True Romance

Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 18 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 18
  2. Negative: 0 out of 18
Buy On
  1. Apr 15, 2013
    90
    Minor quibbles aside (Set Me Free is a little over-wrought and clichéd), True Romance is a simply stunning record.
  2. 85
    Is it worth the time, passion and investment of the listener? To those unfamiliar with XCX, or who only know her in passing, the answer is irrevocably yes; for others, it depends upon the value they place on a well-crafted retrospective.
  3. Apr 25, 2013
    83
    Like 90s pop stars turned 10s pop sophisticates Justin Timberlake and Beyoncé, Charli XCX stamps her personality across the entire project, and True Romance suggests she'll be worth following for a while.
  4. Jul 17, 2013
    80
    There isn’t a moment when Charli XCX doesn’t display the kind of wild, brash confidence that other artists take years to arrive at.
  5. Apr 17, 2013
    80
    Charli XCX isn’t smashing any glass ceilings in pop; she’s perfectly roughing up the edges of a long-standing mold.
  6. Apr 15, 2013
    80
    Since quite a few of these songs were already road-tested, it's not surprising that this is a strong debut, but just how consistently catchy and personal True Romance is might raise a few eyebrows.
  7. Apr 11, 2013
    80
    While there's still the odd remnant of Marina-lite pop, this sounds like an imminent star steadily staking a claim to her own turf.
  8. Apr 16, 2013
    75
    For the most part, it's a breathless ride that gyrates to atomic hip-hop beats and darting synth lines, polished off with XCX's rough-riding narratives.
  9. Apr 18, 2013
    70
    Early exploits including a ridiculous rhyme about T-Rex amorousness ("Dinosaur Sex"), jabs at vapid art-school scenesters ("Art Bitch" and "!Franchesckaar!"), and some indecipherable indie-dance vocoding ("I Wanna Be Darth Vader"). True Romance is a strident departure from those frivolities so far as solid, true-to-aim songwriting is concerned, but the divergence and a touch of the silliness remains.
  10. Apr 17, 2013
    70
    She’s the fun pop you don’t have to be embarrassed about listening to, and she’s definitely worth focusing your attention.
  11. Apr 16, 2013
    70
    Love, lust and longing are chronicled and dissected in True Romance through online relationships being gradually given tangible, tactile form, setting Charli up as a young pop star to be reckoned with.
  12. Apr 16, 2013
    70
    True Romance is the pop-album equivalent of a wicked Tumblr.
  13. Apr 11, 2013
    70
    She has the ability to carve out some gorgeous pop songs, but seems to be trying to cover too many bases.
  14. 67
    True Romance may not match Aitchison’s high ambitions for her debut, but it’s a hell of a start.
User Score
8.3

Universal acclaim- based on 189 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 21
  2. Negative: 0 out of 21
  1. Aug 28, 2014
    10
    Okay. This is what I call an album. The songs are amazing, I love all of them, especially Take My Hand, Nuclear Seasons and Cloud Aura. I willOkay. This is what I call an album. The songs are amazing, I love all of them, especially Take My Hand, Nuclear Seasons and Cloud Aura. I will play Take My Hand on my wedding, for sure. Full Review »
  2. Dec 12, 2014
    10
    This album is a MASTERPIECE. Usually when artists release their debut projects, they seem very flawed. But Charli has broken that barrierThis album is a MASTERPIECE. Usually when artists release their debut projects, they seem very flawed. But Charli has broken that barrier because this album is STUNNING - vocally & musically. The production is flawless, along with the mysteriously intriguing songwriting. This album is a must-have for ANY music taste, the synthpop, bubblegum pop, and even hip-hop influences lace the album together so well. Full Review »
  3. May 12, 2013
    10
    Charli XCX is one of the best people ever. Her music is very amazing. I didn't know what to expect and wasn't sure if it was going to be good,Charli XCX is one of the best people ever. Her music is very amazing. I didn't know what to expect and wasn't sure if it was going to be good, but it was AMAZING. This is really her type of music. I can't think of any other type of music that she could sing except for this. It's really amazing. I adore You (Ha Ha Ha). I hope she makes more music because she is amazing! Full Review »