True Romance Image
Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 18 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.2

Universal acclaim- based on 132 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The debut studio release for the British pop singer includes some tracks from her two previous mixtapes "Heartbreaks and Earthquakes" and "Super Ultra."
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 18
  2. Negative: 0 out of 18
  1. Apr 15, 2013
    90
    Minor quibbles aside (Set Me Free is a little over-wrought and clichéd), True Romance is a simply stunning record.
  2. Apr 25, 2013
    83
    Like 90s pop stars turned 10s pop sophisticates Justin Timberlake and Beyoncé, Charli XCX stamps her personality across the entire project, and True Romance suggests she'll be worth following for a while.
  3. Apr 17, 2013
    80
    Charli XCX isn’t smashing any glass ceilings in pop; she’s perfectly roughing up the edges of a long-standing mold.
  4. Apr 16, 2013
    70
    True Romance is the pop-album equivalent of a wicked Tumblr.
  5. Apr 17, 2013
    70
    She’s the fun pop you don’t have to be embarrassed about listening to, and she’s definitely worth focusing your attention.
  6. 67
    True Romance may not match Aitchison’s high ambitions for her debut, but it’s a hell of a start.
  7. Apr 12, 2013
    50
    While a few slivers of genuine spontaneity can be found throughout True Romance, particularly in the watery K-pop-esque opus "Nuclear Seasons," the sum as a whole feels rather forced.

See all 18 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 18
  2. Negative: 1 out of 18
  1. Aug 28, 2014
    10
    Okay. This is what I call an album. The songs are amazing, I love all of them, especially Take My Hand, Nuclear Seasons and Cloud Aura. I willOkay. This is what I call an album. The songs are amazing, I love all of them, especially Take My Hand, Nuclear Seasons and Cloud Aura. I will play Take My Hand on my wedding, for sure. Expand
  2. Dec 13, 2014
    10
    increíble album, usando elementos del hip-hop en cada cancion, las canciones oscuras le quedan muy bien. mi favorita YOU'RE THE ONE, WHAT Iincreíble album, usando elementos del hip-hop en cada cancion, las canciones oscuras le quedan muy bien. mi favorita YOU'RE THE ONE, WHAT I LIKE, LOCK YOU UP... el mejor álbum del 2013 Expand
  3. Dec 12, 2014
    10
    This album is a MASTERPIECE. Usually when artists release their debut projects, they seem very flawed. But Charli has broken that barrierThis album is a MASTERPIECE. Usually when artists release their debut projects, they seem very flawed. But Charli has broken that barrier because this album is STUNNING - vocally & musically. The production is flawless, along with the mysteriously intriguing songwriting. This album is a must-have for ANY music taste, the synthpop, bubblegum pop, and even hip-hop influences lace the album together so well. Expand
  4. Mar 31, 2015
    9
    Charli XCX comes across to me like this sassy girl from high school jamming out and making music in her bedroom, but the crazy thing is thatCharli XCX comes across to me like this sassy girl from high school jamming out and making music in her bedroom, but the crazy thing is that she's actually REALLY good. For someone so young to have such confidence and be able to establish a distinct style on a debut album is really impressive. True Romance is a killer album, and I can easily listen to the whole thing without skipping any songs. It has a great flow to it and it's incredibly cohesive too. The production is fantastic also. Love love love. Expand
  5. Aug 30, 2013
    9
    First off, I never heard of Charli XCX, I saw that she was releasing a album on iTunes and I was curious to see what the young woman couldFirst off, I never heard of Charli XCX, I saw that she was releasing a album on iTunes and I was curious to see what the young woman could give me. Now some people may know who XCX is as she has been doing mix tapes and EP's ever since her late teens, now in her early twenties, she is now ready to show off her talent to the mainstream. And I'm happy to report that at first you'll feel guilty, "True Romance" offers many great songs for the rest of the year with unique synth beats and amazing production making XCX's debut one of the best I've heard this year. The songwriting is excellent with Relatable lyrics about the youth, love, and the problems we face. It also helps thanks to XCX's vocals which she perfectly hits the tone the album is going for as it sounds dream like while also sound real enough. The best thing about "True Romance" is that it makes Synth pop sound cool again by not making it so mainstream. XCX use's beats, sounds, and Rhythms that sound like Pop back in the Late '80s or early '90s. It's also tightly paced and for some listeners you may get sucked into the world that XCX has created here. There are very few problems, but If I had to say some, I would have to say that it gets a little repetitive towards the end with all the sounds being heard many times you might get bored as the album's style isn't always consistent. Also like I said at the beginning not too many people will be drawn into "True Romance" as personally it isn't meant for my demographic, but I'm glad i was curious to listen to this. Charli XCX has a great future ahead of her with "True Romance" being her debut album, with Great Vocals, Interesting Social Messages, and just amazing music. To speak to all the people out there, this is a pop album you'll actually enjoy. Expand
  6. Jul 18, 2014
    7
    Charli XCX eventually received mainstream audience's attention with her collaborations on Swedish electro queens Icona Pop's 2012 sleeper hitCharli XCX eventually received mainstream audience's attention with her collaborations on Swedish electro queens Icona Pop's 2012 sleeper hit "I Love It" and Australian rapper Iggy Azalea's currently inescapable, 7-week number-one "Fancy". But the Brit diva's 2013 debut studio album True Romance -- it's technically her second studio album, considering her 2008 one never saw an official release -- has to be the destination to visit if anybody's ever curious as to what she's capable of.

    The deliciously dark Eurythmics inspired opener "Nuclear Seasons", which includes haunting vocal layers later found on "Grins", already allows the listener to take off their chains held down by expectations of any electropop album sang by somebody so unapologetically youthful as Charlie XCX and explore the album on their own terms. The combination of Myspace era emo, sappy songwriting ("Why you gotta go to sleep/Don't go to sleep/Let's go out"), and indietronica with a touch of darkwave and witch house might mislead skeptics into believing it's all about fun, games, and love, and guess what? It is. But it's the kind of self-conscious silliness that mainstream pop should be about. The sincerity in her sassy, party girl attitude certainly combats that of Kesha and her Dr. Luke produced safety sass.
    Expand
  7. Apr 23, 2013
    5
    Didn't know quite what to expect from this album and was pleasantly surprised. There's quite a mixture of different types of electronica. FromDidn't know quite what to expect from this album and was pleasantly surprised. There's quite a mixture of different types of electronica. From the kooky Nuclear Seasons and Set Me Free to the laid back What I Like and the 80's influenced Lock You Up, there's something here for every type of electronic fan. Charli has a lot of talent and control over her work for one so young, she just needs to push it that bit further. Collapse

See all 18 User Reviews