• Record Label: Atlantic
  • Release Date: Dec 18, 2012
Metascore
64

Generally favorable reviews - based on 16 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 16
  2. Negative: 0 out of 16
  1. Dec 31, 2012
    60
    This is a step forward from the MC's previous effort, but it's been six years since the he has made an album that must be heard.
  2. Jan 8, 2013
    60
    Trouble Man's not the album you'll be recommending to less devout followers of the T.I. saga the way you would have King or Trap Muzik, but it's easily the most satisfying to fans of those albums in a long time.
  3. Jan 8, 2013
    50
    Trouble Man's scattershot approach makes it the realest album the guy could make in 2012, but that doesn't make it any good.
  4. Dec 21, 2012
    60
    His eighth album fuses lordly self-mythologizing with epic self-searching.
  5. 58
    His eighth album exhausts with pointless proclamations of hardness, only occasionally turning inward to contemplate actual heavy issues. [21 Dec 2012, p.67]
  6. Dec 31, 2012
    49
    Trouble Man is less senile in general than "Hello," but for too many of the album's 71 minutes, we listen in horror as T.I., 32, tries flaccidly to get down with the kids.
  7. Feb 7, 2013
    60
    A record that finely straddles his gruff past and glitzier present. DJ Toomp buoys T.I. on Trap Back Jumpin. An incandescent collaboration with André 3000 balances out an unfortunate Pink cameo.
  8. Dec 18, 2012
    50
    The one-time King of the South makes himself scarce on this anonymous and occasionally mawkish effort.
  9. Dec 18, 2012
    50
    It surrounds a handful of his sharpest, most insightful songs with far less effective material--tracks that either vague out into club-rap utility or sag hopelessly under the weight of cornball sentiment.
User Score
6.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 37 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 14
  2. Negative: 0 out of 14
  1. Dec 20, 2012
    10
    I Absolutely LOVE Trouble Man: Heavy Is The Head. T.I is one of my favorite rappers. This album is excellent and it just shows that T.I isI Absolutely LOVE Trouble Man: Heavy Is The Head. T.I is one of my favorite rappers. This album is excellent and it just shows that T.I is still the KING. Full Review »
  2. Dec 19, 2012
    8
    Not sure why the hate from the major critics, but this album is T.I.'s best since King. Great album, good lyrics, good beats, and a majorNot sure why the hate from the major critics, but this album is T.I.'s best since King. Great album, good lyrics, good beats, and a major improvement over Paper Trail and No Mercy. Easily a top ten album for the year. Full Review »
  3. Dec 20, 2012
    9
    This is one of those albums that you don't have to skip songs. There are a couple of songs that I could do without like the aimlessThis is one of those albums that you don't have to skip songs. There are a couple of songs that I could do without like the aimless "Addresses". That one song does not take away from my listening pleasure though. Another gripe I have with the album is that it sometimes loses its focus even with the help of skits. The album is not perfect but it is definitely another album to add to a very strong legacy. Full Review »