2. "Runnin'", an intense, pounding plea for the strength to take command of a life that is dysfunctional and out of control, is utterly spellbinding - Adam uses his rarely-heard low register and soars almost 3 breathtaking octaves. "Take Back", also more up-tempo than other ballads, is filled with energetic frustration and the painful regret of a crumbling relationship. The rhythmic vocal embellishments are at times hypnotic, but in a very good way. "Nirvana", about the spiritual beauty of love, is a beautiful, ethereal lullaby and perfect to close the emotional journey of this album. Adam's voice is both exhilarating and calming.
    Expand
  43. May 15, 2012
    10
    Wow! I love that this is a pop album that has meaningful lyrics that are truly relatable to everyone! There are songs to dance and party to and songs that will bring you to tears. The music is fantastic and Adam's vocals really soar. You really can't go wrong if you purchase this album... should easily be the album of the year!
  44. May 15, 2012
    10
    Trespassing is simply put, a brilliant album. I have listened to the Deluxe version and I love every song. That is the first time that has happened to me since the Beatle's White album! Brilliant song writing and production! Trespassing is a vocal masterpiece and I don't expect to hear an album this good for a long time! Adam Lambert is the best male vocalist since...Jackie Wilson! LoveTrespassing is simply put, a brilliant album. I have listened to the Deluxe version and I love every song. That is the first time that has happened to me since the Beatle's White album! Brilliant song writing and production! Trespassing is a vocal masterpiece and I don't expect to hear an album this good for a long time! Adam Lambert is the best male vocalist since...Jackie Wilson! Love Trespassing so much! Expand
  45. May 15, 2012
    10
    It's a rare thing to like every song on an album, and even more rare to find a cohesive framework and well polished sound throughout. Trespassing is one of those rare finds. The album's first half of funky fierce fun dance tracks is balanced by the dynamic and angsty second half, leaving you eager to go back and listen all over again.
  46. May 15, 2012
    10
    I don't have enough good things to say about this album, so I'll just call it mind-boggling brilliant.. everything an album should be and so much more.
  47. May 16, 2012
    10
    The album is great! The songs are so catchy until I can't get them off my mind. The lyrics are very honest and good. If you haven't listened to it yet, just try & take a listen!
  48. May 16, 2012
    10
    The music is very strong. Funky dance, amazing production and that incredible voice taking it all to a diamond level. There are so many layers and details to each song. And the music hits hard, this is not frothy light pop, much more VISCERAL dance music. I also love the ballads where he takes you on a ride through 50 shades of feelings. The bonus tracks! Runnin' is an amazing tribalThe music is very strong. Funky dance, amazing production and that incredible voice taking it all to a diamond level. There are so many layers and details to each song. And the music hits hard, this is not frothy light pop, much more VISCERAL dance music. I also love the ballads where he takes you on a ride through 50 shades of feelings. The bonus tracks! Runnin' is an amazing tribal rythmn song which takes me to another place.

    And always, that VOICE. Powerful radiant voice.
    Expand
  49. May 16, 2012
    10
    Trespassing is a fantastic album! It takes you on a journey into the heart and soul of Adam Lambert, both the light side and the dark. Each song is uniquely different, yet all the songs hang together in a cohesive flow. I can hear Adam's musical influences, yet the album is distinctly current and fresh. This is an artist's album, and Adam's amazing voice paints the songs in brilliantTrespassing is a fantastic album! It takes you on a journey into the heart and soul of Adam Lambert, both the light side and the dark. Each song is uniquely different, yet all the songs hang together in a cohesive flow. I can hear Adam's musical influences, yet the album is distinctly current and fresh. This is an artist's album, and Adam's amazing voice paints the songs in brilliant and varied hues, from the joyous to sublime. Expand
  50. May 16, 2012
    10
    I an so excited to have received my copy of Trespassing. Adam has exceeded all my expectations for this new cd. From the fun, dancy songs to the soft, heart-tugging songs, this cd is nothing but awesomeness. Adam's vocals are in a league of their own.
