User Score
6.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 35 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 35
  2. Negative: 5 out of 35

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 20, 2012
    10
    I Absolutely LOVE Trouble Man: Heavy Is The Head. T.I is one of my favorite rappers. This album is excellent and it just shows that T.I is still the KING.
  2. Dec 19, 2012
    8
    Not sure why the hate from the major critics, but this album is T.I.'s best since King. Great album, good lyrics, good beats, and a major improvement over Paper Trail and No Mercy. Easily a top ten album for the year.
  3. Dec 19, 2012
    7
    Good effort from T.I. . He tried to diversify this album to have something for everybody. Unfortunately, this led to atrocious songs such as the heavily-auto tuned "Cruisin" and cheesy Lil Wayne collaboration "Ball". On the bright side, the album has some sweet street bangers such as "G Season" and "Addresses". However, my favorite track is the touching song "Wonderful Life", where T.I. speaks with his deceased father and best friend Philant "Big Phil" Johnson. I would definitely recommend this album for casual hip hop listeners, but it lacks flare for the more "serious" hip-hop heads. Expand
  4. Dec 20, 2012
    9
    This is one of those albums that you don't have to skip songs. There are a couple of songs that I could do without like the aimless "Addresses". That one song does not take away from my listening pleasure though. Another gripe I have with the album is that it sometimes loses its focus even with the help of skits. The album is not perfect but it is definitely another album to add to a very strong legacy. Expand
  5. Mar 15, 2013
    10
    Amazing. I haven't enjoyed an album as much in years, I was going to give it an 8/9 but 'Wounderful Life" makes this a perfect score worthy for me, such an amazing song.
  6. Mar 15, 2013
    10
    T.I is simply amazing, this guy's flow is just unbelievable, I loved this album, obviously it's not since Wayne is on it and I hated 'Ball' but it's pretty good, more people should buy it imo.
  7. Dec 23, 2012
    5
    I had some high hopes for this album, especially after all the legal trouble Tip had over the last little bit and how underwhelming Paper Trail was....while some of the tracks are straight fire (G Season, Can you learn, etc), others felt a bit forced and could have been left off Paper Trail or were created by focus group studies (guns and roses lol). I think TI is one of the best rappers...but this album feels too uneven and a bit disappointing. Cmon TIP! Expand
  8. Dec 19, 2012
    7
    TI is one of my favorite out there today. Quality cameos on other MC's tracks and even putting out mixtapes on occasion led to some bangers. This album didn't really live up to his past works. Had some good guests on it but seemed as though it was put together in a hurry or something. Many of the tracks have the same sound. But still some quality lyrics to find. Overall disappointment tho'.
  9. Dec 23, 2012
    9
    The only reason I gave this album a 9 was for a few industry singles like the one with lil wayne, but other than that trouble man is solid and worthy of notice.
  10. Dec 26, 2012
    4
    The collaborations of this album would do blush Justin Bieber (P!nk, Cee Lo Green, Akon). T.I. is more than ten years in the music business, but it's always the same music.
  11. Dec 26, 2012
    7
    A very good album. The production is on point and Tip puts his skill on display, especially on songs such as "Sorry" and "Hello". The former features Andre 3000, who contributes well, but Clifford has already taken the show by the end of his first verse. The album does have its slip ups, though. "Wildside" is a really bad song. Rocky delivers a good verse but that isnt enough save the terrible beat, tacky chorus and Tips underwhemling performance. "Hallelujah" may have a good (and overused) message but its pretty corny.
    "Cruisin" isnt good but it isnt totally ignorable. This may not be Tips best album, or even in his top 4, but its satisfying nonetheless.


    Top Song:
    "Trap Back Jumpin"
    "Sorry"
    "Guns And Roses"
    "Hello"
    "Who Want Some"
    Expand
  12. Mar 1, 2013
    6
    It's okay, I suppose. It's not Trap Muzik but at least its not No Mercy. T.I. is one of the souths best ever rappers, and Trouble Man: Heavy Is The Head is a statement of his intent to stay secure in that position. Not his worst, but by no means his best. 6/10
  13. Jul 16, 2013
    10
    Trouble Man: Heavy is the Head is another classic album by T.I. The biggest mistake you can make coming into this album is thinking that it will be like his last 2 albums. While I can still find a strong respect for his last 2 albums, they didn't contain the consistent realness that an album needs to be a classic. This album is a completely different story. It is his best story telling album. Listening to this album, T.I. paints a picture of his grind throughout differently than he or anyone else has and spells out what's most important in his life in the very first song. He has songs that touch on very personal subjects. There are songs for a variety of taste thrown in at well placed times throughout the album as well, but no songs are too far away from what makes T.I. the artist that he was his first 5 albums. Almost every song that remotely seems like the T.I. from the last 2 albums, which has to be very few, is an improved version both productively and lyrically. The production and sound is once again something new, but great for the game as T.I. is usually aware and talented enough to get the right people and assist in making sure of. Every feature is a positive for the album with the exception of "Hello" with Cee Lo Green due to the disappointment of his full potential really not coming close to being reached. The song is neutral for the album because of T.I.'s part and the portion of importance it holds for the album as a whole. The Lil Wayne feature is pretty much what you expect, which is decent but not great, but he has been the most influential rapper in the game for whatever reason the past decade, so T.I. probably wanted to get his stamp in there. Most of the features did reach their full potential though and assist in making the album a classic, which T.I. should get some credit for knowing the people to include to get the right feel across. These features include Meek Mill, A$AP Rocky, Andre 3000, R Kelly, P!NK (yes P!NK), and Akon. The album also includes a sample of Marvin Gaye's song "Trouble Man" which partly inspired the title of the album, and Akon covering a sample of Elton John's "Your Song". This album solidifies T.I.'s status as a top 3 artist of all time when you take into account his talent on every level and longevity. Collapse
Metascore
64

Generally favorable reviews - based on 16 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 16
  2. Negative: 0 out of 16
  1. Feb 21, 2013
    80
    By combining the deep-bass beats and fast-spitting rhymes of Trap Muzik with mature, more-to-the-story rhymes, Tip finds himself back in the limelight. [Feb-Mar 2013, p.89]
  2. Feb 7, 2013
    60
    A record that finely straddles his gruff past and glitzier present. DJ Toomp buoys T.I. on Trap Back Jumpin. An incandescent collaboration with André 3000 balances out an unfortunate Pink cameo.
  3. Jan 8, 2013
    50
    Trouble Man's scattershot approach makes it the realest album the guy could make in 2012, but that doesn't make it any good.