Ultra Payloaded

  • Record Label: Sony
  • Release Date: May 29, 2007
User Score
6.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 32 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 32
  2. Negative: 8 out of 32

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. JeroenB
    Jun 1, 2007
    8
    Actually I would like to comment on the reviews of Rolling Stone And Now Magazine. They for sure did not listen to this record for more than 5 seconds..therefore I give their reviews no more than 3 points... Let's be honest here!! Perry Farrell makes this thing work!! Satellite Party is a fine piece of work. You can hear the detail and the love that went into the process. The music Actually I would like to comment on the reviews of Rolling Stone And Now Magazine. They for sure did not listen to this record for more than 5 seconds..therefore I give their reviews no more than 3 points... Let's be honest here!! Perry Farrell makes this thing work!! Satellite Party is a fine piece of work. You can hear the detail and the love that went into the process. The music is to enjoy and there is something to find on this recording for everyone!! That in itself is a great gift!! This recording is overall easely a 7.5 there is no discussing about it. Well, actually its better than that hence the 8.0 score. Perry with J.A., PforP and his solo work is the ultimate cool guy!! Just Play ON dude!!! Expand
  2. zatzwai
    Jun 9, 2007
    9
    Great songs, Nuno is such a great musician..
  3. MusicMan
    May 19, 2007
    9
    Perry has not had such a richly layered effort of unique music since Porno For Pyros. Diverse, rich production with a few surprises. The album is a worthwhile listen from an artist that continues to expand upon what was defined as alternative and post-punk music. Easily one of the more creative albums of 2007.
  4. savat
    May 26, 2007
    9
    very good
  5. Will
    Jun 1, 2007
    8
    Brushing his wife's vocals aside, the music here kept me enthralled for quite a bit, even on repeat listening. And, not mentioned in the Metacritic summary, the electronic outfit Hybrid provided excellent work on "Wish Upon A Dogstar" and "Kinky," which alone is worth the price of admission.
  6. Albert
    Jun 6, 2007
    8
    A rolling, funky and joyful album by Perry and Co. Forget the critics! They just don't get what Perry is about...
  7. SamW
    Apr 27, 2007
    10
    I love this album!!!! A very solid effort, full of joy!
  8. snapsm
    May 28, 2007
    10
    This is a future classic album. Not a bad song on the entire thing, props to perry and nuno and co. for putting together a true gem!
  9. Tomi
    May 31, 2007
    9
    Such a positive vibe on this album. Gotta love it.
  10. FelipeP
    May 31, 2007
    10
    Perfect!
  11. LukeM
    May 31, 2007
    9
    Great album! A lot of fun. Flea's tracks are off the hook. From the looks of its meta score, way underrated... Oh, and Nuno is the man. Nothing short of a rock genius: Mourning Widows, his solo solo stuff, Population 1/Dramagods... Listen up before you quote "More Than Words."
  12. julien
    Jun 1, 2007
    10
    very good album
  13. Joris
    Jun 23, 2007
    8
    Definitely not as overwhelming as Jane's Addiction comeback album Strays (that has to be the best comebackalbum of any band ever made, but maybe I'll have to review my opinion after Smashing Pumpkins' Zeitgeist in a few weeks) but still a great album w/ Kinky, Milky Ave and Ultrapayloaded Satellite Party as highlights. Perry Farrel did a great production-job mixing Definitely not as overwhelming as Jane's Addiction comeback album Strays (that has to be the best comebackalbum of any band ever made, but maybe I'll have to review my opinion after Smashing Pumpkins' Zeitgeist in a few weeks) but still a great album w/ Kinky, Milky Ave and Ultrapayloaded Satellite Party as highlights. Perry Farrel did a great production-job mixing Fergie's vocals completely out, and I'm glad he took up the great Revolution Solution of Thievery's Corporation album again. As a final conclusion I'd love to quote the reviewer who called this album "party music for commercial spaceflights", that's right on hehe... 8,5/10, really. Expand
  14. anikp
    Jun 4, 2007
    8
    This is simply a well contructed album. A partyalbum made with LOVE. It's easely an 8. Don't believe other reviews who give less!! Listen it for yourself and ENJOY!!
  15. Dave
    Jun 5, 2007
    9
    maybe because I expected little, but I absolutely loved it on the first listen, esp song 2. immediately catchy and interesting.
  16. Bronek
    Aug 15, 2007
    10
    Super piosenka.
  17. SheikY
    May 23, 2007
    10
    Absolutely awesome. Great summer music!
  18. PeetPan
    May 31, 2007
    9
    This one of the most joyful, inspiring pop albums I have heard. Celebration Rains! and the Jim Morrison sample is great! "Just try and stop us... WE'RE GOING TO LOVE!!". Thank you Perry for you everlasting reminders that life is about having fun and the hell with bitterness.
  19. VincentS.
    Jun 16, 2007
    9
    Hats off to Mr. Farrell. Very nice piece of work!
Metascore
59

Mixed or average reviews - based on 10 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 10
  2. Negative: 1 out of 10
  1. Under The Radar
    70
    A surprisingly rewarding listen. [#17, p.86]
  2. Billboard
    70
    "Ultra Payloaded" is a party record that veers from the light, airy and catchy to the absolutely crankable. [2 Jun 2007]
  3. Mr. Farrell has become the happy hippie that Jim Morrison never was.