  51. May 16, 2012
    10
    Tresspassing was more than worth the wait. The amazing vocals we've come to know and love from Adam supported by great grooves, hooks and lay you out emotion. Standout tracks for me are funkalicious Shady, happy groove of Naked Love, dubsteppin Pop that Lock, raw emotional Underneath and worth the additional cost of deluxe album is Runnin. But in truth though those are my favorites thereTresspassing was more than worth the wait. The amazing vocals we've come to know and love from Adam supported by great grooves, hooks and lay you out emotion. Standout tracks for me are funkalicious Shady, happy groove of Naked Love, dubsteppin Pop that Lock, raw emotional Underneath and worth the additional cost of deluxe album is Runnin. But in truth though those are my favorites there isn't a bad track and it is one of the few albums I own that I am happy to listen to start to finish. Expand
  52. May 16, 2012
    10
    It's just amazing, I think the album is so personal but very easy to make you feel resonance. I love the bonus, **** perfect, totally is a pure pleasantly surprised. The vocal is special, especially in the dark side. Love it, I eat them all.
  53. May 16, 2012
    9
    This album well do for Adam Lambert what fame monster did for lady gaga. The album cohesivly balances the light and dark sides of Adams personality, but also uptempo dance/electronica/funk borrowing trends from the past and present, and the result is a current, groundbreaking pop masterpiece. This album well transcend Lambert from reality star to the first worldwide megastar since Michael Jackson.
  54. May 16, 2012
    10
    There is not a skippable track on this entire album. From the fist-pumping dance party tracks (I dare you to try and not pound on your steering wheel while driving to the title track) to the raw emotion of Underneath, this is truly an album that will have you laughing, dancing and crying, sometimes all at once.
  55. May 16, 2012
    9
    Since I can't get this system to werk 4me, I'll just spell it out for you, Adam Lambert's Trespassing is brilliant! Not only did I enjoy every performance of Adam's on AI, but I have enjoyed everything he has done before & after. FYE was fantastic!!! Trespassing is soo good
    It's taking me time to enjoy & take in every note of each song he sings. Sorry, but I'm still on Shady!! My fav!
    Since I can't get this system to werk 4me, I'll just spell it out for you, Adam Lambert's Trespassing is brilliant! Not only did I enjoy every performance of Adam's on AI, but I have enjoyed everything he has done before & after. FYE was fantastic!!! Trespassing is soo good
    It's taking me time to enjoy & take in every note of each song he sings. Sorry, but I'm still on Shady!! My fav! Underneath, absolutely beautiful! His vocals are impeccable! I've enjoyed music in the past, but there is no other artist in this world who takes my breath away like Adam Lambert!! My score for Trespassing is a perfect 10 ! TY!
    Expand
  56. May 16, 2012
    10
    I am so floored by this album! Some of the songs already feel like old friends and others are so new and full of hidden depths. Adam has taken for his subject nothing less than one long overwhelming late-night confession of fear and love. And he has succeeded wildly.

    Trespassing is simplicity at its finest with no filler. There is genuine beauty to every urgent line of this record, and it
    I am so floored by this album! Some of the songs already feel like old friends and others are so new and full of hidden depths. Adam has taken for his subject nothing less than one long overwhelming late-night confession of fear and love. And he has succeeded wildly.

    Trespassing is simplicity at its finest with no filler. There is genuine beauty to every urgent line of this record, and it sounds so glorious it is impossible not to feel buoyant when listening to it.

    Most importantly Adam has found his voice. The title track, Trespassing, opens the album with a declaration of muscular resolve. No dream seems unrealistic and no amount of bravado seems out of place. This is the kind of song that shelters your fears and makes you stronger. It sets the tempo for a rare and wondrous adventure.

    The sway and drive of this music fills you with yearning and hope, from humor-laced, hedonistic escapes like "Shady" and "Kickin In" to devastating epics like "Outlaws of Love." In between are party anthems like "Cuckoo," "Naked Love," and "Never Close Our Eyes," the bombast and swagger of "Pop That Lock," and intensely emotional songs like "Better Than I Know Myself," "Broken English," "Chokehold," and all three bonus tracks.

