Trouble Will Find Me - The National
User Score
8.5

Universal acclaim- based on 161 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 4 out of 161

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 5, 2014
    8
    The National's 6th album is another terrific effort and is closer in style to Boxer than predecessor High Violet.
    Opener "I Should Live In Salt" builds slowly and is a relatively low key beginning to the record but the album really comes to life with the magnificent "Demons" - one of the bands best tracks to date. This is followed up with a sequence of heavy hitters - "Don't Swallow The
    Cap", "Fireproof", and "Sea of Love" would have you believe the band are playing all their trump cards in the first half of the album and while there is an element of truth to this, the 2nd half of the album has its own share of "genius" moments ("I Need My Girl", "Pink Rabbits", "Graceless").

    In isolation, "Trouble Will Find Me" is an outstanding album. The problem with it is that prior to releasing it, The National released 3 pretty flawless albums in a row. In "Alligator", "Boxer" and "High Violet", The National went from indie darlings to widely known indie rock kings that your parents had heard of. Trouble Will Find Me sits on the shelf below their three previous efforts as sometimes it retreads old ground without the same fire.

    There aren't as many "shiver down the spine" moments on TWFM as we had become accustomed to with The National but I will say it again, in isolation, its a terrific album and one of the better ones released in 2013.
    Expand
  2. Mar 31, 2014
    7
    The National have become one of my favorite new bands. All their albums are great, not a bad one in the bunch. Watching their sound progress has been fun too, from the confused Sad Songs for Dirty Lovers & Alligator, to the focused and brilliant Boxer, to the heavy produced indie masterpiece High Violet, and now we come to Trouble Will Find Me. This is a great album, pure and simple, I honestly can I say I only dislike one song, Heavenfaced (it's just bad). But the problem here isn't the one song, it's the idea they haven't grown, like with every previous album. It's like they took the best aspects of Boxer and High Violet, yet somehow failed to create something that felt new at all. It has a punchier feeling like Boxer and it has the emotion of High Violet, but as a whole it's lacking. When you take a look at each individual song, it seems like an amazing album, with an almost perfect score. I Should Live in Salt is a beautiful, and amazing opening track, which quickly become one of my favorite songs by them. Deep cuts This is the Last Time, I Need My Girl, and Humiliation are also standouts. But the problem is some of the songs I feel like i've heard before. Don't Swallow the Cap, Sea of Love, and Gracless; yes all fantastic songs, but sound like songs off Alligator and Boxer. Yes the album can stand alone great, but the bands past discography cannot be completely ignored when reviewing. Also my complaint for this album is the lyrics. It really seems like Matt has backed off a bit, there a many overly repeated phrases, which has always been his thing, but it seemed like verses weren't as important. And there is just a whole lack of depth to most the songs. Musically the album is strong, and the songs are great, but being a National fan, this isn't the step in the right direction, it's just a great album that's what we have now come to expect.

    B
    Expand
  3. Feb 22, 2014
    6
    Boxer was doubtlessly The National's high career point, but unfortunately, the albums since then have just felt a little bit too slow and down in the dumps. High Violet, though it is a generally good album, failed greatly to recapture some of the beats and grooves and remained a somewhat difficult, slow burner. And here, it's not that Trouble Will Find Me is just plain boring, its just that as a whole, it's too much of a drag and actually has far less of that familiar charisma that The National usually have. Expand
  4. Jan 29, 2014
    7
    Nothing new from The National, but sometimes you don't need something new when what you already have is darn near incredible. Aside from the first four opening tracks, I found myself forgetting what the rest of the album sounds like, although I had listened through it three times already. It blends together a bit much, perhaps a Trouble Will Find Me EP could have sufficed... I can't agree with the magnanimous positivity of the critical hype, but I can agree that The National has found their sweet spot, and it's just as good as ever.
    Stand out tracks are I Should Live In Salt and Don't Swallow the Cap.
    Expand
  5. Jan 4, 2014
    10
    Everything with this album is just right. Not to be somethintryingg "never seen" The National delivered power and energy for living on this LP. Is not something easy to hear when you are a hardcore ofttenly music fan, but it is respect for what music scince the very start means. (sorry for ortigraphy, im lerning)
  6. j30
    Aug 30, 2013
    9
    Imagine you've gone on this really long journey with this person you just met. Through the years you have experienced highs and lows together. After all those experiences you have had together, you find you kind of understand one another for better or worse. That's where I am at with The National. I feel like I understand Trouble Will Find Me after listening to Boxer and High Violet. TWFM feels like a natural progression from its predecessors. I don't know if The National has ever sounded this comfortable in their career. Who knows maybe trouble will find us. Expand
  7. Jun 18, 2013
    7
    their weakest album in a while. not to say that it's bad, it of course has it's standout tracks, but unlike High Violet, Alligator, and Boxer, it's non-standout tracks aren't quite as excellent. but weakest for the national does not translate into bad; the album is still very good. 7/10
  8. Jun 13, 2013
    10
    The way I know I love a National record is when I hear it for the first time and I either find it dull or lacking in some form, but with repeated listens opens up a completely different alternative view on it. A National record always takes time to fully grasp, but when it hits you, it hits you with fluttering emotions that you won't be able to escape for awhile. Trouble Will Find Me is no different. It's The National's most heart wrenching record, one that exposes Matt Berninger for who he truly is.

