Twin Cinema

  • Record Label: Matador
  • Release Date: Aug 23, 2005
User Score
8.8

Universal acclaim- based on 126 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 4 out of 126

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. PatS
    Aug 23, 2005
    6
    It gets a bit much after a few listens. They've brought the percussion to the forefront in a few tracks, songs like 'The Bleeding Heart Show' where the drumming carries the song are standouts.
  2. TylerW
    Aug 23, 2005
    6
    It seems the media labels "The Next Big Thing" tag to even the most medicore releases. The New Pornographers have a nice collection of songs. Has anyone even bothered to comment on the terrible artwork! If it werent for those NYC rockers The New Lows, I might be able to digest this record.
  3. CoolferG
    Aug 25, 2005
    6
    For every high point there's one equally low point. Some songs plod along like an out-of-step death march. Others are fantastic.
  4. EffE
    Nov 7, 2005
    6
    I like this album, but I can't say it's as good as reviews say. Most songs are either good though. However, I have to disagree with many reviews: the three Dan Bejar's songs (Jackie..., Broken Breads, Street of Fire) are horrible. I hate them ! I enjoy the other songs though, especially The Jessica Number.
  5. ErikS
    Dec 2, 2005
    5
    Not nearly as good as Electric Version
  6. EddieT
    Oct 24, 2005
    4
    I hate being one of those people that searches out new places on the Internet to gas their acrid opinions, but I have to tell someone: I just find Carl Newman's songs unbelievably dull. It was true for his solo record but never more than here. Isn't "These Are the Fables" completely predictable? Doesn't the faux cleverness, as in "Use It," make you shudder? Although I hate being one of those people that searches out new places on the Internet to gas their acrid opinions, but I have to tell someone: I just find Carl Newman's songs unbelievably dull. It was true for his solo record but never more than here. Isn't "These Are the Fables" completely predictable? Doesn't the faux cleverness, as in "Use It," make you shudder? Although it's minorly funny/effective to cast a Bejar song as a campfire singalong, this album has so few new ideas. Instead of being its own album, it feels like a sequel to a sequel. Expand
  7. TrishK
    Aug 22, 2005
    4
    Really not that good. Empty, brainless pop music that'll be forgotten with the decade.
Metascore
85

Universal acclaim - based on 32 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 32
  2. Negative: 0 out of 32
  1. Twin Cinema is another great pop album from the New Pornographers, a release that's crammed with so many memorable melodies that the bumpier moments fade into the background.
  2. Entertainment Weekly
    100
    It's their trademark boisterous hyper-melodies... that will have you involuntarily humming their praises for weeks (months!) to come. [26 Aug 2005, p.59]
  3. Paste Magazine
    80
    Exhilarating and complex enough to keep you warm year-round. [Aug/Sep 2005, p.108]