Trey Anastasio - Trey Anastasio
Trey Anastasio Image

Generally favorable reviews - based on 7 Critics What's this?

User Score

Universal acclaim- based on 14 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The official solo debut for the Phish head features 12 new Anastasio-penned tracks, with the guitarist backed by an eight-piece band.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 7
  2. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. This solo disc by Phish phrontman Trey Anastasio offers some delicious bait.
  2. For the most part, the album is an ebullient musical Mardi Gras, with Anastasio's dexterous, hard-driving guitar work the unifying thread.
  3. While the artifact quality and live vibe of this music come as no surprise, the show band emphasis of Trey Anastasio suggests that this artist may be placing a little less faith in the voodoo of improvisation and more in the payoff guaranteed by musicians who can tear up the same charts night after night.
  4. Sounds Phishy enough to satisfy the masses and fresh enough to reach those without a predisposition for patchouli and patchwork. [Jun 2002, p.76]
  5. His ambitious self-titled solo debut goes a long way in turning over a new musical leaf, thanks to the presence of a top-notch nine-piece band and a host of complex, melodically inventive tunes that could please a wide range of listeners.
  6. Closely packed with urgent horn breaks and friendly guitar solos, Anastasio's new songs are less diffuse than his old roomy improv workouts.
  7. 60
    Non-devotees may prove tougher to convince, but nothing here overstays its welcome -- and Phish fans once again have a reason to live. [Jun/Jul 2002, p.102]
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 8
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 8
  3. Negative: 0 out of 8