    Ultimately, though, Trespassing is defined by one lyric, "Welcome to my world of truth." "Underneath" speaks of what happens when you are brought up to be full of love and the world doesn't love you back. Do you become jaded and cynical? Or do you find redemptive power? Because even here, flowing beneath the heart-breaking "red river of screams" there are glimmers of hope ("such a beautiful release / you inside of me").

    With Trespassing, Adam has taken the stand that anything is possible if we are not too terrified to let our emotions flow forth. He has left nothing on the field. Trespassing is an emotional inferno that leaves you with fire in your heart and tears in your eyes.
    Expand
  57. May 16, 2012
    10
    This is a masterpiece of the human condition. Universal themes from the the chase, the sensual, the sexual, the party, the fun, the connectedness, to the darkest despair, the fears, the addictiveness, the difficulties in communication, the longing, the rejection, the rawness, moments of realization, and in a way that gives the listener the ultimate hedonistic, primal and satisfyingThis is a masterpiece of the human condition. Universal themes from the the chase, the sensual, the sexual, the party, the fun, the connectedness, to the darkest despair, the fears, the addictiveness, the difficulties in communication, the longing, the rejection, the rawness, moments of realization, and in a way that gives the listener the ultimate hedonistic, primal and satisfying experience with beats and tunes that soar exquisitely around your senses. I can't even express in words how liberating and transformational this album is. For those who dare to experience the richness of life, this is an album that leaves you feeling empowered, hopeful, liberated and loved up with a new appreciation for life. Everybody on earth needs to get Trespassing! I think this album is going to be huge. The honesty Adam shares in describing the search and the epiphanies that helped him break through and dare to have that life makes me feel like being braver myself. Adam truly is inspirational. As Paula Abdul once commented that Adam dares to dance in the path of greatness ... fortune rewards the brave. And this album is brave. Earth shatteringly good. Expand
  58. May 16, 2012
    10
    Other reviewers have spoken about what a fun, funky, poignant, touching album this is. No need to repeat. So, as a classically trained musician and vocalist, let me focus on the mad talent of Lambert, the singer. Most folks comment on his remarkable, jaw-dropping range, and this album definitely demonstrates that, including a low register not featured on his previous album, that is aOther reviewers have spoken about what a fun, funky, poignant, touching album this is. No need to repeat. So, as a classically trained musician and vocalist, let me focus on the mad talent of Lambert, the singer. Most folks comment on his remarkable, jaw-dropping range, and this album definitely demonstrates that, including a low register not featured on his previous album, that is a surprising treat. But, range is just the beginning. Lambert has so many colors and textures to his voice. He can sing long, lyrical, crystal clear, ringing phrases. He can roughen it up with a growl. He can float high notes like a feather with his head voice. He can belt out impossibly high notes for a tenor in full voice. He can sing in a vulnerable, simple straight tone, or deliver powerful, almost operatic notes. All in service to the message of the individual song. He is a masterful interpreter of music and lyrics. He also creates layers and layers of vocal sound, providing almost all the backing vocals himself. He is one of the few pop/rock singers today who articulates his words so clearly that the listener understands all the lyrics. In Trespassing, Lambert has made sure to keep his voice front and center on all the songs, as it should be, being such a great instrument.


    Lambert is unique in being able to use all his classical training yet sound so effective with today's pop, rock, funk and ballads. Trespassing is a showcase and a masterclass for vocalists.