    All In All, Trouble Will Find Me is an excellent record and The National have done what only a few bands have accomplished in their careers: crafted three consecutive masterpieces of albums. A
    Expand
  9. Jun 1, 2013
    9
    After the success of their last album ‘High Violet’ The National’s next offering was always going to be a highly anticipated record and ‘Trouble Will Find Me’, their sixth, is perhaps their best to date. From the epic ‘I Should Live In Salt’ through its thirteen tracks and hour runtime contains some of the best songs that Matt and co have written. Musically rich and layered it is The National’s trademark sound and Matt’s lyrics that make every inch of this record a treasure. Lead single ‘Demons’ builds beautifully as Matt sings ‘Do not know what’s wrong with me, Sours in the cup, When I walk into a room, I do not light it up, Instruments ebb and flow from quiet to loud and back again and it is the juxtaposition between the fuller sounds, sweeping strings, guitars played with just a little more force to the delicate and spacious moments where the songs come alive. The presence of St. Vincent and Sharon Van Etten throughout, although subtle, cannot be ignored as theirs is such an integral part of the overall sound as is Sufjan Stevens again lurking in the background providing drum machine to certain tracks. Songs like ‘I Need My Girl’ and the stand out ‘Pink Rabbits’ are heart breaking the latter containing the lines ‘I'm so surprised you want to dance with me now, I was just getting used to living life without you around, I'm so surprised you want to dance with me now, You always said I held you way too high off the ground’. It ends with Matt repeating ‘You said it would be painless, The needle in the dark, You said it would be painless, It wasn't that at all’ which is just one example of some of the many memorable moments contained within the lyrics. While some may wrongly label the band miserable because they tackle some dark issues ‘Trouble Will Find Me’ has the uncanny knack of still being light, it’s not a record that will depress you despite its themes, which is a skill in itself. I could go on about just how good this record is but I don’t want to spoil it for you all I will say in conclusion is I can’t recommend it highly enough and I will bet money that when they do the album of the year lists this record will feature in most of them and if not at the top certainly close. Expand
  10. May 31, 2013
    10
    All I can say is, The National are still maintaining their solemn lyrics, but Trouble Will Find Me is just their brilliance being perfected from head to toe. It's sad, gloomy and nice. It is definitely a must-buy.
  11. May 25, 2013
    9
    The National produce consistently solid music. This is a very nice follow up to High Violet an album which still holds a place among my all time favorites. As I listen to Trouble Will Find Me, I feel like a passenger on a train that is making its way across a desolate landscape in the dead of night. I will gladly be a passenger on that train time and again. There is a familiar warmth that is infused in these haunting, rhythmic songs. Love it. Expand
  12. BKM
    May 23, 2013
    9
    Trouble Will Find Me is another gloriously dark and beautiful album from the Brooklyn based indie-rockers. The most telling sign of just how good this band really is lies in the fact that this album doesn't even come close to the greatness of 2010's High Violet, yet it still towers over most of this year's other releases. What mote needs to be said?
  13. May 23, 2013
    10
    Such a good record. It's like a mix of the three that came before it. Give it half a dozen listens and you will be hooked. Standouts are Pink Rabbits, This Is The Last Time, Graceless and Hard To Find. Best band of the 21st century so far. Fourth consecutive album to get 82+ on Metacritic. Amazing.
  14. May 22, 2013
    10
    Trouble Will Find Me, the sixth studio album from The National, sees a band at their most comfortable and self-assured. They know what they do well and they go for it without worrying about what critics or even fans will think. In the press release that announced the new album, front-man Matt Berninger said, “After touring High Violet, I think we felt like we’d finally gotten there. Now we could relax– not in terms of our own expectations but we didn’t have to prove our identity any longer.” This way of thinking is extremely apparent on Trouble Will Find Me and the band is clearly making the songs they want to make, and most importantly, doing it as well as they ever have....

