Trouble Man: Heavy Is the Head Image
Metascore
64

Generally favorable reviews - based on 16 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 34 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The eighth full-length studio album for the Atlanta rapper includes guest appearances from such artists as Akon, Andre 3000, ASAP Rocky, Cee Lo Green, R. Kelly, Lil Wayne, Meek Mill, and Pink.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 16
  2. Negative: 0 out of 16
  1. Feb 21, 2013
    80
    By combining the deep-bass beats and fast-spitting rhymes of Trap Muzik with mature, more-to-the-story rhymes, Tip finds himself back in the limelight. [Feb-Mar 2013, p.89]
  2. Dec 31, 2012
    80
    T.I. is more lyrical than he often gets credit for, but it's his "swag" that truly separates him from the crowd, and Trouble Man is dripping with so much swag T.I. should bottle it and sell it.
  3. Dec 18, 2012
    75
    It seems cliche to say it, but Trouble Man: Heavy Is The Head has a little bit for everyone.
  4. Dec 21, 2012
    60
    His eighth album fuses lordly self-mythologizing with epic self-searching.
  5. Jan 8, 2013
    60
    Trouble Man's not the album you'll be recommending to less devout followers of the T.I. saga the way you would have King or Trap Muzik, but it's easily the most satisfying to fans of those albums in a long time.
  6. Jan 8, 2013
    50
    Trouble Man's scattershot approach makes it the realest album the guy could make in 2012, but that doesn't make it any good.
  7. Dec 31, 2012
    49
    Trouble Man is less senile in general than "Hello," but for too many of the album's 71 minutes, we listen in horror as T.I., 32, tries flaccidly to get down with the kids.

See all 16 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 13
  2. Negative: 0 out of 13
  1. Mar 15, 2013
    10
    T.I is simply amazing, this guy's flow is just unbelievable, I loved this album, obviously it's not since Wayne is on it and I hated 'Ball' but it's pretty good, more people should buy it imo. Expand
  2. Mar 15, 2013
    10
    Amazing. I haven't enjoyed an album as much in years, I was going to give it an 8/9 but 'Wounderful Life" makes this a perfect score worthy for me, such an amazing song. Expand
  3. Dec 20, 2012
    10
    I Absolutely LOVE Trouble Man: Heavy Is The Head. T.I is one of my favorite rappers. This album is excellent and it just shows that T.I is still the KING. Expand
  4. Dec 19, 2012
    8
    Not sure why the hate from the major critics, but this album is T.I.'s best since King. Great album, good lyrics, good beats, and a major improvement over Paper Trail and No Mercy. Easily a top ten album for the year. Collapse
  5. Dec 19, 2012
    7
    Good effort from T.I. . He tried to diversify this album to have something for everybody. Unfortunately, this led to atrocious songs such as the heavily-auto tuned "Cruisin" and cheesy Lil Wayne collaboration "Ball". On the bright side, the album has some sweet street bangers such as "G Season" and "Addresses". However, my favorite track is the touching song "Wonderful Life", where T.I. speaks with his deceased father and best friend Philant "Big Phil" Johnson. I would definitely recommend this album for casual hip hop listeners, but it lacks flare for the more "serious" hip-hop heads. Expand
  6. Dec 19, 2012
    7
    TI is one of my favorite out there today. Quality cameos on other MC's tracks and even putting out mixtapes on occasion led to some bangers. This album didn't really live up to his past works. Had some good guests on it but seemed as though it was put together in a hurry or something. Many of the tracks have the same sound. But still some quality lyrics to find. Overall disappointment tho'. Expand
  7. Dec 26, 2012
    4
    The collaborations of this album would do blush Justin Bieber (P!nk, Cee Lo Green, Akon). T.I. is more than ten years in the music business, but it's always the same music. Expand

See all 13 User Reviews