    Expand
  59. May 16, 2012
    10
    Trespassing is the best album I have heard in such a long time. The light side is full of retro blended with now creating a whole new exciting sound, From Trespassing (Award Winning) with a little Queen thrown in to Kickin In, Cuckoo, SHADY (OMG! how out of this world), Pop That Lock, Naked Love, Never Close our Eyes. Each day I am obsessed with a different song. The Dark side is full ofTrespassing is the best album I have heard in such a long time. The light side is full of retro blended with now creating a whole new exciting sound, From Trespassing (Award Winning) with a little Queen thrown in to Kickin In, Cuckoo, SHADY (OMG! how out of this world), Pop That Lock, Naked Love, Never Close our Eyes. Each day I am obsessed with a different song. The Dark side is full of the most gorgeous ballads, including the bonus tracks. Forget the whimpering ballads of today. This is total heavenly glory of the ballads. God Runnin and Take Back are on constant Repeat. The crowning glory as far as ballads is UNERNEATH. The most personal riveting, tears you to shreds song I have ever heard in my life. Anyone that does not breakdown at the end of the song has no heart or soul. Outlaws of love is such a beautiful song and Adam's vocals, the lyrics and melody will open the coldest of hearts. Broken English has so grown on me. Adam's vocals and arrangement has sold me on this song. Chokehold is just so good and should be a single, but RUNNIN, RUNNIN, RUNNIN From my heart is it for me. It is on repeat. This has to be a single!! I will never tire of listening to these songs. Adam should feel so proud.Trespassing is that exciting and that Great!!! Expand
  60. May 16, 2012
    10
    Trespassing is an amazing album! I can't stop listing to it! In first half of the album the music is fast and has you moving and dancing through all of the songs. Then the second half slows the beat down to a more ballad emotional and heart wrenching place where Adam's amazing vocals soar. The themes on this album are universal and everyone can relate to them. There is something forTrespassing is an amazing album! I can't stop listing to it! In first half of the album the music is fast and has you moving and dancing through all of the songs. Then the second half slows the beat down to a more ballad emotional and heart wrenching place where Adam's amazing vocals soar. The themes on this album are universal and everyone can relate to them. There is something for everyone on it. The best pop album out there today. Expand
  61. May 16, 2012
    10
    This album was more than I hoped for (and I hoped for a lot). I love Adam's voice, but I also love his personality, which I think really shines through on this album. He is sly and funny and snarky, and it all comes through in the music. He loves life, he loves love, and he totally understands that he is pushing the envelope with a lot of people in the US. This album shares the thrillThis album was more than I hoped for (and I hoped for a lot). I love Adam's voice, but I also love his personality, which I think really shines through on this album. He is sly and funny and snarky, and it all comes through in the music. He loves life, he loves love, and he totally understands that he is pushing the envelope with a lot of people in the US. This album shares the thrill of his adventure with us, but also all of the pain and anxiety he has gone through to get here. I like every single song on the album, which is rare for me, but my favorites also change from day to day. Today, I'm all about Runnin' and Underneath. Yesterday it was Shady and Pop That Lock. Who knows what tomorrow will bring? Expand
  62. May 16, 2012
    10
    Trespassing is an incredible CD. I am so in awe of this man, Adam Lambert. What an enchanting soul. He so delivers with all the songs, his voice is so mesmerizing. I can't wait to see him live again for era #2.
  63. May 16, 2012
    10
    Adam's album Trespassing keeps me coming back for more...it is an auditory pleasure. I cannot wait to see the live performances. Adam's ability to take a song and turn it on it's side is what captivates his audiences.
