User Score
8.2

Universal acclaim- based on 50 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 43 out of 50
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 50
  3. Negative: 7 out of 50

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. VClone
    Apr 6, 2006
    10
    Seems to be a love it or hate it. 10 or 0. I love it.
  2. DaveA
    May 27, 2006
    0
    crap sandwich
  3. jd
    Jun 20, 2006
    9
    damn fine album. Complex, bouncy, light, and full of heart.
  4. jr
    Jun 9, 2006
    10
    incredible. an archway to a beautiful cultural movement. do yourself a favour and seek this out. some of these songs will go down as my favourites of all time.
  5. PauloP
    Jun 9, 2006
    10
    A qualidade da seleção deste album é impressionante, um album magnifico
  6. RNelson
    Mar 24, 2006
    0
    Worst Album I've ever heard!!!!!!
  7. JakeW
    Mar 9, 2006
    10
    Whit this compilation do you got a notion of beauty, imagination and rich culture of this nation.
  8. JackpotBaby
    Apr 13, 2006
    10
    There's a reason that this is the highest-rated album of the year on this site: It's brilliant. That said, this is not for everyone. To my ears, it sounds like a cross between Joao Gilberto and a Nuggets boxset. If that sounds at all intriguing to you, check it out. You'll be glad you did.
  9. Pavers
    May 16, 2006
    10
    This album has some of the most creative music I have heard for a while. The Os Mutantes tracks are superb
  10. DavidM
    May 3, 2006
    9
    Oodles of Fun if you like the C-tier 60s garage sound of bands like the Seeds,Barbarians, and the Standells giving a Latin twist. No masterpieces, but a buttload of little charmers.
  11. BenT
    May 5, 2006
    10
    A perfect Tropicalia record from beginning to end, one of the year's finest releases.
  12. BeckaS
    Jun 9, 2006
    10
    lots and lots of fun.. lots of history too. Excellent CD if you are interested in learning about the foundations of the very exciting but little spoken about Tropicalia movement in Brazil.
  13. PC
    Jul 26, 2006
    10
    This music is simply timeless and worth every bit of your time.
  14. ToddW
    Nov 1, 2006
    0
    I'm not trying to be difficult, but the problem I have with albums like this is the Cherry Picking factor. You simply cannot take the best of a genre of music, combine it on multiple discs, release it for mass consumption, and then give it a perfect score. It's a REPRESENTATION, folks. Granted, most of us probably never would have heard these songs without something like this I'm not trying to be difficult, but the problem I have with albums like this is the Cherry Picking factor. You simply cannot take the best of a genre of music, combine it on multiple discs, release it for mass consumption, and then give it a perfect score. It's a REPRESENTATION, folks. Granted, most of us probably never would have heard these songs without something like this coming across the waters, but that's the fault of the vacuous suits calling themselves music programmers on our culture's airwaves. It's like taking the best of the English Invasion, putting it on K-tel, and then calling it the Album of the Year. It's simply absurd. If the album on which these songs sprung sucked Amazon water to begin with, chances are one song wasn't worth the time of day when it was originally released either. It smacks of people trying WAY too hard to educate the rest of us. The best music is that which is found, not shoved down our collective throats. I'm sorry, Josh. Expand
  15. Gruff
    Mar 13, 2006
    10
    I don't usually give anything 10, but I will make an exception for this compilation. Quite wonderful, full of energy and brimming with ideas. It's like discovering the Beatles all over again!
  16. RicardoS
    Mar 26, 2006
    0
    Crap.
  17. jackd
    Mar 27, 2006
    10
    Surprised this is not higher in the user score. HIghly recommended.
  18. IanM
    Apr 18, 2006
    7
    Interesting....very different....but wasn't exactly bowled over. I have heard Os Mutantes before.
  19. AaronS
    May 18, 2006
    10
