• Record Label: Atlantic
  • Release Date: Dec 18, 2012
Metascore
64

Generally favorable reviews - based on 16 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 16
  2. Negative: 0 out of 16
  1. Jan 7, 2013
    70
    Trouble Man is his first album since that second bid; it finds him finally returning to the lane that he abandoned somewhere around the time he included two Wyclef Jean songs on T.I. vs. Tip.
  2. 70
    Tip might be eager for another major hit. But fortunately, most of the album finds him delivering more modest pleasures, which, at least at the moment, work just fine, too.
  3. Dec 18, 2012
    75
    It seems cliche to say it, but Trouble Man: Heavy Is The Head has a little bit for everyone.
  4. Dec 18, 2012
    80
    This is a strong return to form for the self-proclaimed King of the South.
  5. Dec 31, 2012
    80
    The project is one of his best thus far by virtue of him composing an album in which listeners can empathize with how he views religion ("Hallelujah"), the club ("Ball"), women ("Guns and Roses," "Can You Learn," and "Crusin'") and so forth.
  6. Dec 31, 2012
    80
    T.I. is more lyrical than he often gets credit for, but it's his "swag" that truly separates him from the crowd, and Trouble Man is dripping with so much swag T.I. should bottle it and sell it.
  7. Feb 21, 2013
    80
    By combining the deep-bass beats and fast-spitting rhymes of Trap Muzik with mature, more-to-the-story rhymes, Tip finds himself back in the limelight. [Feb-Mar 2013, p.89]
User Score
6.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 37 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 14
  2. Negative: 0 out of 14
  1. Dec 20, 2012
    10
    I Absolutely LOVE Trouble Man: Heavy Is The Head. T.I is one of my favorite rappers. This album is excellent and it just shows that T.I isI Absolutely LOVE Trouble Man: Heavy Is The Head. T.I is one of my favorite rappers. This album is excellent and it just shows that T.I is still the KING. Full Review »
  2. Dec 19, 2012
    8
    Not sure why the hate from the major critics, but this album is T.I.'s best since King. Great album, good lyrics, good beats, and a majorNot sure why the hate from the major critics, but this album is T.I.'s best since King. Great album, good lyrics, good beats, and a major improvement over Paper Trail and No Mercy. Easily a top ten album for the year. Full Review »
  3. Dec 20, 2012
    9
    This is one of those albums that you don't have to skip songs. There are a couple of songs that I could do without like the aimlessThis is one of those albums that you don't have to skip songs. There are a couple of songs that I could do without like the aimless "Addresses". That one song does not take away from my listening pleasure though. Another gripe I have with the album is that it sometimes loses its focus even with the help of skits. The album is not perfect but it is definitely another album to add to a very strong legacy. Full Review »