  64. May 16, 2012
    10
    My favorite things about Adam Lambert's new album TRESPASSING are 1. the vocals are up front and center and his voice is a thing of beauty, 2. The beats on this album are insane, the driving baselines and quirky rhythms keep this album great for the dance floor and the slower songs are good meditation for the soul. 3. Finally the order of the songs make the album flow flawlessly from oneMy favorite things about Adam Lambert's new album TRESPASSING are 1. the vocals are up front and center and his voice is a thing of beauty, 2. The beats on this album are insane, the driving baselines and quirky rhythms keep this album great for the dance floor and the slower songs are good meditation for the soul. 3. Finally the order of the songs make the album flow flawlessly from one song to the next. Perfectly put together! Expand
  65. May 16, 2012
    10
    Every song is a pop masterpiece and can stand on its own. "Trespassing" is an incredible anthemic song championing individuality. "Chokehold" is such a silky atmospheric sound it just oozes in your ears. No way you can sit still when "Kickin' In" is playing --it literally forces you up on the dance floor (or your living room floor). "Shady" is such a great collaboration with Sam SparrowEvery song is a pop masterpiece and can stand on its own. "Trespassing" is an incredible anthemic song championing individuality. "Chokehold" is such a silky atmospheric sound it just oozes in your ears. No way you can sit still when "Kickin' In" is playing --it literally forces you up on the dance floor (or your living room floor). "Shady" is such a great collaboration with Sam Sparrow and Nile Rodgers---love the bridge. What do you say about "Underneath" or "Outlaws of Love" except they are emotional and powerful--both deserve a Grammy Nod. Bottom line is this album rivals any of the No.ONE Pop Albums past and present. Expand
  66. May 16, 2012
    10
    This is Adam's baby & he's worked so hard for it & it shows!!! So much emotion & heart is in this album!! Adam is the most exciting artist I've seen in a very long time! He is the total package & Trespassing absolutely showcases this amazing artiist's talent & heart!! He told us it would be worth the wait & once again (as always) he's true to his word! It's time world for you to wake up &This is Adam's baby & he's worked so hard for it & it shows!!! So much emotion & heart is in this album!! Adam is the most exciting artist I've seen in a very long time! He is the total package & Trespassing absolutely showcases this amazing artiist's talent & heart!! He told us it would be worth the wait & once again (as always) he's true to his word! It's time world for you to wake up & embrace this amazing artist/human being!! PERFECTION=ADAM LAMBERT/TRESPASSING Expand
  67. MBP
    May 17, 2012
    10
    Trespassing by Adam Lambert excels on all levels from production to out of this world vocals. Thank you RCA for allowing Adam to steer his own course and decide his own fate with his sophomore album. He has outdone himself! Trespassing is a killer album and one I think will be grammy worthy and produce many hit singles. From funky dance to heartwrenching ballads, it is a masterpiece.Trespassing by Adam Lambert excels on all levels from production to out of this world vocals. Thank you RCA for allowing Adam to steer his own course and decide his own fate with his sophomore album. He has outdone himself! Trespassing is a killer album and one I think will be grammy worthy and produce many hit singles. From funky dance to heartwrenching ballads, it is a masterpiece. Thanks to Adam for taking his time and not rushing .. it was indeed well worth the extra months of waiting to trespass into Adam's life. We love and adore him.. just as he is... musically perfect! Expand
  68. May 18, 2012
    10
    Lambert makes a big step forward with his sophomore album, Trespassing. The songs take on a new form from Lambert's previous work on For Your Entertainment, adding in heavy bass lines, and wicked hooks. The first half of the album shows Lambert's sense for party and dance. The album opens with the title track, which is one of the album's best songs. "Trespassing" is a great opener and hasLambert makes a big step forward with his sophomore album, Trespassing. The songs take on a new form from Lambert's previous work on For Your Entertainment, adding in heavy bass lines, and wicked hooks. The first half of the album shows Lambert's sense for party and dance. The album opens with the title track, which is one of the album's best songs. "Trespassing" is a great opener and has single potential. The second track, "Cuckoo," is the album's best dance beat song the album has to offer. Lambert wails in the song, showing off his vocals, and struts himself with lyrics like "walk that walk like you don't give a f**k/you've got the right to turn it up and get down." If "Cuckoo" doesn't become a single then Glambert really is "Cuckoo." The next song starts off with a killer bass line. "Shady" is definitely a highlight of the CD, and is Lambert's first collaboration with a featured artist. The album's second single "Never Close Our Eyes" lines up next on the album, and is a nice, romanticized song explaining Lambert's sense for love. "Kickin' In" is another dance club song, with a chorus that will get replay in your head over and over again. Lambert shows off another club ready song with "Naked Love" which reminds me of GaGa's "Bad Romance." Lambert begins the song singing the oh-oh-oh hook of the chorus. Next Adam moves to another highlight track from the CD. "Pop That Lock" is banging beats and hooks that will keep anyone dancing. The eighth track is the lead single, "Better Than I Know Myself" which offers the softer, more vulnerable side to Lambert. Adam begins to slow down a bit now, bringing his classic, ballad-esque songs. "Broken English" offers Lambert's raw vocals to a song that will for sure be an ear worm. Next Adam goes all out with "Underneath" where he exposes everything he is, using lyrics and his vocal range to keep the slower songs just as exciting as the first half of the album. "Chokehold" is another good song on the album, and speaks of relationships. It isn't the album's best song, but it is definitely a critical element to TRESPASSING. The standard edition ends with the amazingly beautiful song "Outlaws of Love," where Lambert sings about gay marriage and being "branded by society." Over all, this album is one of the best I've ever heard and is most definitely one of my all time favorites. It is a must have for all Glambert fans. Expand
  69. May 18, 2012
    10
    I love the album, great dance tracks and beautiful mid-tempo and ballads too. Buy the Deluxe because those songs are really good! Adam's voice is a incredible instrument which he knows how to use to showcase it.
