Try This

  • Record Label: La Face
  • Release Date: Nov 11, 2003
User Score
8.3

Universal acclaim- based on 62 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 53 out of 62
  2. Negative: 4 out of 62

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. jess
    Jan 2, 2004
    10
    P!NK RULES !!!!!!!!!
  2. markj
    Jan 3, 2004
    7
    Not as good as her first two cds but better than most of what is released these days.
  3. johns
    Jan 4, 2005
    10
    wow super
  4. JesseB
    Jan 7, 2004
    9
    I though the CD was very well done. I'm not a fan of her two slower songs on the album, but I absolutely love all of her rock tracks! Gotta' love it!
  5. cassien
    Jan 9, 2006
    10
    Try this is pinks best album yet! im lovin it PINK RULES
  6. NickQ
    Nov 19, 2003
    10
    it is great and highly under-rated!
  7. AshleeP
    Dec 11, 2003
    10
    this cd is the best and ive heard all OH MY GOD LOL!
  8. Sinead
    Jan 21, 2004
    10
    P!NK is amazing and has inspired me in so many ways! i luv her and all her music!!!!!!!
  9. TommyG
    Feb 3, 2006
    10
    Better than what would be expected. Brash, tough and compelling. Unlike M!ssundaztood, Try This has 13 songs(all of them) that never tire of hearing. Unlike M!ssundaztood again, there really isn't a song that will keep you from commiting suicide.
  10. erikj
    Nov 17, 2003
    10
    she rocks...pink is hot. You guys hating are on drugs. When MizUnderstood came out, people were hating it, and it ended up changing pop music. Catch a trend?
  11. ErdinchS
    Jan 27, 2004
    10
    You`re the BEST! , Perfect! Thanx! l0vve Ya! ¦:->
  12. KatieS
    Aug 3, 2004
    10
    It's a great cd. I love Pink and all her songs. I can can really understand the way she feels and the stuff she thinks. It's so cool how she doesn't let anyone tell her what 2 do. I love how she says what she thinks.
  13. hayleyt
    Nov 27, 2003
    10
    yet again pink suprises us all
  14. BrandonH
    Dec 1, 2003
    10
    I love it!
  15. alexl
    Dec 18, 2003
    10
    aai has seen it!
  16. annav
    Dec 24, 2003
    10
    u gotta love this!
  17. K8linm
    Jan 11, 2004
    10
    P!nk is awsome, I luv her!!
  18. JohnnyW
    Nov 11, 2004
    9
    As wonderful as M!ssundaztood was, it wasn't without its flaws. On Try This, Pink improves vastly on her past two albums. Not quite as introspective as her sophomore effort, Pink still includes some reflective bits in it: Love Song is touching, as are the third-person Waiting for Love and Save my Life. Also, this album contains some moments of great fun. I dare you to not love the As wonderful as M!ssundaztood was, it wasn't without its flaws. On Try This, Pink improves vastly on her past two albums. Not quite as introspective as her sophomore effort, Pink still includes some reflective bits in it: Love Song is touching, as are the third-person Waiting for Love and Save my Life. Also, this album contains some moments of great fun. I dare you to not love the lesbian references on Oh My God, where Pink brings in Electro-slut Peaches for some lesbo coochie-coo: "I understand, not lemme show ya where to put that hand! My little Red Engine says I think I can I think I can." Tonight's the Night could have been the smash hit of the summer, had Arista not been complete idiots. Regardless, It's a wonderful track, heavy on the bass and Pink's wonderful scratchy vocals. Of course, few albums come without missteps, and Try This, sadly, is no exception. The lyrically weak Waiting for Love goes on FAR too long, on an ever-repeating chorus that wasn't even that great the first time. Also, while a perfectly constructed pop song, Last to Know is a haven of god-awful lyrics: "first date, we ate sushi...you said I was a cutie" But overall, Try This is an incredible album, and is just about the best pop available at this time. Pink is the new queen of pop, and she knows it, going after wannabes in Try too Hard and Hooker. "You put the same amount of effort into letting go" she calls out to the Avrils and Christinas on the former, and on the latter, she goes on a delightful rampage, absolutely trashing the competition. "All the things people have you believing, I feel sorry for your ass, it's out of season...You ain't nothing but a Hooker, selling your fuckin' soul." Ouch. Madonna has found her heir, and thankfully, it's someone who has never once tried to imitate her style. Pop fans rejoice, we've found our Queen. Expand
  19. firati
    Dec 11, 2004
    10
    it reminds me of the rainbow like it has all the colors beautifully in it this album includes all the genres succesfully with amazing vocals catchy beats original and creative lyrics and right collabraters and of course right producers nothing is wrong with it best album i ve ever had !
  20. BeaR.
    Jan 24, 2004
    10
    I just love this album.It brings new energy and fun.P!nk is a great artist!!!!
  21. laurenm
    Nov 26, 2003
    10
    tis is a fucking awsome cd i love it
  22. Mike
    Dec 14, 2003
    7
    It's not as good as Mizundaztod! that was a dark emtional and personal record this is just fun sugar coated stuff that she claims she is not.
  23. elliea
    Dec 24, 2003
    10
    its a wkd original awsome cd, easily the best cd of the year as she is the best solo artist of all time!
Metascore
71

Generally favorable reviews - based on 18 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 18
  2. Negative: 1 out of 18
  1. Some of it sounds similar, but Pink sticks to her guns on relationship tunes ("Last to Know"), decent dance-floor jams ("Trouble," "God Is a DJ") and tougher rockers ("Try Too Hard").
  2. The areas where Try This falls down are those where P!nk eschews the eclecticism of the stronger tracks and instead produces bog-standard pop-punk or R&B tracks.
  3. 'Try This' is quite the album - most things to all people, touched by audacious greatness, and as fine an advert for imperfectionism as we could've demanded.