Turtleneck & Chain - The Lonely Island
User Score
8.3

Universal acclaim- based on 37 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 37
  2. Negative: 0 out of 37

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 13, 2011
    10
    Crude, offensive and loaded with strong crude humor, Turtleneck & Chain is just pure mockery art. And if you wanna say it straight it's just pure art!
  2. May 11, 2011
    7
    This album is everything you imagine it to be. It is funny, while still being an album that you want to listen to. There are songs that you have seen on youtube, and probably watched many times, but then there are the songs that have not been heard yet and, for the most part, you'll find yourself hoping for a music video for them. The album also contains small skits that are an entertaining interlude between songs.

    The only cons are that there are songs that will likely fall flat for many listeners, and the entire album itself is very short for having 18 tracks. There are also songs that Andy was apart of, but it was never made clear that they are lonely island songs, so to hear them on the album seems like a track filler. These are still great songs, but they are not the material you expected for the second album.

    All in all, very funny, and a very entertaining album that lives up to all its promises.
    Expand
  3. May 14, 2011
    10
    If you are down with good tunes and lubricant, then jam out to this album. Great follow up to Incredibad and great buy with the included videos. Make sure the bass is turned way up!
  4. May 16, 2011
    10
    Turtleneck & Chain is the ultimate album. It has a fantastic array of songs, from the old-school beats and style of "Rocky" to the bassy synth of "Turtleneck & Chain". With two hilariously fun "Classy Skits" injected between songs, as well as nine of their videos, this is the ultimate entertainment package. I mean come on, how can you not laugh at Samberg & Timberlake suggesting "We should f*ck each other's moms!" Expand
  5. May 27, 2011
    4
    Who puts Turtlenecks & chains together? No one should, not even Lonely Island!




    Well, I donâ
  6. Sep 17, 2011
    9
    Aside from a few trip ups, this CD is drop dead hilarious. All of these songs are worth listening to except: "We're Back", "Rocky", "Trouble on Dookie Island", and "After Party". The rest of the songs are great. "Jack Sparrow" and "I just had Sex" are the two that stand out as the best songs. And then songs like "Japan", "Threw it on the ground", "The Creep", and "Motherlover" are right behind. Absolutely great CD.
    I didn't think they could beat Incredibad, and though they don't have a song as good as "I'm on a boat" on This CD, its still better.
    Expand
  7. Jan 13, 2012
    5
    I only liked 4 songs on this album. Rather suprising considering that I liked their first album quite a bit. I thought a majority of the album was trash and not even worth listening to. A rather disapointing album imo.
  8. Jun 18, 2013
    9
    This is an awesome album. It's hilarious, but not only that, it also has great beats, and The Lonely Island can rap! Michael Bolton and Snoop Dogg are actually overshadowed on this album because of how good The Lonely Island are. Turtleneck and Chain will have you laughing and leave songs stuck in your head all day every day.
  9. Dec 30, 2013
    9
    Turtleneck and Chain is the perfect comedic album. The guys pulled out all the guns and created the perfect parody album. To end this review....'YOU CAN'T TRUST THE SYSTEM!!!'
  10. Feb 16, 2014
    6
    I first heard this band with "I just had sex". That is a decent song, but sadly the one of best in the album. After hearing that, I didn't think I'd ever listen to them again as they just weren't my type of music. But then Jack Sparrow, still to this day, is one of my favourite songs, especially the scarface reference.
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 10 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 10
  2. Negative: 0 out of 10
  1. Jun 10, 2011
    85
    The Lonely Island continues to remind us that taking life too seriously isn't nearly as fun as putting bags over our heads during fellatio or shitting our pants during bank robberies.
  2. Parody is hard to sustain. That this follow-up provides so many laughs without flailing around in can-you-top-this? is a tribute to the comedians' musicality and their musician friends' sense of comedy.
  3. 40
    The Saturday Night Live trio pick up where they left off with 2009's Incredibad.