    Read More http://www.recomedia.net/music/trouble-will-find-me-review/
    Expand
  15. May 21, 2013
    9
    I am now on the bandwagon. Really haven't been able to really dig this band till now. I did try before I listened to this album six times in a row. I think u have to be in the right frame of mind to appreciate this dark and subtle music. What hooks me on this album are the lyrical hooks. The songs are led by the vocals which is perfect for this mood music. Without the astute and great songwriting the music is unremarkable. But vocals lyrics incredible!! A little herbotanical helps as well like it does with a lot of great music Expand
  16. May 21, 2013
    3
    Another album full of laments of the most cliche parts of life, don't listen to this unless you love pitch-dropped pop songs (for you who don't understand metaphors: pop songs that have alternative music talking about depression) or a teenager desperate for love. If anything that is real critique on this album, this could've been easily called High Violet 2. I give it a 3 for the poor members remaining in the alcohol drenched grip of the manipulative singer. Expand
  17. May 21, 2013
    10
    Since the third listen to High Violet, I wanted this record—just like every fan of The National. With that kind of anticipation and expectation, most bands would probably stumble and produce something lackluster and just shy of good. The National has done something else entirely. They have soared. This is a beautiful record, with music and vocals to listen to again and again; it's nearly perfect. Don't think about the "grower" talk. This sounds great the first time. It's that it gets so MUCH better every time you listen to it after that. The ability to make music that touches you, then astounds you and finally weaves it's way into your life is not on commonly found. It's a special group that can do it, and The National are very special indeed. Expand
  18. May 21, 2013
    9
    I'm still waiting on Matt and company to make a bad album. And just like everything in their discography, I discover something new with each listen. All their albums are growers and this one has already started out really high for me.
  19. May 21, 2013
    10
    Lush, beautiful arrangements and Berninger's most immediate and visceral lyrics yet stand out on Trouble Will Find Me. Throughout the record, the songs go numerous places; frequently building, pulling back, building again, and finally, catharsis. This is most evident in Graceless, one of the most profound tracks they've ever recorded in their illustrious career. Every song here holds its weight, but Slipped, for its heart-breaking lyrics really stands out. This is an album that demonstrates a tremendous band at its most confident, fully formed, and life affirming. Trouble Will Find Me stands strong among their masterful catalog. 10/10. Expand
  20. May 21, 2013
    7
    A unique voice spinning oodles of tightly woven indie rock tracks that blend into a familiar crowd. The breezy feel sweeps you off your feet, but doesn't lift you high enough to touch the clouds.
  21. May 21, 2013
    10
    The National isn't changing their sound much. There are some differences, but their signature style is still in tact. That mans, of course, that this is also just as good as any album from The National. It's poignant, darkly humorous, sometimes just really bleak, and it's never afraid to totally rock your face clean off. While I can't say where this lies in The National's discography (arguably better than Boxer, maybe even High Violet), this is easily one of the best releases of 2013. Collapse
Metascore
84

Universal acclaim - based on 44 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 42 out of 44
  2. Negative: 0 out of 44
  1. Jul 3, 2013
    89
    The National reveled in self-effacing jokes between the heaviness of their songs, and Trouble finally finds that balance on disc.
  2. Jun 18, 2013
    80
    It is, by any measure, a lovely, lovingly made record, its 13 tracks coming to enveloping climaxes via mystifyinng, electrifying turns of phrase. [No.99, p.51]
  3. 80
    The difference on Trouble Will Find Me is that everything feels clarified through a decade of wisdom, with volatility frequently superseded by sensibility.