    A near perfect primer on the great sounds of the Tropicalia movement of the late '60s. This is great stuff. Beautiully presented and with excellent liner notes. It will have you wanting more. Please note: One is entitled to one's opinion, but in this case, I highly doubt that the two zero star reviews on here even listened to this disc. I don't understand the mentality A near perfect primer on the great sounds of the Tropicalia movement of the late '60s. This is great stuff. Beautiully presented and with excellent liner notes. It will have you wanting more. Please note: One is entitled to one's opinion, but in this case, I highly doubt that the two zero star reviews on here even listened to this disc. I don't understand the mentality behind a zero rating just to negate a discs position. Ignornant. Expand
  20. JoshM
    May 2, 2006
    10
    I don't really like that people who are totally uninformed are coming in and posting zero ratings out of ingorance and completely negating the purpose of metacritic. Anyway, this is the best tropicalia collection you can get your hands on. If you aren't a fan of the genre, then fine, give it an 8.
  21. TomasX
    Jun 28, 2006
    10
    This album is amazing. Every track stands on its own, but together as a whole this is more interesting than most of the complitionas of any genre out there period!...and i work for a music retailer myself. Highly suggested to any fan of bossa nova/tropicalia, or funky beat in general. As for Dave A, he is just bitter cuz Brittney is Fat and pregnant and wont be comming out with a new This album is amazing. Every track stands on its own, but together as a whole this is more interesting than most of the complitionas of any genre out there period!...and i work for a music retailer myself. Highly suggested to any fan of bossa nova/tropicalia, or funky beat in general. As for Dave A, he is just bitter cuz Brittney is Fat and pregnant and wont be comming out with a new album anytime soon. Expand
  22. JimF
    Jul 1, 2006
    6
    I guess if I was rating this from the perspective of Tropicalia music, I'd give it a higher rating, but on the scale of new music for 2006, I give it a 6. This feels like something that 's ran its course and doesn't deserve the highest ranking of the year for new music. Not impressed.
  23. JustinN
    Aug 26, 2006
    10
    All compilations should be this informative and entertaining!
  24. scottc
    Sep 6, 2006
    6
    Just be aware, to the uninitiated or the bossa nova fan, about half of the songs on this CD come off as 60s showtunes. Think, the soundtrack to "Hair". The booklet is admittedly fantastic and does help give the music context as part of a larger political movement. But given the dissonant indian experiments and Oklahoma-tinged showtunes, dilettantes and more casual Brazilian music fans Just be aware, to the uninitiated or the bossa nova fan, about half of the songs on this CD come off as 60s showtunes. Think, the soundtrack to "Hair". The booklet is admittedly fantastic and does help give the music context as part of a larger political movement. But given the dissonant indian experiments and Oklahoma-tinged showtunes, dilettantes and more casual Brazilian music fans like might enjoy this more an interesting historical document than a either a relaxing or a rocking beginning to end listen. Expand
  25. ST
    Dec 24, 2006
    10
    I love it.
  26. colinm
    Feb 17, 2006
    9
    there are quite a few tropicalia compilations out there, but this one is top notch. it has all the staples from the genre's biggest artists, and it's a wonderful primer on an incredible and underappreciated movement in music.
  27. JMan
    Feb 27, 2006
    10
    A great introduction to Tropicalia and not one wasted minute of music!
  28. billye
    Sep 18, 2006
    10
    Wonderful compilation. Very impressed.
  29. JohnO
    Nov 12, 2006
    10
    Inspirational
Metascore
93

Universal acclaim - based on 10 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 10
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 10
  3. Negative: 0 out of 10
  1. And whereas the dark era that began with a military coup in 1964 is now relegated to Brazil's history, the music it inspired sounds fresher and more provocative than ever.
  2. One of the most important anthologies to come along in quite a while.
  3. Entertainment Weekly
    100
    A perfect mix of giddy tropical rhythms and Beatles-style experimentation. [27 Jan 2006, p.85]