Trouble Will Find Me - The National
Trouble Will Find Me Image
Metascore
84

Universal acclaim - based on 44 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.5

Universal acclaim- based on 156 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The sixth studio release for the Brooklyn indie rock quintet features guest appearances from Annie Clark of St. Vincent, Richard Reed Parry of Arcade Fire, Sufjan Stevens, and Sharon Van Ette.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 42 out of 44
  2. Negative: 0 out of 44
  1. 100
    The National are such a powerfully gifted band, they need no theatrics to deliver an absolutely stone-cold beast of an album. With the music that is on here there is yet another thirteen songs to savor and salivate over until the next batch of songs comes about.
  2. May 16, 2013
    90
    While The National don't progress or indeed offer anything new to outstanding cynics, they instead rejoice in their strengths of detailing life and all its sorry baggage in the most beautiful of ways.
  3. May 30, 2013
    90
    Trouble Will Find Me is impeccably sequenced, even at thirteen songs the rare National record that doesn’t contain “the one song they should have obviously left off.”
  4. May 16, 2013
    80
    While catharsis never comes, there are glimpses of light coming through at the edges, and a sense of perfect order among the chaos.
  5. May 24, 2013
    80
    On a superficial level, Trouble Will Find Me, the National’s latest full-length LP, probably won’t convert any listeners who’ve written off the band’s music as boring.... Of course, the power’s in the poetics, and Berninger concocts some truly heart-wrenching images this time around.
  6. May 20, 2013
    80
    The guests on Trouble Will Find Me are equally impressive (Sufjan Stevens, Sharon Van Etten), but the National, no question, are the real stars of the show.
  7. May 14, 2013
    60
    For a band who sing so often about matters of the heart and emotional connection, much of Trouble Will Find Me sounds oddly on autopilot. [Jun 2013, p.106]

See all 44 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 21
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 21
  3. Negative: 1 out of 21
  1. May 21, 2013
    10
    The National isn't changing their sound much. There are some differences, but their signature style is still in tact. That mans, of course, that this is also just as good as any album from The National. It's poignant, darkly humorous, sometimes just really bleak, and it's never afraid to totally rock your face clean off. While I can't say where this lies in The National's discography (arguably better than Boxer, maybe even High Violet), this is easily one of the best releases of 2013. Expand
  2. Jan 4, 2014
    10
    Everything with this album is just right. Not to be somethintryingg "never seen" The National delivered power and energy for living on this LP. Is not something easy to hear when you are a hardcore ofttenly music fan, but it is respect for what music scince the very start means. (sorry for ortigraphy, im lerning) Expand
  3. May 21, 2013
    10
    Lush, beautiful arrangements and Berninger's most immediate and visceral lyrics yet stand out on Trouble Will Find Me. Throughout the record, the songs go numerous places; frequently building, pulling back, building again, and finally, catharsis. This is most evident in Graceless, one of the most profound tracks they've ever recorded in their illustrious career. Every song here holds its weight, but Slipped, for its heart-breaking lyrics really stands out. This is an album that demonstrates a tremendous band at its most confident, fully formed, and life affirming. Trouble Will Find Me stands strong among their masterful catalog. 10/10. Expand
  4. May 21, 2013
    9
    I am now on the bandwagon. Really haven't been able to really dig this band till now. I did try before I listened to this album six times in a row. I think u have to be in the right frame of mind to appreciate this dark and subtle music. What hooks me on this album are the lyrical hooks. The songs are led by the vocals which is perfect for this mood music. Without the astute and great songwriting the music is unremarkable. But vocals lyrics incredible!! A little herbotanical helps as well like it does with a lot of great music Expand
  5. May 25, 2013
    9
    The National produce consistently solid music. This is a very nice follow up to High Violet an album which still holds a place among my all time favorites. As I listen to Trouble Will Find Me, I feel like a passenger on a train that is making its way across a desolate landscape in the dead of night. I will gladly be a passenger on that train time and again. There is a familiar warmth that is infused in these haunting, rhythmic songs. Love it. Expand
  6. Jun 5, 2014
    8
    The National's 6th album is another terrific effort and is closer in style to Boxer than predecessor High Violet.
    Opener "I Should Live In
    Salt" builds slowly and is a relatively low key beginning to the record but the album really comes to life with the magnificent "Demons" - one of the bands best tracks to date. This is followed up with a sequence of heavy hitters - "Don't Swallow The Cap", "Fireproof", and "Sea of Love" would have you believe the band are playing all their trump cards in the first half of the album and while there is an element of truth to this, the 2nd half of the album has its own share of "genius" moments ("I Need My Girl", "Pink Rabbits", "Graceless").

    In isolation, "Trouble Will Find Me" is an outstanding album. The problem with it is that prior to releasing it, The National released 3 pretty flawless albums in a row. In "Alligator", "Boxer" and "High Violet", The National went from indie darlings to widely known indie rock kings that your parents had heard of. Trouble Will Find Me sits on the shelf below their three previous efforts as sometimes it retreads old ground without the same fire.

    There aren't as many "shiver down the spine" moments on TWFM as we had become accustomed to with The National but I will say it again, in isolation, its a terrific album and one of the better ones released in 2013.
    Expand
  7. May 21, 2013
    3
    Another album full of laments of the most cliche parts of life, don't listen to this unless you love pitch-dropped pop songs (for you who don't understand metaphors: pop songs that have alternative music talking about depression) or a teenager desperate for love. If anything that is real critique on this album, this could've been easily called High Violet 2. I give it a 3 for the poor members remaining in the alcohol drenched grip of the manipulative singer. Expand

See all 21 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best Albums of 2013

    The Best Albums of 2013 Image
    Published: December 19, 2013
    We reveal our final official list of 2013's highest-scoring albums.