  70. May 21, 2012
    10
    This album has so much to it. Adam's vocals are amazing, as always, and the production has the right amount of adjustment to compliment his voice. When not listening to the album I find myself humming almost all of the songs during the day and unlike many other albums, all of these songs stand on their own. I truly hope Adam gets the recognition he so deserves.
  71. Jun 14, 2012
    10
    I am more than happy with Trespassing and have listened to it non-stop since it's release date. Every song is well written, brilliantly produced and Adam's vocals make each and every song brilliant. I can honestly say I can't find any fault with this album at all. I think Trespassing is destined for great things in the near future and will one day be considered a musical masterpiece. II am more than happy with Trespassing and have listened to it non-stop since it's release date. Every song is well written, brilliantly produced and Adam's vocals make each and every song brilliant. I can honestly say I can't find any fault with this album at all. I think Trespassing is destined for great things in the near future and will one day be considered a musical masterpiece. I just don't understand how the so called critics can find any fault with this album I love it and everyone I know who has heard the songs love each and every one of them. Expand
  72. Jul 10, 2013
    10
    With Trespassing, Adam Lambert enters into the realm of pop majesty. Everything is shown here: Freddy Mercury-style glam rock (Trespassing), dance pop glitter (Cuckoo), sleazy night-club disco (Shady, Kickin In), Bruno Mars pop single (Never Close Our Eyes), along with any number of rock ballads that showcase Lambert's incredible voice. The only faults to the album are that the bonusWith Trespassing, Adam Lambert enters into the realm of pop majesty. Everything is shown here: Freddy Mercury-style glam rock (Trespassing), dance pop glitter (Cuckoo), sleazy night-club disco (Shady, Kickin In), Bruno Mars pop single (Never Close Our Eyes), along with any number of rock ballads that showcase Lambert's incredible voice. The only faults to the album are that the bonus tracks (Runnin, Take Back, Nirvana) actually outshine some of the songs that made the final cut, leaving the listener of the non-deluxe version, while awed, feeling as if the album ends in an anti-climax, where the deluxe brings the listener into a world of musical fantasy sure to delight. Expand
  73. Nov 8, 2013
    10
    Q Magazine, a lame UK site, tanks Trespassing's score at a 40. Meanwhile, their site has NO REVIEWS or MENTIONS OF ANY US albums right now. Obvious strategy to try and impede Lambert's release at the time. Pathetic.
Metascore
66

Generally favorable reviews - based on 10 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 10
  2. Negative: 0 out of 10
  1. Jul 27, 2012
    40
    Trespassing is magnificent is its competence, but sadly, it doesn't appear to have an actual beating heart in it anywhere. [Aug 2012, p.102]
  2. Jul 6, 2012
    60
    If few of the songs are classics, his octave-leaping voice is often a showstopper.
  3. 60
    Trespassing isn't a totally cogent statement. Lambert suffers from a lack of restraint, while the second half of the album lags. But you have to admire Lambert's ability to go over the top and then ratchet higher still.