• Record Label:
  • Release Date:
Trigga Image

Generally favorable reviews - based on 12 Critics What's this?

User Score

Generally favorable reviews- based on 29 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The sixth full-length studio release album for the R&B singer features guest appearances from Justin Bieber, Juicy J, Mila J, Nicki Minaj, and Ty Dolla $ign.
Buy On

Top Track

Put your hands in the air (the air) Trigga put your, put your hands in the air Ooh na na Look what you did start it Ooh na na Why you gotta act so... See the rest of the song lyrics
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 12
  2. Negative: 0 out of 12
  1. Jul 1, 2014
    This is, no doubt, one of the most flagrantly lecherous commercial R&B albums of its time. It also has sharp hooks and slick productions to spare.
  2. Jul 1, 2014
    Trigga isn't as cohesive as 2009's Ready, but it's a sublime, soulful convergence of the sonic minimalism and oil-slicked synths of today's hip-hop and R&B, and its sound provides a charismatic contrast to its almost anhedonic pursuit of pleasure.
  3. Jul 2, 2014
    Wild, yet well-delivered songs showcase Songz as a master of a now lyrically unrestrained mainstream R&B standard.
  4. Jul 1, 2014
    It might all feel a little mechanical, but Trigga does hang together, and has a seductive power that (one presumes) is befitting of the man himself.
  5. Jul 9, 2014
    Filled with lust, desire and sexual journeys, Trey Songz reaches an expected level of mainstream success with Trigga, and while safe is always encouraged during sexual acts, perhaps Trey could’ve taken a few more risks with this album.
  6. Jul 3, 2014
    As sex-filled as Trigga is, typical bedroom R&B is no longer such a turn-on.... Nevertheless, Trigga is smooth and singable, with its share of gems.
  7. Jul 2, 2014
    Trigga is otherwise designed like a Hollywood blockbuster: squandered talent, obvious themes, and fleeting moments of creative excellence that stick among the clichés.

See all 12 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 2
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 2
  3. Negative: 0 out of 2
  1. Sep 2, 2014
    Trey has done it again with this one. What artists do you know who can make their sixth album their best one yet? Not many. For me every oneTrey has done it again with this one. What artists do you know who can make their sixth album their best one yet? Not many. For me every one of Trey’s albums has been better that the last and this is no exception.

    The album has great production, vocals, and visual concepts. Everything has had lots of work put into it and it shows. His vocals really shine as always. His falsetto is perfected and this is no doubt the best vocals shown on any one of his albums. It’s missing a few of the insane melodies and notes of Anticipation 2 but hey, it’s pretty hard to top Anticipation 2. (Maybe he will on Anticipation 3. Fingers crossed.)

    All of the features are great. Yes, even Justin Bieber (especially Justin Bieber) and Juicy J. Trey and Nicki together are always good and Mila J’s voice compliments Trey’s perfectly. Ty Dolla Sign is probably the weakest feature but his part is short so it doesn’t matter at all.

    Out of all 20 tracks on the deluxe version, not a single one is bad. I particularly love the first track "Cake" and the last track "Sneaky" so the album starts and ends very well. I prefer the songs on the second half of the album as I get more of a classic Trey Songz vibe.

    I could go into talking about all the different songs but this review is already getting long. It basically starts with the more up-tempo songs like Nana, Foreign, Touchin', Lovin', etc. But it gets really good halfway at Smartphones. The main subject and a recurring theme on the album is him cheating on his girl. It's nothing really new for him though. The way he sings it in smartphones will make it impossible for you to feel badly towards him!

    SUMMARY: 20 tracks on the album, and every single one is great. No filler. While at the same time the album is a cohesive body of work and plays fluidly from track to track. Vocals are great as always and his voice is the best it has ever been, but to me he isn’t singing the best that he can. Production is nice as well. 5/5.
  2. Aug 16, 2014
    Trey Songz comes back 2 years after his last release with his sixth album “Trigga”.
    At the first spin you can feel a different vibe compared
    Trey Songz comes back 2 years after his last release with his sixth album “Trigga”.
    At the first spin you can feel a different vibe compared to what you heard in his previous projects: the production on this album is the best we’ve heard in this genre in 2014.
    Plus, the songs on Trigga are more energetic; don’t expect slow-jams like “Dive In” or “Love Faces”, there’s only a few of them on this album.
    Some people from his old fan-base may not like it, but many listeners (me included) will appreciate this vibe.
    Anyway, if you miss that Trey, there are ballads like “SmartPhones” and “Mr. Steal Your Girl”.
    You probably already heard the DJ Mustard-produced track “Na Na”, perfect for clubs and radios.
    Among the features there’s a nice collab with Justin Bieber, in a remix that reinvents the single “Foreign” and it makes it one of the best songs on the album.
    There are other guests such as Nicki Minaj on “Touchin, Lovin”, Ty Dolla $ign on “Dead Wrong”, Mila J on “Disrespectful” and Juicy J on the trap-influenced “Late Night” produced by Mike Will Made It.
    The best production on Trigga is “Y.A.S.” which starts as a down-tempo for the first 3 minutes and then it switches to a mid-tempo. It’s something you would expect to find in a Justin Timberlake project.
    The lyrics on Trigga are sexually explicit, trademark of Trey’s discography. The main subject is Trey cheating on his girl.
    This is undoubtedly one of the best releases in 2014, for what concerns R&B.

    For more news and reviews check out The Next Tune on Facebook